SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8597 (Misses' Cowl Neck Tops)

41 more reviews
Viewed 1496 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/10 10:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Your review saved me from trying this pattern for myself. I do love that color on you though!
10/12/10 5:07 PM
masterseamstress said...
I think you didn't use a stretchy enough knit. Why are the other reviews of this number happy with the results?
2/23/10 12:32 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Well that is just a big fat bummer. Especially since I have actually contemplated buying the pattern. Definitely not now, tho there is a new cowl neck pattern that Vogue just released this week - 8634, maybe that will be better. ITA, I always get nervous when there is no actual model on the envelope.
1/21/10 8:09 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Why-oh-why is it so hard to find a really good pattern for a cowl neck top? That said, that color is super-fantastic on you!
1/21/10 9:45 AM
AnnMarieJ said...
Hi there, I know what you mean about patterns with a sketch and no photo...misleading. But you might try Onion 5039. I just made two gorgeous cowl neck tops with this pattern and they are FAB. This pattern is recommended for knit fabrics, not wovens. Decades of Style has a beautiful looking cowl-neck blouse you can make with wovens and I'm going to try that too. Every Onion pattern I made was easy to make, well-drafted, fit well and looked great, very Euro cool. Sometime soon I will have a chance to write up my reviews. Try that Onion one because you won't be disappointed. -- Ann Marie
1/19/10 5:23 PM
valerie sews said...
A cowl needs ease at the neck, where you went down a size. Maybe it would work in the original configuration.
1/15/10 4:02 PM
MsMaryO said...
The neckline is a little on the constricting side, for a cowl neck anyway. You should try the Kwik Sew 3740 cowl that PattiB just reviewed. It looks like it has a much more open neckline.
1/15/10 9:15 AM
BrianSews said...
Well I agree, the neck is ick but I really do love orange. Thanks for the review!
1/15/10 8:29 AM
Janie Viers said...
I too made this pattern recently and it's not a lovely look no matter what fabric is chosen. It was a patern that I had really lusted after for a long time, too!
1/14/10 8:47 PM
carnelian said...
I can see that helmet. Thanks.
1/14/10 8:28 PM
AnneM said...
Well, you know, you are cute enough to wear it anyway. But yeah, not a great pattern.
1/14/10 7:37 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks for the review - I have been taking out and putting this back and hesitating - now I think I'll just let it sit in the stash. You always make such fabulous stuff that if this did not work for you I doubt very much I need to try it. Lovely color fabric tho - LOL
1/14/10 7:05 PM
annie11 said...
Your vision of the head mistress with the fishbowl helmet and this top is going to stick with me forever! I love it. :)
1/14/10 4:55 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks for the heads up about this pattern. I love the color but it does have some weird wrinkles and some odd back flaps. Hmmmmm.
1/14/10 4:52 PM
m1khaela said...
I love your reviews! And your description is perfect. The color is great but it so is NOT a nice slouchy open cowl neck, and seems to have weird extra fabric above the bust. You did a nice job with what might be a pattern dud, though!
1/14/10 2:10 PM
Jatman said...
Thank you for an enlightening and entertaining review. Chastity belt of a top? That is hilarious!
1/14/10 2:08 PM
MarshaG. said...
I, too have had mixed results with this pattern, which proved to be very frustrating. First off, the size groupings are split in such a way that I really need to purchase two sizes, which makes me mad. Since it was for knits, and since I figured there would be some built-in ease, I went with the smaller of my two sizes. When I opened up the pattern to look at the finished garment measurements, the bust "ease" was only one inch more than the listed bust size on the pattern. I had purchased the pattern based on my high-bust! SO....I figured that I would make the pattern as drafted, but use only 1/4" seam allowances for the side seams and see how it fit. I hated that the layout requires you to pin a half-pattern to a single layer, cut it, then flip, pin and cut. Of course, I could have traced a complete pattern, but why didn't Vogue just offer it that way??!! Seriously, I'd rather buy more yardage so that I can cut everything double! I made the cut-on cowl first. My fabric was a Red Tag clearance item, in a mini-missoni type knit, with the required suggested stretch. Both sides looked similar, which is necessary with the cut-on cowl. It had a snug but comfy fit, and actually looked pretty good in the bust area. There was no horizontal wrinkling above the back waist, which I usually get. The raglan seams could have been cut to a smaller size, but they were OK. Even the neckline was low enough not to bother me. My second version was a disaster. I have some lovely printed, stretch panne' velvet, which I think I got from Emma One Sock years ago. It had more than the recommended stretch for the pattern, so I was picturing a slightly more roomy top. It also was very light-weight and drape-y. I chose the sewn-on cowl, because of the print/nap, etc. The finished bust measurement for this version is the same as the cut-on cowl. The bodice front has side bust darts. The only other difference I made purposefully was to cut the bodice armscyes, neckline and armscyes of the sleeves one size smaller, since I knew that I needed this adjustment to take up the underarm just a bit and bring the raglan seam a bit closer to my chest. This fabric wanted to curl if you even looked at it, and stitching seams, darts, etc. with this slippery nap - though I was extremely careful, was a PITA! After completing all but the hems, I tried it on. The cowl did not drape as well as I'd have liked, but that was tolerable. The bodice front looked snug, but no more so than the first top. What was completely intolerable and a great mystery was that I had a least 3 horizontal wrinkles just above my waistline! Please remember that I did NOT have this with the first top. I just HATE that, so pondered what I might do, post-construction, to save it. While pondering, I machine-stitched my sleeve hems, which turned out very poorly. Got out the seam ripper. Managed to tear a hole and get a run. Didn't want shorter sleeves. I gave up on the top, but messed with the bodice, by slashing vertically, first along the side seams, up to just below the bust darts - the horizontal wrinkles were still there and the slashed areas still hung together. I then slashed vertically in the center back until just below the bottom of my shoulder blades! THEN the wrinkles went away, and I had a huge wedge of bare skin showing! Now, I'm no longer skinny, but I'm not fat either. I have a bit of an abdomen pooch. I'm not hippy, and have little difference between my hips and waist. I don't consider myself to be broad-backed, but that is what I think the open wedge in the back indicates. While I have enough of the panne to make another top, I don't think I will be using this pattern for it. The original top fit had me almost considering that this pattern, with a LITTLE tweaking, might become a TNT for me. Now I'm afraid to try it with another of my knit fabrics for fear of another case of the mysterious waist wrinkles!
1/14/10 1:03 PM
Time4me said...
Thanks for this very informative review. I too have this pattern and have hesitated to make it as I have high hopes for it and am afraid it will fail! I just had a thought. Try that shirt on backwards and see what that looks like. You might get a better drape!
1/14/10 1:00 PM
Evita said...
It is too bad that you don't like it and yes, this bust wrinkle is strange...... The other reviewers raved about that pattern and I bought it yesterday..... I'll be sure to make a muslin first!
1/14/10 12:52 PM
strongnow said...
Thank you so much. I have an older OOP Vogue top in a similar design which I have been trying to force to my will to come out as illustrated!!! I decided I would see if there was a newer, better pattern of this type. Well, I don't think it's going to be this one. I am an advanced beginner and tend to think if the pattern does not work out it is probably because I have made some beginner's error(s). But I have seen a lot of your work and can see you know what you are doing. Thanks again.
1/14/10 12:12 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Great review! Must remember to add this pattern to my "Do Not Buy" list!
1/14/10 12:07 PM
persevering said...
BTW - Though not what you were expecting - I actually like this top - IMHO the color makes it funky and it is great for layering in cold weather.
1/14/10 11:58 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review (always enjoy reading them and your blog). I appreciate your critique of the pattern - still haven't been able to sew again yet, but am constantly learning from this site.
1/14/10 11:43 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Good thing you already needed the PJs.
1/14/10 11:33 AM
davin said...
Thanks, I have the pattern, so far unsewn.
1/14/10 11:27 AM
crazygrad said...
Well, you do have a Halloween costume then, though you might need to buy the bowl.
1/14/10 11:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Burda 7482

photo
by: HRigg

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Megan Nielsen MN2102

photo
by: Westy85

Review