SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3740 (Tops)

64 more reviews
Viewed 902 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 170
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:1/14/10 0:05 AM
Last Updated:11/21/10 8:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
I love both of your tops! I have this pattern but haven't gotten to it yet.
11/22/10 1:26 PM
marec said...
What a pretty top on you. I love both versions. The wiggley line is so interesting and quirky. Both tops look cozy and stylish. Are you cold on that side of the mountain? It's very snowy over here.
11/22/10 10:24 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love your wiggly line version, Patti !!!!
11/22/10 1:43 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this! The contrasting cowl and wiggly-lined sleeves just take it to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL. :o)
11/22/10 0:11 AM
homejewel said...
How funny we picked the same fabric for the same pattern! I love your version - especially with 2 different prints. Very nice!
11/21/10 11:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh, this one is cute too. Love the fabric and your use of contrast on the collar and sleeve.
11/21/10 10:38 PM
MNBarb said...
A good style for you. I like the coordinating fabrics.
11/21/10 9:54 PM
Christas said...
I never thought of using a contrasting fabric for the cowl. That looks very nice! The wiggly line on the sleeve is a really cute detail too. Thanks for the tips in your review!
11/21/10 9:39 PM
EyeSew1 said...
I cut my top out before reading your review. With your helpful tips I can make the needed adjustments before I sew. The colors in this print look beautiful on you! I love how your top turned out. Thanks for the great review!
5/9/10 3:53 PM
HeyJane said...
I love your top. Thanks for all the tips about the pattern.
1/15/10 12:04 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top.
1/14/10 5:25 PM
Time4me said...
Nice top and great review. The pattern seems to be deliberately drafted for a dropped shoulder but we PRs don't seem to want that! Good thing we are so crafty. It is funny that two of you now had had issues with the cowl. This is totally not an issue for me. I wonder if it is due to the fabric? I have cotton in my bamboo/cotton/lycra jersey.
1/14/10 1:04 PM
Barbara V said...
Great tops, Patti. The neckline is quite nice. I'm looking forward to trying this pattern. Thanks!
1/14/10 11:41 AM
JanJanB said...
Very pretty. Thanks for the great review. I wondered about the cowl.
1/14/10 10:56 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute, Patti! Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/14/10 9:16 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the great fit you achieved. Wonderful hint about constructing the cowl neck to avoid unsightly seams showing. Very pretty on you.
1/14/10 9:10 AM
JDpenelope said...
Looks like you've mastered this pattern (again, and as usual). The fit looks perfect, and it's nice to hear that the cowl isn't fussy -- if you do it right! The neckline doesn't look too low cut, either. The print fabric dresses it up -- I gotta remember that.
1/14/10 9:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top and great review. Thanks for the tip about the neck seam.
1/14/10 7:03 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a helpful review, thank you. I love the fabric on the second version, so bright and cheery, just what's needed in the middle of winter.
1/14/10 6:20 AM
Leora said...
I really like both versions too! The fit is perfect on the print top but the gray top looks so comfy. I'll have to pass on this pattern since I'll never turn out such a nice one without a coverstitch, but hope to see you make more!
1/14/10 4:20 AM
LynnRowe said...
WOW that's pretty!!! Ok, now I gotta do another one, but in a print this time! Your grey "muslin" looks super comfy for casual chilly days. Your print top looks smashing!!! (And yes, actually, it does bug me that yours looks better than mine...that's just so rude of you!) LOL!!!
1/14/10 0:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 2948

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now