SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4815 (Misses' Vest)

12 more reviews
Viewed 357 times 
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo

 
 
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 83
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/10 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Perhaps you'll wear this more than you think - it looks great on you! I was just looking at a too large old wool jacket of mine and wondering if a refashion would be a good idea - never having done it. Your review makes it clear you used the old garment as fabric and not try to incorporate the old buttonholes and original front - which is what I thought and would probably be too difficult for me. Thanks for posting this review.
1/11/10 7:20 PM
Christas said...
This looks very nice on you! I hope you will wear it often. I am sure your will get many compliments!
1/11/10 7:59 PM
AnneM said...
You should definitely wear this more than you are thinking. It looks great on you in the picture. You did a wonderful job of the vest. I can see why you like the fabric.
1/11/10 8:20 PM
busymomof3 said...
You did a great job of refashioning the fabric. I do like the vest on you and think you should wear it. Fabric looks like it would match everything :)
1/11/10 8:36 PM
Giggles. said...
Very nice vest! I've got this pattern and it's next on my list of sewing projects.
1/11/10 9:50 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful vest and clever re-fashion. I'll echo what has already been said: it looks great on you (at least in the pic!).
1/12/10 0:17 AM
Stephenie said...
Too cute! Annette, you never cease to amaze me. I think this looks great on you! I have about 4 different vest patterns and haven't made one....I think it's about time.
1/12/10 10:54 AM
okie2thdoc said...
I really like this vest. Interesting it's a short pattern. Good job.
1/12/10 11:03 AM
OP Gal said...
That's a really cute vest. It fits you wonderfully. I'm not sure what you mean about your not being the right body shape for this patten. You look great in it. It's amazing that you were able to match the plaid so well using scraps of fabric. It sounds like you had the same problem as moi. I recently blew off the instructions on a project, resulting in a less than desirable outcome. I guess we're never too experienced to humbly read through the instructions and do as we're told.
1/12/10 11:05 AM
Birgitte said...
That is a beautiful vest, you've inspired me to try one myself. I'm a rectangle but I think we can get away with it when we wear the shirt layered like you do in the picture. Great job!
1/16/10 11:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Nice job and good review. I never think to shop Goodwill or any others for fabric but it's a great idea and you got yourself a beautiful piece of wool.
1/17/10 4:40 PM
loti said...
How cute is that vest, great job.
1/17/10 6:32 PM
colorkitten said...
I think it looks great! And it's a lovely use of the jacket. Thanks for all the details -- great info!
1/18/10 2:34 PM
ElizabethDee said...
i knew i had to comment when you wrote that you didn't think this style suited you -- like all the others, i think you look great! you did a wonderful job and the fit is fabulous. maybe you have this opinion about vests or this style because you've never had the proper fit before? just a thought. anyway, i love your work.
1/18/10 5:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review
Butterick 5672

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now