Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4815 (Misses' Vest) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 352 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 76
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/10 6:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Perhaps you'll wear this more than you think - it looks great on you! I was just looking at a too large old wool jacket of mine and wondering if a refashion would be a good idea - never having done it. Your review makes it clear you used the old garment as fabric and not try to incorporate the old buttonholes and original front - which is what I thought and would probably be too difficult for me. Thanks for posting this review.
1/11/10 7:20 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! I hope you will wear it often. I am sure your will get many compliments!
1/11/10 7:59 PM
AnneM said...
You should definitely wear this more than you are thinking. It looks great on you in the picture. You did a wonderful job of the vest. I can see why you like the fabric.
1/11/10 8:20 PM
busymomof3 said...
You did a great job of refashioning the fabric. I do like the vest on you and think you should wear it. Fabric looks like it would match everything :)
1/11/10 8:36 PM
Giggles. said...
Very nice vest! I've got this pattern and it's next on my list of sewing projects.
1/11/10 9:50 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful vest and clever re-fashion. I'll echo what has already been said: it looks great on you (at least in the pic!).
1/12/10 0:17 AM
Stephenie said...
Too cute! Annette, you never cease to amaze me. I think this looks great on you! I have about 4 different vest patterns and haven't made one....I think it's about time.
1/12/10 10:54 AM
okie2thdoc said...
I really like this vest. Interesting it's a short pattern. Good job.
1/12/10 11:03 AM
OP Gal said...
That's a really cute vest. It fits you wonderfully. I'm not sure what you mean about your not being the right body shape for this patten. You look great in it. It's amazing that you were able to match the plaid so well using scraps of fabric. It sounds like you had the same problem as moi. I recently blew off the instructions on a project, resulting in a less than desirable outcome. I guess we're never too experienced to humbly read through the instructions and do as we're told.
1/12/10 11:05 AM
Birgitte said...
That is a beautiful vest, you've inspired me to try one myself. I'm a rectangle but I think we can get away with it when we wear the shirt layered like you do in the picture. Great job!
1/16/10 11:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Nice job and good review. I never think to shop Goodwill or any others for fabric but it's a great idea and you got yourself a beautiful piece of wool.
1/17/10 4:40 PM
loti said...
How cute is that vest, great job.
1/17/10 6:32 PM
colorkitten said...
I think it looks great! And it's a lovely use of the jacket. Thanks for all the details -- great info!
1/18/10 2:34 PM
ElizabethDee said...
i knew i had to comment when you wrote that you didn't think this style suited you -- like all the others, i think you look great! you did a wonderful job and the fit is fabulous. maybe you have this opinion about vests or this style because you've never had the proper fit before? just a thought. anyway, i love your work.
1/18/10 5:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4378
photo
Review by CypGrl on 7/18/08
Read Review

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Jenny Shirt Jenny Shirt
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 9/29/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6425 Pattern
New Look 6425 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us