Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2010-122 (Striped top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 753 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:crisford
photo
Friend of PR
About crisfordstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 10/5/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/10 0:54 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VeryPrairie said...
Beautiful transformation! Your top is so gorgeous, and completely different from its original incarnation. Thank you for the great review.
1/24/10 1:40 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Beautiful tops! Great re-makes! Thank you for the really good review!
1/24/10 2:06 AM
Vonnevo said...
Terrific transformations ! As I don't have my magzine yet, I am guessing this lovely neckline is not bra friendly?? Thanks for sharing and writing an excellent review :)
1/24/10 2:45 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great re-fashion! Love the top! Agree very flattering. Thanks for posting!
1/24/10 3:16 AM
nellc said...
Lovely tops, the neckline is very pretty and you have done a great job of re-using other garments to make these.
1/24/10 6:59 AM
VtMartha said...
Beautiful tops. I'm most impressed!
1/24/10 7:54 AM
kathigarn said...
Wow, I just got my Burda and you have already made something!! Your shirts look great!
1/24/10 8:57 AM
CShelley said...
Wow way to go Crisford! That's repurposing at it's best. You ended up with 2 great tops. Thanks for the review - that was the pattern I liked the best in that issue and I may have to give it a try.
1/24/10 8:59 AM
donna mel said...
great use of old clothing...i've got to do this instead of giving everything to good will! this style is very flattering on you.
1/24/10 9:28 AM
Christas said...
Both tops are so pretty. You are so quick! I just got my issue two days ago!
1/24/10 10:08 AM
jkaori said...
Beautiful tops and I love how you transformed them! Thank you for the review!
1/24/10 10:23 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love your tops! I think the remake makes them even more wonderful.
1/24/10 11:17 AM
Lori V said...
Great job transforming your garments into such great shirts.
1/24/10 11:42 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely top!
1/24/10 12:26 PM
crisford said...
Vonnevo, you are right. I will have to figure out just the right undergarment to wear with this. It may not be as comfortable as the top looks...
1/24/10 1:00 PM
persevering said...
Your review is quite inspirationa! Your tops are both lovely. I appreciate the tip on how you stabilized the neck with the same fabric strip and being able to see your cutting process.
1/24/10 1:53 PM
CypGrl said...
I am so glad you reviewed this top. This issue of BWOF had some really interesting things -- particularly the 50s flashback. Great results!
1/24/10 8:24 PM
Patzee said...
Amazing. Thanks for a fabulous review and showing us how you reused old tops!
1/25/10 2:08 AM
becca a said...
I love your new tops! How great to recycle some fabric you loved into a new life. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
1/25/10 9:21 AM
EveS said...
Now THAT is a fabulous idea. I'm wishing I hadn't just dropped off that giant bag of cast-offs to Goodwill...
1/26/10 0:41 AM
Patricia Schoeman said...
Your top is beautiful
1/27/10 7:55 PM
michalklimer said...
is is so pretty! I just traced this pattern, hope mine comes out as well as yours!
1/30/10 2:35 PM
Diane E said...
Gorgeous, Cris. I love the neckline on these tops. Gotta have (at least) one for me.
2/1/10 4:57 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Two beautiful tops - well done! :-)
2/1/10 7:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 6328 misses shorts
photo
Review by CindysIsla... on 5/21/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Ceidhle on 12/1/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us