SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5388 

10 more reviews
Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
Friend of PR

About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews: 96 (patterns: 87)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 75 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/28/09 12:03 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
ThatAllenChick said... (3/23/11 11:55 AM) Reply
This pattern did not work for me either, but a belt will help to "tame" some of the fullness. 
fryman said... (12/29/09 8:21 PM) Reply
so many of the current ctyles favor the maternity look and those of us with waistlines get lost in the shuffle. thanks for your review. I will not make any multi-pleated tops ever, not even the very popular empire look. this experience will help you a lot. thanks again!
FreyaStark said... (12/29/09 4:28 AM) Reply
The fabric looks smart even if the top is disappointing. (I haven't had to worry about dusty mirrors since discovering my camera's self-timer. Yours might have one too if you investigate the controls.)
carolynw said... (12/28/09 10:22 PM) Reply
I thank you so much for the honest review -it made me laugh and also sure not to try this one.
OP Gal said... (12/28/09 8:37 PM) Reply
Well, I do have to say that it is a tad big and not very flattering. You're right, it would make a good maternity top. Good review. Thanks for the heads up.
Kayseri said... (12/28/09 2:01 PM) Reply
Thanks for your review. I can see the appeal of the pleats but it looks like this would be a tent even in a very drapy fabric. But looking at the photos again I wonder what it would be like in a lightweight woven?
Florigal said... (12/28/09 1:55 PM) Reply
I think this top screams "Belt me!" I made this pattern with the large collar twice: once with the balloon sleeves and once with the long sleeves. Both times I used soft knits which draped well so the pleats fell softly. I made these tops as gifts for my tall, thin niece and my also tall, thin sister. I got good feedback from them.
Janie Viers said... (12/28/09 1:51 PM) Reply
What does it look like if you belt and blouse it? The pattern looks cut with a belt?
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Favorite Bias Skirt Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Favorite Bias Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details