Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 1956 (Nylon Net Petticoat) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 312 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:vande
photo
About vandestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/30/09 6:31 PM
Last Updated:1/1/10 3:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
whirrclunk said...
Fabulous!! So swishy! But oh goodness, 48 yards of home made bias tape...
12/30/09 7:52 PM
katlew03 said...
When I saw the picture, my first thought was "better you than me" because I know how much work you had making this. A gathering foot might have helped. Also, you might invest in one of those bias tape makers. They only cost about $6 (US) and I couldn't live without mine. Just cut a strip about 4 times the width of the finished product, pull it through as you press, fold, and sew. Anyway, you did an absolutely fabulous job on this petticoat. The binding looks terrific.
12/30/09 9:29 PM
CynthiaSue said...
fascinating. i'm so glad to have this for any little girl later in life who wants a petticoat. yours looks totally professional. thanks for the link to a unique pattern!
12/30/09 11:06 PM
Elke said...
Wow! Looks fabulous & fun to wear. Thanks for the review and link!
12/31/09 0:05 AM
colorkitten said...
I've looked at that page several times but haven't had any excuse to make one - thanks for writing this up! You did a great job!
12/31/09 11:18 AM
jannw said...
I used to have several just like this, white only..my mother made them, but I doubt she made her own bias tape..yours look great and terrific colors
12/31/09 11:25 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
12/31/09 2:23 PM
vande said...
Thank you so much for all your kind comments!
1/1/10 3:27 PM
fourkid said...
Amazing - thank you for the review!
1/1/10 3:48 PM
fourkid said...
Amazing - thank you for the review!
1/1/10 3:48 PM
KristenI said...
Unbelievable. Wow, great job! What kind of needle/thread did you use? I had a heck of a time sewing nylon net a couple halloweens ago, and sadly gave up.
1/1/10 6:44 PM
vande said...
Thanks KristinI - just ordinary needle and poly cotton thread - I used zigzag stitch over thin crochet cotton to pull up the gathers (I would recommend berry head pins to stop them from disappearing in the layers of net - I just didn't have enough and perservered with ordinary ones - but that was hard) and my sewing machine is a Pfaff with an even feed foot - I think that might have helped in the sewing of the petti!
1/1/10 6:51 PM
AuntieShel said...
Truly awesome. You have my utmost regard for the rest of my years on earth. Cannot even imagine tackling this!!!!!!
1/1/10 7:38 PM
Giggles. said...
I love the colours! The petticoats are beautiful!!
1/1/10 7:57 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I had to click on this. I still remember these petticoats asa little girl in the 50's. You are very fearless to make 48 yds of slippery satin bias tape but I am sure the recipient had lots of fun wearing it.
1/2/10 9:05 AM
OP Gal said...
Amazing! I made a much less impressive one a few years ago and said never again. The satin binding makes it a stunner. I actually remember wearing petticoats like that to school church, etc. in the 50's, and dipping them in thick starch, sugar and other things to make them stiffer. But I never wore one as beautiful as yours! Great review, too.
1/4/10 7:17 PM
kaitiaki said...
How lovely! I stumbled across Alice Lon petticoat's when I was researching petticoats nearly a year ago and I thought it looked like a fun item for a wardrobe. The jade looks fantastic. Such a great color, too!
1/4/10 10:34 PM
vande said...
Wow, ladies, I am blushing from such praise! Jannw, Mssewcrazy & OP Gal: I am extremely envious that you once wore something like this for real! I am still trying to come up with another excuse as to why I should make myself a proper one! (think I might have to have an American Grafitti/Grease/Happy Days kind of birthday party this year!) Thank you to all who commented - it has really made my day, and I have to once again recommend that you all try the pattern just for fun (even if we only ever get to wear it when we vacuum!)
1/5/10 3:46 AM
kaitiaki said...
How lovely! I stumbled across Alice Lon petticoat's when I was researching petticoats nearly a year ago and I thought it looked like a fun item for a wardrobe. The jade looks fantastic. Such a great color, too!
1/5/10 9:58 AM
kaitiaki said...
How lovely! I stumbled across Alice Lon petticoat's when I was researching petticoats nearly a year ago and I thought it looked like a fun item for a wardrobe. The jade looks fantastic. Such a great color, too!
1/5/10 1:14 PM
Jeffer said...
Wow. Fabulous job! Thanks so much for the review and the link to the pattern/recipe. I love 50ís style tea-length, full skirted dresses/skirts with bouncy petticoats underneath - they are just so flattering and feminine (ok, I do know they are not so practical) and I have wondered if there might be a pattern somewhere for a super bouffant petticoat so thanks so much for that. The larger jade green petticoat is spectacular and even though creating/sewing the satin binding must have been a nightmare, it turned that petticoat into something extraordinary! Did you use the ruffler attachment on the 2nd one instead of gathering by hand? Iíve used a wide zig zag over cord to pull up gathers but I am in the process of trying to find a gathering foot or ruffler attachment for my Bernina since I end up gathering a lot. What confuses me about those is how to ensure that I will get the right amount of gathering. I hope you do get a chance sew another for yourself this year for that birthday party or maybe simply to vacuum around the house - I can just picture you wearing a shirtwaist dress with that super full petticoat, high heels, jewelry, and make-up while vacuuming. Just make sure you donít knock anything over when you vacuum as your skirt swings. Here in the States, I remember watching TV shows like Donna Reed and others in the 50ís, seeing that image, although my own mother was far more practical :). Thanks again
1/22/10 11:12 AM
vande said...
Thanks Jeffer! Such a fun period to wear! No I didn't get around to using the ruffler for the purple one - thought I might stick with the devil that I did know and do the gathering with the zigzag over cord...the timing wasn't good to try fiddling with ratio's of gathering on the gathering foot.... ...and I think that I have found a fabulous free '50's day dress pattern that would really look great with one of these petticoats underneath - so another pattern review is in the pipeline! Yep - vacuuming could quite possibly become fun...
1/23/10 2:59 AM
Jeffer said...
Yes, I totally agree - that era and style, especially any garments with swing skirts and petticoats were just delightful. Even though they were not as practical, I have to believe it was fun once they were dressed :). I can't wait to see your review of the new 50's day dress - you did a fabulous job on the 1860's day dress so I know you will do a wonderful job. I hope I don't miss it.
1/23/10 11:16 AM
droxy said...
TY for teh free pattern site and lovely job!!
2/2/10 0:00 AM
SoVintage said...
WONDERFUL review....I am making this! I started a dress from a 1957 vintage pattern and this is just what I need to complete it...Thank You
5/19/10 8:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8386 Jersey dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 12/9/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2005-03 Fairy dress
photo
Review by EveS on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us