SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4115 (OOP Men's Separates)

1 more reviews
Viewed 274 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/09 3:42 PM
Last Updated:4/4/10 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
You and your husband both do great work! Thanks for sharing the details of your Spoonflower experience.
10/10/10 7:56 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A great shirt. You seem to have done well at matching the pattern in front, too.
4/4/10 6:08 PM
Christas said...
You can't get more original than designing the fabric for a pattern! Wow, that is so neat. The shirt looks really nice, and the fabric makes it extra special.
4/4/10 4:10 PM
AnneM said...
I love it. Had to show it to my DH who immediate asked where you got the trilobite fabric. Great job, and the fabric sounds luscious.
1/7/10 9:03 PM
JEF said...
Fantastic!
1/3/10 10:37 AM
fourkid said...
Fantastic shirt - the pocket is amazing.
1/2/10 8:50 AM
dilladop said...
I tried to send this in a PM, but not sure it went. Trilobite hat pattern for knitting: http://knitty.com/ISSUEsummer09/PATTtrilobite.php
12/23/09 11:09 AM
Catbird said...
You are just FULL of surprises! Years ago I bought a beautiful fossil of a trilobite and they've had a place in my heart ever since. What a great idea, Kay, and what a fantastic shirt. The 'in vino erratus' made laugh, and I know from experience wine + sewing is a troublesome combination. Thank you for another great review and the link to Spoonflower.
12/22/09 8:03 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow, Kay. As soon as I saw the shirt in the Gallery, I thought it looked like it came from Neiman Marcus in Honolulu. Then when I read about the custom printed rayon blend fabric incorporating trilobites I was even more impressed. This is a magnificent project that succeeds on every level -- workmanship, originality and overall appearence.
12/22/09 9:48 AM
CypGrl said...
Glad to learn about Spoonflower. Great shirt!
12/21/09 9:48 AM
Nancy K said...
Aside from the interesting fabric, it's a beautifully made shirt. Thanks for sharing this great resource
12/21/09 9:18 AM
AnitaJ said...
Love the trilobites! Beautiful work on the seam finishes and matching of the print at the front and the pocket. Thanks for the tip on Spoonflower too - I must check them out. :)
12/21/09 3:18 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Who knew trilobites could look so much like polka dots? Love the shirt -- great job!
12/20/09 9:32 PM
Karen6790 said...
It's a great shirt, obviously, but I LOVE that fabric. It really makes the shirt into something even more special, and how cool is it that your husband designed the fabric? I've got several Spoonflower ideas brewing in my head and you've now reminded me of them. Great shirt.
12/20/09 8:56 PM
colorkitten said...
I should also have mentioned, you guys did a great job on the print - it's lovely! And the shirt is great too. ^_^
12/20/09 4:50 PM
colorkitten said...
Great shirt! I'm happy to see something made up in the rayon -- I had a bunch of fabric done at Spoonflower and did use some for kid's clothes but they only had quilting cotton at the time and I didn't really like the fabric sewn up as a garment. This looks so nice - I will definitely think about going back for some of this rayon!
12/20/09 4:48 PM
RLL said...
How totally cool......the story of the trilobites and your DH's attraction to them. And then that you are able to get the special order fabric. Nice present.
12/20/09 4:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

brerrabbit.com Leila & Ben Little Cap

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review
Butterick 5605

photo
by: HanPanda

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now