Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1071 (Weekender Sunshine Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1009 times 34 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 76
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/09 7:39 PM
Last Updated:12/21/09 7:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
meesa said...
Great top! Love the fabric! I do my hems the same way and it's the only way, in my book!
12/21/09 7:56 PM
dollieo said...
It's gorgeous. I love the fabric.The fit looks great.
12/21/09 7:57 PM
lynnewill said...
Nice review Idunna. Thanks for the tip about the hem, I will be sure to try it.
12/21/09 8:23 PM
Re Becca said...
Very cool! I made a KwikSew pattern a lot like this, and I had the same misgivings as you but it is one of my favorite shirts. It looks great on you.
12/21/09 8:47 PM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful - lovely fabric and a great review!!
12/21/09 8:51 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Thanks for the tip on the coverstitch- still having issues but now I'll try this. Please, you don't have a gut!!!
12/21/09 9:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Really cute top. You'll look great in those colors. I'm with you, I like to read previous reviews to see what issues folks have had with the pattern. I take issue with the quite large belly comment, however!
12/21/09 10:14 PM
homejewel said...
That's a great looking top. And thank you so much for the hemming tip. I have some fusible tape that could be used for this purpose. Previously, I used it for the neckline, but this is such a great idea.
12/21/09 10:45 PM
Izzie said...
Nice shirt and it looks great on you.
12/21/09 11:32 PM
pterion said...
Lovely shirt - the fabric is gorgeous!
12/21/09 11:36 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a really great top!
12/22/09 6:27 AM
Misafir said...
Yes, great color and fabric and suits you, but it has a pull line from the neck to the armhole, which is not right.
12/22/09 6:31 AM
Annette Wright said...
You're right, it does have a line right there....more of a fold in the fabric. I looked at other reviews and they most all seem to have it right there also. I was contemplating it just his morning in bed, wondering if it's just extra fabric to fold out. The top isn't too tight, I think it just gathers a bit too high and the fabric right over the top of the bust has to sit somewhere. I think that portion of the front needs to have fabric removed and that will be my first try.
12/22/09 6:38 AM
katiemons said...
Very flattering. I bet it would look good tucked in or belted too!
12/22/09 8:00 AM
Ann B. said...
Great top, and a timely review. I have it traced and next up on my cutting table. I have just the same armhole fold on my P and S T shirt. I'm not sure, but I think it might be the armhole is a little too high. Please let us know if you figure it out, I'm very interested. I've also raised the neckline up a bit, if no other reason than warmth.
12/22/09 8:06 AM
Annette Wright said...
Well, I've decided the armhole is drafted much too small. I just watched all the videos, and the tops on the mannequins all had that fold. My plan for today is to remove the sleeve and redraft an armhole. I might have to buy a bit more fabric to make a new sleeve, not sure yet. Looking at the drafted cap, it is just so tiny compared to other sleeves. I made it a bit larger, but the rest of the fit just isn't right. Interesting to know the fold was in a different pattern too. Oh, I also think I need to raise the shoulders a full inch. So an inch short shoulders and and almost an inch higher armhole...we're talking 2 inches here.
12/22/09 9:15 AM
michellep74 said...
Love your version of this! I made this last summer and also found the armhole to be too small/tight. It's an easy fix, though.
12/22/09 12:59 PM
Erin D said...
Your top is really cute! I don't have a coverstitch machine, but I'm intrigued by your hem finish. I might try that with the twin needle. Thanks for the review!
12/22/09 3:04 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely top. Fabric is very pretty.
12/22/09 3:21 PM
becca a said...
Great top! Thank you for the hemming tip--that sounds very useful.
12/22/09 9:13 PM
o3b said...
I made one and found the armhole way too high. It is still sitting in my closet waiting for me to decide if I want to redo the armhole. I made the tank, but with topstitching that will take time to rip out. I have estimated I need to remove 1.75 inches in height from the bottom of the armhole. I kind of like the gathers up high, even when they add that extra fold line towards the armhole. I've been wondering if that is what helps this top work for small and large busted alike. And I don't know why, but it makes me think it has a Grecian influence. Thanks for sharing the hemming tip - I will use it very soon.
12/24/09 3:22 AM
5sugarplumbs said...
Idunna. About the hemming tip. I couldn't find "easy knit" at the store after this review, and didn't realize that it was a fusible knit interface so I ended up getting stitch witchery and a light fusible interface. Do you think either of these will still work if I do less than 1/2" than an 1"? I appreciate your advice. Thanks in advance.
1/17/10 9:55 AM
Annette Wright said...
I haven't used stitchwitchery in ages, but it will probably work. Do a practice swatch. Or you could try just fusing the hem with the stitchwitchery and then coverstitching or doing another hem stitch. You just are trying to put another layer in the fabric that might have a tendency to stretch out of place while hemming.
1/18/10 9:12 AM
5sugarplumbs said...
Thanks. Hopefully one of the 2 products I got will give me a good result. :) I will try a swatch.
1/18/10 2:18 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks for the tip on doing the hem with interfacing.
4/6/10 2:53 PM
Lou05 said...
Absolutely wonderful & very helpful review! The discussion below adds a lot, too. I love the top on you and you've chosen your fabric for great color & design for this top. Great job - enjoy it!
9/27/10 1:29 PM
MareeAlison said...
I love your top and I'll keep the sleeve in mind when I make up my pattern which is sitting waiting! Also thanks for the tip about the interfacing for the hem. I tend to just glue up my hem with a glue stick and then coverstitch. That works well, but it's nice to have an alternative particulary if you want a little more weight in the hem. Fantastic job.
1/15/11 0:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns v1087 donna karan
photo
Review by sandysewin on 4/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1353 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1353 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2682 Women's Tops
photo
Review by Lori V on 2/14/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us