SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2473 (Princess Sheath Dress wMidriff)

25 more reviews
Viewed 616 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/10 11:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2takeKate said...
Ease of Doom, indeed! Reminds me of the plaid rayon BIAS (strike three!) skirt I attempted that ended up in the trash. Fabric choices aside, this is still a cool dress pattern.
10/4/11 6:57 PM
2takeKate said...
Ease of Doom, indeed! Reminds me of the plaid rayon BIAS (strike three!) skirt I attempted that ended up in the trash. Fabric choices aside, this is still a cool dress pattern.
10/4/11 6:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Shame the collar didn't work, that was really cute. But stop beating up on yourself - it's cute for now, it's warm, and the fabulous stuff you've made by far outnumbers this one. I'm about 3/4 of the way through a dress that is either going to be a wadder, a gift or a pencil skirt, mostly because I refused to admit that the fabric wasn't appropriate for the pattern, so I feel your pain.
1/13/10 9:22 PM
fourkid said...
A great review - since you make so many fantastic garments and I can see your angst with this particular dress - but you still make it look cute.
1/13/10 6:57 AM
sew2little said...
I received a plaid jacket for Christmas with mismatched seams that make the back of your dress look like perfection. Those of us who sew do look at clothing with a more critical eye--most of the time. I too have this pattern and will not try it with a plaid! (I was able to exchange the jacket!)
1/13/10 1:07 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for your candid honesty! Just always wear this when you can lean against a wall!>;) Chalk it up to experience and notice how well you sewed it though!
1/12/10 4:02 PM
michababy said...
I agree. No more torturing for you! Thanks for the fabric tips and the splitting suggestions!
1/12/10 2:35 PM
eword10 said...
OMG, I almost spit out my food with your Ease of Doom comment! I have this pattern and hope I have better luck. I will keep your fabric talk in mind when choosing mine. I can understand not willing to give up on a vision though. And you have so many cute things you've already made, why torture yourself?
1/12/10 1:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
Clever Charlotte Raven Hoodie and Pants

photo
by: Donel

Review