SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2845 

13 more reviews
Viewed 3484 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 293 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/02 9:50 PM
Last Updated:5/21/02 1:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
That is very cute! I think I will eventually end up owning all of Kwik Sew's knit patterns, because they all look so good.
5/8/02 10:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Glad this one worked for you, too, Deepika. It looks great. Once again, the final product looks much better than the pattern art. What did you think about the length? Would you recommend that taller people cut it longer?
5/8/02 10:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
yes sorry I forgot to mention that I did not alter this pattern at all. I am 5'3" and the length is just right for me. Taller people may need to lengthen the pattern.
5/8/02 11:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
i wonder if the extra long elastic is so the top can be off the shoulder? nice work, deepika!
5/9/02 0:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karen, I can still make the top off shoulder very easily ;-)
5/9/02 1:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute!! and tres chic right now!!
5/9/02 1:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What an adorable top! You are on the cutting edge of fashion right now. :-) I have to admit that I've had this in my stash for a very long time - I think it's time to sew it up!
5/9/02 12:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
From a recent Victoria's Secret catalog: http://www2.victoriassecret.com/images/tmblg2/V223619.jpg Notice any similarities?
5/10/02 8:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very pretty blouse, Deepika. Thanks for the review and inspiration.
5/13/02 1:14 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - I got the the "wing" effect when I over-tightened the drawstring. Loosening the will probably get rid of the shoulder wings, but unfortunately, won't make the armholes smaller.
5/21/02 8:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
But if I dont tighten the drawstring, the neck is too low for me. I mean I can wear it around the house but not when we have company.
5/21/02 9:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I made the same two versions you did, the short sleeve in white stretch lace-no problems there. The sleeveless I made in an aqua interlock, and I had the same wing problem. Ended up taking about 2 inches off the shoulder-didn't affect fit at all, but definately not Sat. night datewear!
5/23/02 11:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
My daughter also tried this pattern view C and found it huge in the neckline. She cut XS (30 inches upper chest) in the neckline and upper chest and still had to gather the fabric to the maximum extent to keep it from falling off her shoulders. I had decided to not use this brand anymore because I thought they were designed for Amazons. After reading all these positive reviews of KwikSew maybe I will not give up on them yet. The view C also goes down quite a bit in the back. If you want to get an idea of the designer's intent, make a circle of the neckline elastic measurement and put it at your neckline. Maybe it would be possible to raise the neckline 1-2 inches? Or else look for another peasant style top with more coverage. Beware if you have narrow shoulders and a lot of skin is shown at the neckiline in a KwikSew fashion illustration, but maybe that is true of all pattern companies!
11/9/02 4:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
nanpotnan you cannot give up on Kwik sew so fast! I sew almost exclusively with kwik sew and burda. I have such good results with KS!
11/9/02 4:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lou. said...
Deepika, I have ordered this pattern, and I am looking for fabric now, on fabric.com they have some interlock with 50% stretch across the grain, and the pattern asks for 25, do you think it will be ok?
2/21/03 11:19 AM
Deepika said...
Lou, I made this in cotton jersey which had 25% stretch as well as in cotton interlock which has 50% stretch (I think) and it worked well with that as well. I would suggest measuring the elastic according to your liking. I found the elastic too loose for me so I had to adjust. I say go for it. It seems we have similar tastes, I am sure you'll love it. I made the other version also and I use it as a PJ top. Looks very cute and is very comfortable.
2/21/03 12:29 PM
Deepika said...
oh and Here's the link to the photo with interlock fabric.
2/21/03 12:30 PM
Lou. said...
Love this one Deepika!
3/14/03 1:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look gorgerous in this! Nice job Deepika!
8/4/06 1:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

No Pattern Used Mimi G\'s self drafted pat

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
McCall's 6436

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now