Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8408 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS A) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 549 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:kcstarr49
photo
About kcstarr49star
MO USA
Member since: 10/7/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/09 8:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
I thought your dress turned out very well, it just might need to be taken in a tiny bit in the seams. The color looks great on you and the collar really makes the dress. I wouldn't be too quick to give it away, you might like it better after it hangs in your closet for a few weeks.
12/30/09 9:06 PM
Dynamo said...
I agree with katlew03. This colour looks fab on you, and I think you are being a bit harsh on yourself. It could be more fitted, but it is fine as is. You may even like it with a nice wide black belt to take it in!
12/30/09 9:17 PM
Immelu said...
Yeah, I agree...Put it aside for awhile and then try it with a belt. I think it'll be great...or at least okay and not a total wadder!
12/30/09 9:22 PM
SilvrGhost said...
ooh... you're going to give it away? But it looks great on you! Even the color is great. I agree with the others, a belt would look good.
12/31/09 0:23 AM
valerie sews said...
While I can understand why you feel frustrated with this dress I agree with the other commenters - it's so pretty! Don't bin it just yet. If you haven't carted it off to the charity just yet it really wouldn't be too hard to take in the princess seams a little bit both front (and back if it has them there) from below the level of the bust down the below the hip, tapering in at the waist. It'll make a difference. But even as is, with a big patent leather belt it'd be just fine!
12/31/09 4:51 AM
lamstu said...
From the photo, the fit looks reasonably good. Many of the current Vogue patterns are designed to be rather looser fitting, so maybe you sewed it fine? In any case, the color and the collar really suit you, so you were on the right track. Better luck with your next project!
12/31/09 7:51 AM
AuntieShel said...
I think your dress looks great and was surprised to read that you are getting rid of it. It is hard to fit by yourself. A friend who can do the pinning is a wonderful asset.
12/31/09 8:26 AM
carolynw said...
I am surprised you are throwing this out - it looks really nice on you. My suggestion - you keep this and pin in where you think you need more fitting and see if you aren't more happy with it. If nothing else it could serve as a muslin for future princess seam dresses.
12/31/09 9:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

StyleArc Jacqui Coat Jacqui Coat
photo
Review by sfshaza on 9/7/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Runaround Bag
Runaround Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9025 Dress
photo
Review by lauramae on 6/18/13
Read Review

Butterick 3351 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3351 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us