Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 1819 (Sheila's Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 920 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Karen31
photo
About Karen31star
Member since: 1/25/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/10 9:39 PM
Last Updated:1/21/10 11:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Your jacket does have that high-end look to it. Quite nice. Thanks for the review.
1/17/10 9:53 PM
CaroleM said...
Thanks for the info, I'll be sure to try that pattern. Love the fabric you used.
1/18/10 9:00 AM
Aixoise said...
Instant gratification works for me! Lovely jacket in a fabric that's just right for the style. You aced the fit - looks terrific on you.
1/18/10 1:52 PM
becca a said...
Great, stylish jacket. I've been curious about Silhouette patterns--nice to see one made up.
1/18/10 6:52 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket looks cute on you! Very nice!
1/21/10 11:47 AM
PeppermintPam said...
Nice jacket. I love the fabric you used. Since you raised the armscye 1 1/4 inches, how did you adjust the sleeve to fit? Thanks for reviewing this one.
1/21/10 12:08 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Very nice looking jacket!
1/21/10 1:41 PM
Karen31 said...
Peppermint Pam - re: raising the armscye - you also need to adjust the sleeve accordingly, i.e. when I raise an armsye from the notch points, on sleeve pattern beginning at same point I will redraw the cutting line, measuring point where sleeve meets side seam to ensure the highest points are same, and the sleeve now fits the redrafted armscye. Sometimes I do it freehand if the fabric's forgiving or a sweater or boucle type where there's a little flexibility, others use a french curve.
1/21/10 2:30 PM
PeppermintPam said...
Thanks for the explanation. I think I will try this as I like a higher armscye on my jackets and blouses too. Great job!
1/21/10 9:29 PM
Christas said...
Love your fabric choice - very nice review!
1/21/10 10:25 PM
DTBSBarb said...
Hi Karen: Great review. I just got this pattern, so now I'm anxious to try it. This is your "old" SPIFFY fitting buddy, Barb.
1/28/10 1:58 PM
Donna Makowski said...
Thanks - I just ordered the pattern!
1/28/10 2:52 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty and stylish jacket. I love the fabric. Thanks for the informative review.
1/28/10 3:42 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Hi Karen, just now saw this! You are glam as always.
2/15/10 2:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1029
photo
Review by cairncrew on 4/22/11
Read Review

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 0000
photo
Review by Gillian on 3/28/05
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us