SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (knee length V neck knit dress)

105 more reviews
Viewed 657 times 
Reviewed by:French.Seam
photo

 
 
About French.Seamstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews: 163 (patterns: 147)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/8/10 8:40 AM
Last Updated:2/8/10 8:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by French.Seam using this Pattern

photo
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Diane E said... (2/18/10 10:57 AM) Reply
Very pretty fabric -- so sorry the dress didn't work out for you. It looks great in the photo, but if it doesn't feel good, it just isn't right.
French.Seam said... (2/13/10 1:21 AM) Reply
Thanks for the positive comments, but I will never wear it - I've put it on eBay (I can't clutter up my house with unworn clothes)
heatherst said... (2/9/10 10:09 PM) Reply
I think that this is avey pretty dress.
French.Seam said... (2/9/10 5:34 AM) Reply
thanks for the comments: the extended shoulder is nice. I really had to take a LOT of photos to find one that didn't make me look 6 months pregnant
FreyaStark said... (2/8/10 2:58 PM) Reply
I think it looks pretty good!
JanieBee said... (2/8/10 10:59 AM) Reply
In spite of all your fitting issues, the dress looks really pretty. The extended shoulder balances it out.
ladybegood said... (2/8/10 10:56 AM) Reply
I just made view F of this dress and had the same problem with the unflattering skirt. I knew there was a reason I never wore empire dresses! I had to do that same staggered-leg red carpet pose to get a flattering picture, but you can't walk around like that all day! Still, I think v-neck bodice that you did is flattering enough to try to find a better skirt option. I may just lengthen the band to the waist to get more of an hour glass shape.
crazygrad said... (2/8/10 10:37 AM) Reply
I think it looks good on you in the pic. But if you're not comfortable in it, I hope you can reuse the fabric for something else. It really looks like a nice fabric for the right project!
lamstu said... (2/8/10 9:00 AM) Reply
I love your fabric and I thought the dress looked quite pretty, then I read the review. You could probably cut a skirt that you might wear more often. Thanks for the review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 9004

photo
by: ALY

Review
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Pretty Peplum Top Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Pretty Peplum Top Pattern

Pattern Details