SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5388 

10 more reviews
Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo

 
 
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 83
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/28/09 12:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ThatAllenChick said...
This pattern did not work for me either, but a belt will help to "tame" some of the fullness. 
3/23/11 11:55 AM
fryman said...
so many of the current ctyles favor the maternity look and those of us with waistlines get lost in the shuffle. thanks for your review. I will not make any multi-pleated tops ever, not even the very popular empire look. this experience will help you a lot. thanks again!
12/29/09 8:21 PM
FreyaStark said...
The fabric looks smart even if the top is disappointing. (I haven't had to worry about dusty mirrors since discovering my camera's self-timer. Yours might have one too if you investigate the controls.)
12/29/09 4:28 AM
carolynw said...
I thank you so much for the honest review -it made me laugh and also sure not to try this one.
12/28/09 10:22 PM
OP Gal said...
Well, I do have to say that it is a tad big and not very flattering. You're right, it would make a good maternity top. Good review. Thanks for the heads up.
12/28/09 8:37 PM
Kayseri said...
Thanks for your review. I can see the appeal of the pleats but it looks like this would be a tent even in a very drapy fabric. But looking at the photos again I wonder what it would be like in a lightweight woven?
12/28/09 2:01 PM
Florigal said...
I think this top screams "Belt me!" I made this pattern with the large collar twice: once with the balloon sleeves and once with the long sleeves. Both times I used soft knits which draped well so the pleats fell softly. I made these tops as gifts for my tall, thin niece and my also tall, thin sister. I got good feedback from them.
12/28/09 1:55 PM
Janie Viers said...
What does it look like if you belt and blouse it? The pattern looks cut with a belt?
12/28/09 1:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

brerrabbit.com Bow-Tied Blouse

photo
by: Bex81

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now