SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 1819 (Sheila's Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 944 times 
Reviewed by:Karen31
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen31star
Member since: 1/25/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/10 9:39 PM
Last Updated:1/21/10 11:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Your jacket does have that high-end look to it. Quite nice. Thanks for the review.
1/17/10 9:53 PM
CaroleM said...
Thanks for the info, I'll be sure to try that pattern. Love the fabric you used.
1/18/10 9:00 AM
Aixoise said...
Instant gratification works for me! Lovely jacket in a fabric that's just right for the style. You aced the fit - looks terrific on you.
1/18/10 1:52 PM
becca a said...
Great, stylish jacket. I've been curious about Silhouette patterns--nice to see one made up.
1/18/10 6:52 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket looks cute on you! Very nice!
1/21/10 11:47 AM
PeppermintPam said...
Nice jacket. I love the fabric you used. Since you raised the armscye 1 1/4 inches, how did you adjust the sleeve to fit? Thanks for reviewing this one.
1/21/10 12:08 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Very nice looking jacket!
1/21/10 1:41 PM
Karen31 said...
Peppermint Pam - re: raising the armscye - you also need to adjust the sleeve accordingly, i.e. when I raise an armsye from the notch points, on sleeve pattern beginning at same point I will redraw the cutting line, measuring point where sleeve meets side seam to ensure the highest points are same, and the sleeve now fits the redrafted armscye. Sometimes I do it freehand if the fabric's forgiving or a sweater or boucle type where there's a little flexibility, others use a french curve.
1/21/10 2:30 PM
PeppermintPam said...
Thanks for the explanation. I think I will try this as I like a higher armscye on my jackets and blouses too. Great job!
1/21/10 9:29 PM
Christas said...
Love your fabric choice - very nice review!
1/21/10 10:25 PM
DTBSBarb said...
Hi Karen: Great review. I just got this pattern, so now I'm anxious to try it. This is your "old" SPIFFY fitting buddy, Barb.
1/28/10 1:58 PM
Donna Makowski said...
Thanks - I just ordered the pattern!
1/28/10 2:52 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty and stylish jacket. I love the fabric. Thanks for the informative review.
1/28/10 3:42 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Hi Karen, just now saw this! You are glam as always.
2/15/10 2:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-121

photo
by: redsilvia

Review
Burda 7828

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now