Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2845 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3484 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/02 9:50 PM
Last Updated:5/21/02 1:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
That is very cute! I think I will eventually end up owning all of Kwik Sew's knit patterns, because they all look so good.
5/8/02 10:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Glad this one worked for you, too, Deepika. It looks great. Once again, the final product looks much better than the pattern art. What did you think about the length? Would you recommend that taller people cut it longer?
5/8/02 10:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
yes sorry I forgot to mention that I did not alter this pattern at all. I am 5'3" and the length is just right for me. Taller people may need to lengthen the pattern.
5/8/02 11:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
i wonder if the extra long elastic is so the top can be off the shoulder? nice work, deepika!
5/9/02 0:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karen, I can still make the top off shoulder very easily ;-)
5/9/02 1:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute!! and tres chic right now!!
5/9/02 1:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What an adorable top! You are on the cutting edge of fashion right now. :-) I have to admit that I've had this in my stash for a very long time - I think it's time to sew it up!
5/9/02 12:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
From a recent Victoria's Secret catalog: http://www2.victoriassecret.com/images/tmblg2/V223619.jpg Notice any similarities?
5/10/02 8:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very pretty blouse, Deepika. Thanks for the review and inspiration.
5/13/02 1:14 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - I got the the "wing" effect when I over-tightened the drawstring. Loosening the will probably get rid of the shoulder wings, but unfortunately, won't make the armholes smaller.
5/21/02 8:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
But if I dont tighten the drawstring, the neck is too low for me. I mean I can wear it around the house but not when we have company.
5/21/02 9:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I made the same two versions you did, the short sleeve in white stretch lace-no problems there. The sleeveless I made in an aqua interlock, and I had the same wing problem. Ended up taking about 2 inches off the shoulder-didn't affect fit at all, but definately not Sat. night datewear!
5/23/02 11:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
My daughter also tried this pattern view C and found it huge in the neckline. She cut XS (30 inches upper chest) in the neckline and upper chest and still had to gather the fabric to the maximum extent to keep it from falling off her shoulders. I had decided to not use this brand anymore because I thought they were designed for Amazons. After reading all these positive reviews of KwikSew maybe I will not give up on them yet. The view C also goes down quite a bit in the back. If you want to get an idea of the designer's intent, make a circle of the neckline elastic measurement and put it at your neckline. Maybe it would be possible to raise the neckline 1-2 inches? Or else look for another peasant style top with more coverage. Beware if you have narrow shoulders and a lot of skin is shown at the neckiline in a KwikSew fashion illustration, but maybe that is true of all pattern companies!
11/9/02 4:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
nanpotnan you cannot give up on Kwik sew so fast! I sew almost exclusively with kwik sew and burda. I have such good results with KS!
11/9/02 4:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lou. said...
Deepika, I have ordered this pattern, and I am looking for fabric now, on fabric.com they have some interlock with 50% stretch across the grain, and the pattern asks for 25, do you think it will be ok?
2/21/03 11:19 AM
Deepika said...
Lou, I made this in cotton jersey which had 25% stretch as well as in cotton interlock which has 50% stretch (I think) and it worked well with that as well. I would suggest measuring the elastic according to your liking. I found the elastic too loose for me so I had to adjust. I say go for it. It seems we have similar tastes, I am sure you'll love it. I made the other version also and I use it as a PJ top. Looks very cute and is very comfortable.
2/21/03 12:29 PM
Deepika said...
oh and Here's the link to the photo with interlock fabric.
2/21/03 12:30 PM
Lou. said...
Love this one Deepika!
3/14/03 1:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look gorgerous in this! Nice job Deepika!
8/4/06 1:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 2925 Vogue Wardrobe
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 6/14/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6704 Misses Shirts
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/2/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us