Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3503 (knee length V neck knit dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 644 times 101 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:French.Seam
photo
About French.Seamstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/8/10 8:40 AM
Last Updated:2/8/10 8:44 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
I love your fabric and I thought the dress looked quite pretty, then I read the review. You could probably cut a skirt that you might wear more often. Thanks for the review!
2/8/10 9:00 AM
crazygrad said...
I think it looks good on you in the pic. But if you're not comfortable in it, I hope you can reuse the fabric for something else. It really looks like a nice fabric for the right project!
2/8/10 10:37 AM
ladybegood said...
I just made view F of this dress and had the same problem with the unflattering skirt. I knew there was a reason I never wore empire dresses! I had to do that same staggered-leg red carpet pose to get a flattering picture, but you can't walk around like that all day! Still, I think v-neck bodice that you did is flattering enough to try to find a better skirt option. I may just lengthen the band to the waist to get more of an hour glass shape.
2/8/10 10:56 AM
JanieBee said...
In spite of all your fitting issues, the dress looks really pretty. The extended shoulder balances it out.
2/8/10 10:59 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks pretty good!
2/8/10 2:58 PM
French.Seam said...
thanks for the comments: the extended shoulder is nice. I really had to take a LOT of photos to find one that didn't make me look 6 months pregnant
2/9/10 5:34 AM
heatherst said...
I think that this is avey pretty dress.
2/9/10 10:09 PM
French.Seam said...
Thanks for the positive comments, but I will never wear it - I've put it on eBay (I can't clutter up my house with unworn clothes)
2/13/10 1:21 AM
Diane E said...
Very pretty fabric -- so sorry the dress didn't work out for you. It looks great in the photo, but if it doesn't feel good, it just isn't right.
2/18/10 10:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Stretch & Sew 1028 Cuddle Coat
photo
Review by carolynw on 7/27/06
Read Review

Jalie 3134 Pattern
Jalie 3134 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1797 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1797 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3137
photo
Review by wenznz on 10/13/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Pants and Vest Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Pants and Vest Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us