Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 4153 (OOP Men's Casual Jacket) - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 74 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/10 8:19 PM
Last Updated:1/11/10 8:22 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
You have done a wonderful job on this jacket. It looks so professionally sewn ..... very nice! I am sure the recipient of your jacket is so proud of your skills!
1/11/10 9:23 PM
Elona said...
This is the first time I have ever seen a review of this interesting old pattern (which is in my stash, unused), and your version came out beautifully! I agree about working with Polartec 300: This is heavy fabric and can be difficult to work with. Thank goodness I live in a warm climate and seldom have to futz with it. However, both Rochelle Harper and Nancy Cornwell, in their books, provide intriguing techniques for working with single layers of this bulky stuff, treating it as if it were boiled wool. This might be worth a shot on a subsequent project.
1/11/10 10:49 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
I love this jacket! I just went online to see if I could find it. It is difficult to find good men's patterns. As far as the tricot covering the zipper- what I have done is use the lycra strips. They are about 1-1/2" wide and I fold in half, stitch to front with 1/4" seam, fold it over to the back and stitch in the ditch. This needs to be done before the zipper goes in. How did you finish off the top of your zipper? Sometimes, I will stitch a small piece of the lycra, wrapping it around the zipper teeth. Then I pull the excess up over the stitching. Kind of hard to explain, but it looks good and stops the zipper since we can't reapply the plastic stops.
1/12/10 9:07 AM
frame said...
The jacket looks great. It's nice to know about the challenges of working with this fabric. You certainly overcame them. Thanks.
1/12/10 9:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
He looks so cozy and cool in this fine looking jacket! Very nice review!
1/23/10 11:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 3877
photo
Review by divaknitti... on 7/18/09
Read Review

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5225
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 7/27/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us