SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8292 (Coats)

13 more reviews
Viewed 824 times 
Reviewed by:VeroSewsStuff
photo

 
 
About VeroSewsStuffstar
FRANCE
Member since: 11/12/09
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/10 7:07 AM
Last Updated:1/15/10 7:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Fantastic coat, and great job. I can't believe you have only been sewing 4 months.
1/15/10 7:28 AM
Pam C said...
Wonderful coat - I love that fabric and style. I am so impressed you would tackle a coat.
1/15/10 7:34 AM
cindyann said...
I think this turned out just great! Love the fabric. You did a fantastic job. Thanks for the link to Belinda's tut on bound buttonholes. It might come in handy in the next few days as I work on some of my own.
1/15/10 7:34 AM
Annette Wright said...
Congratulations on such a great project. It looks terrific. Sewing just gets easier as you go, and you've already overcome such an extreme hurdle. Absolutely a wonderful coat.
1/15/10 8:09 AM
dingyadi said...
that is amazing! You have done a fabulous job
1/15/10 9:05 AM
Marie Norway said...
Chouettissime! Very nice coat - very stylish and wonderful fabric. Congratulations!
1/15/10 9:27 AM
Jo-Anne said...
WOW!!! For someone who has only been sewing for four months, your coat is incredible. It looks better than the models!
1/15/10 9:30 AM
TrixieD said...
What a lovely coat. You've combined well the fabric and the pattern for a very stylish result.
1/15/10 9:51 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Your coat is really gorgeous! I am however a bit worried about one point: lining fabric isn't very sturdy, and acetate is particularly not abrasion-resistant. So I'm afraid your buttonholes, if they're done in lining fabric as you say and as seems to be true on the pictures, will soon show signs of fraying. Maybe you can start thinking of ways to replace the welts without deconstructing the whole thing?
1/15/10 9:54 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
FABULOUS!!! I love the material! J'aime le manteau! Splendide!! C'est tres chic!
1/15/10 10:21 AM
racehorse said...
That looks awesome! I need to put this one on my wish list!
1/15/10 10:41 AM
VeroSewsStuff said...
Thank you for all your comments, they are a great encouragement ! Fuzzygalore, you're having me worried also! I just hope that the fact that I interfaced the acetate will make it sturdy enough to last a few winters... And that by then I'll have the technical experience to replace them without making a mess !
1/15/10 10:45 AM
Beek said...
Congrats on sewing a coat! And you've only been sewing for 4 months! Wow!!!!
1/15/10 10:58 AM
Leora said...
I love that fabric and style, perfect!
1/15/10 11:11 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
FABULOUS!!! I love the material! J'aime le manteau! Splendide!! C'est tres chic!
1/15/10 11:47 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Your coat is wonderful!! Beginner? You sure do dive right in there -- a lined winter coat with bound buttonholes -- WOW. :D By the way, don't fret -- your English is almost perfect!
1/15/10 12:09 PM
Puppy said...
Je suis tres impressioner que vous pouver fabriquer un tel manteau assez tot dans votre efforts de coudre! Un tres bon resultat!
1/15/10 12:22 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful coat! Big bravo!
1/15/10 12:25 PM
persevering said...
I am impressed your great review, beautiful coat and thank you for the link to the bound buttonhole tutorial. D'ailleurs, vos efforts m'encouragent parce que je veux recommencer à coudre. Vous êtes débutante et à la fois vous écrivez en anglais avec excellents résultats! Bravo! Pourriez-vous accepter ma suggestion suivante? En anglais, on utilise une lettre majuscule pour la première lettre d'une langue... ainsi 'French' et 'English' dans votre écriture. (http://french.about.com/library/writing/bl-capitalization.htm)
1/15/10 1:05 PM
beastella said...
superbe, quel manteau. c'est toujours ce qui fait peur aux débutants alors qu'en fait c'est toujours ce qui donne le plus de satisfaction et c'est pas si difficile, la preuve. En tous cas, bravo de s'être lancée. Le tissu est très beau aussi, il vient d'où ?
1/15/10 1:05 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Phenomenal.
1/15/10 2:25 PM
VeroSewsStuff said...
Thanks ! Persevering thanks for pointing out my mistakes (corrected now)! Beastella, (je vais répondre en anglais pour que tout le monde comprenne) you're absolutely right sewing a coat is really rewarding, you just need to take it slowly, one step at a time if you are a beginner. I bought the fabric online : http://www.atmlabel.eu, they had a great deal on it (around 6€/m). But it looks like it's not available anymore. If you're in France or in Europe here are some online stores I like : Butinette.fr and www.mes-tissus.fr . The last one is available in many languages and has a lot of fabrics.
1/15/10 2:27 PM
portercs said...
Looks fabulous!
1/15/10 2:33 PM
davin said...
Most impressive for a beginner. Congrats.
1/15/10 3:24 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love your coat & fabric. It's quite an undertaking for a beginner but I believe you're off to a great start. We'll look forward to more reviews from you.
1/15/10 3:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
Un manteau tres chic - bravo.
1/15/10 3:51 PM
Karendee said...
Amazing coat. I find it fantastic that you have achieved this much in 4 months of sewing. Congratulations, again.
1/15/10 4:18 PM
Kayseri said...
This is terrific an you choose the perfect fabric. I think you are extremely brave to try something so complex and you have done a lovely job.
1/15/10 5:29 PM
nellc said...
Your coat looks really lovely, well done for tackling a project like this with only 4 months sewing experience.
1/15/10 5:29 PM
becca a said...
You did a fantastic job! The coat looks wonderful and the fabric is beautiful. Congratulations.
1/16/10 1:27 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous coat! You did a great job especially using a tweed as you did and your first bound buttonholes. Glad you found my instructions helpful. :) P.S. Your English is perfect!
1/16/10 1:51 AM
VeroSewsStuff said...
Sew4Fun your very clear tutorial was not just helpful, it was coat-saving for me ! Thanks again !
1/16/10 3:20 AM
VeroSewsStuff said...
Sew4Fun your very clear tutorial was not just helpful, it was coat-saving for me ! Thanks again !
1/16/10 4:53 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful coat - you have done an amazing job. It looks very chic and suits you so well.
1/16/10 8:04 AM
DorothyK said...
Tres chic. Your perseverance has paid off. I'm amazed you were able to do this after only four months.
1/16/10 9:10 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous coat! You did a terrific job. I love your fabric.
1/16/10 10:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
I can't believe you just started sewing such a short time ago. You really bit the bullet here and came out with a fantastic result. Congratulations!
1/16/10 12:51 PM
rozzybabe said...
I have never sewn a coat, & I've been sewing for over 3 decades!! You were brave to jump in, & did a super job for one so new to dressmaking. I think you'll be doing some fantastic items VERY soon!
1/16/10 1:45 PM
Jane S said...
Your English is wonderful and your coat is spectacular. I'm so glad you have joined this wonderful PR place. You will inspire others to proceed step by step on their next challenge.
1/16/10 7:22 PM
Christas said...
You have only been sewing 4 months? Oh my! You are exceptionally talented. I would have been very proud to have sewn this coat, and I have been sewing for over 20 years. Excellent work!
1/17/10 11:05 AM
Kay Y said...
I am very impressed with your coat - you should be proud! Hope we'll see more of your projects here in future!
1/17/10 10:58 PM
gernella said...
That is a really great coat, I had picked the pattern out for later this year but thought I would look at the reviews before I start looking for fabric. I can't believe you have not been sewing for long. It looks really professional. Well done.
6/8/10 1:55 PM
bobbincat said...
Fabulous Coat!! Great choice of fabric and great sewing!
7/10/11 6:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Jalie 2912

photo
by: wildbluest...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now