SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 4153 (OOP Men's Casual Jacket)

Viewed 75 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/10 8:19 PM
Last Updated:1/11/10 8:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
You have done a wonderful job on this jacket. It looks so professionally sewn ..... very nice! I am sure the recipient of your jacket is so proud of your skills!
1/11/10 9:23 PM
Elona said...
This is the first time I have ever seen a review of this interesting old pattern (which is in my stash, unused), and your version came out beautifully! I agree about working with Polartec 300: This is heavy fabric and can be difficult to work with. Thank goodness I live in a warm climate and seldom have to futz with it. However, both Rochelle Harper and Nancy Cornwell, in their books, provide intriguing techniques for working with single layers of this bulky stuff, treating it as if it were boiled wool. This might be worth a shot on a subsequent project.
1/11/10 10:49 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
I love this jacket! I just went online to see if I could find it. It is difficult to find good men's patterns. As far as the tricot covering the zipper- what I have done is use the lycra strips. They are about 1-1/2" wide and I fold in half, stitch to front with 1/4" seam, fold it over to the back and stitch in the ditch. This needs to be done before the zipper goes in. How did you finish off the top of your zipper? Sometimes, I will stitch a small piece of the lycra, wrapping it around the zipper teeth. Then I pull the excess up over the stitching. Kind of hard to explain, but it looks good and stops the zipper since we can't reapply the plastic stops.
1/12/10 9:07 AM
frame said...
The jacket looks great. It's nice to know about the challenges of working with this fabric. You certainly overcame them. Thanks.
1/12/10 9:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
He looks so cozy and cool in this fine looking jacket! Very nice review!
1/23/10 11:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now