Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2471 (Baby shoes)

2 more reviews
Viewed 282 times 
Reviewed by:kkkkaty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kkkkatystarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 12/7/05
Reviews: 137 (patterns: 87)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/10 7:41 PM
Last Updated:1/18/10 8:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Other Projects by kkkkaty using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hamarasekera said... (11/13/14 8:48 PM) Reply
I just struggled with style F. Everything went smoothly until step 12. 'With right sides together pin sole lining to sole'. Huh? Your description is much more explanatory- which I eventually figured out as you describe- sandwich the boogie between the sole and the sole lining. Wish I had read yours first instead of wasting so much time. Thank you.
Jgmyers said... (11/10/13 10:04 PM) Reply
Thanks for leading the way on figuring out the booties.
chika85 said... (4/13/12 7:38 AM) Reply
Thank you for the bootie sandwich tip. I was trying to figure it out and found your review!
knickgirl said... (2/20/12 3:57 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for the bootie sandwich! I couldn't figure it out and did a search. Thank goodness I found your review. I was about to toss the whole shoe :)
justigirl said... (1/27/12 1:34 AM) Reply
Thank you for the detailed explanation on the "bootie sandwich." I have been searching all over the internet to figure out that part of the step. This is my first attempt at making shoes of any sort and I could not wrap my mind around how I was supposed to put right sides together without getting the back stuck in the middle. I think I get it now and they should be done soon. By the way, it only took me about an hour to make the first one (and I had to tear out a few seams and rethread my sewing machine a couple of times). I consider that a pretty "quick" project personally. Maybe if I get the hang of this, the next pair or two will go faster.
AMABishop said... (10/12/11 11:29 AM) Reply
Thanks for writing this review. I wish I had read it while I was sewing this pattern rather than when I was ready to review it! I had the exact same problem misinterpreting the direction regarding sewing the sole.
Sew tell me said... (3/6/11 1:43 AM) Reply
I am making these (View D) for my baby girl so thank you for this review, hopefully I can avoid at least one or two problems.
Annibanani said... (8/4/10 4:05 AM) Reply
OK ... I just googled and found this site ... because I'm working on this pattern now and it's driving me nuts! I'm working on View D, the bootie sandwich thing took me forever to figure out too (that's where I'm at now). Hope mine turns out as well as yours did. I've already had to take apart and realign a few parts--so hard to line up all those layers correctly! I do think the pattern could've used twice as many illustrations. Very confusing how 1 illustration covers 2 instructions, you can't really tell what it's showing you is part of the first step or the second (hard to explain), though I finally did understand--should've been easier. Thanks for the review!
kkkkaty said... (2/6/10 12:35 PM) Reply
Larisa, I don't think this is a quick sew, unfortunately, but they are cute. The second pair I made I accidentally reversed the strap, so it fastened towards the instep instead of the outside of the foot, and I decided they were unwearable so threw them out. So, be careful at that pt in the instructions....
Larisa said... (2/4/10 7:28 PM) Reply
Thanks for this! I was debating about getting this pattern to increase the bootie options that I want to sell at fair. I think it needs more consideration after your review because I want things that go together quick and easy, not things that I'll be cursing a blue streak over...lol. Thanks again..sorry they were frustrating, but your version turned out *so* cute!
Nancy Rhodes said... (1/19/10 8:04 AM) Reply
Excellently detailed informative review... mood and all! Cute Cute Cute... very lucky babies in your circle of friends and family... thanks for sharing!
busymomof3 said... (1/18/10 8:08 PM) Reply
Very cute! Have lots of friend and family babies on the way. Thanks for the review.
Morisot said... (1/18/10 7:56 PM) Reply
They are cute. LOL at the "creating a bootie sandwich" -- it certainly is nicely descriptive.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8612

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6959

photo
by: sassykat

Review