SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (knee length V neck knit dress)

101 more reviews
Viewed 650 times 
Reviewed by:French.Seam
photo

 
 
About French.Seamstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/8/10 8:40 AM
Last Updated:2/8/10 8:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
I love your fabric and I thought the dress looked quite pretty, then I read the review. You could probably cut a skirt that you might wear more often. Thanks for the review!
2/8/10 9:00 AM
crazygrad said...
I think it looks good on you in the pic. But if you're not comfortable in it, I hope you can reuse the fabric for something else. It really looks like a nice fabric for the right project!
2/8/10 10:37 AM
ladybegood said...
I just made view F of this dress and had the same problem with the unflattering skirt. I knew there was a reason I never wore empire dresses! I had to do that same staggered-leg red carpet pose to get a flattering picture, but you can't walk around like that all day! Still, I think v-neck bodice that you did is flattering enough to try to find a better skirt option. I may just lengthen the band to the waist to get more of an hour glass shape.
2/8/10 10:56 AM
JanieBee said...
In spite of all your fitting issues, the dress looks really pretty. The extended shoulder balances it out.
2/8/10 10:59 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks pretty good!
2/8/10 2:58 PM
French.Seam said...
thanks for the comments: the extended shoulder is nice. I really had to take a LOT of photos to find one that didn't make me look 6 months pregnant
2/9/10 5:34 AM
heatherst said...
I think that this is avey pretty dress.
2/9/10 10:09 PM
French.Seam said...
Thanks for the positive comments, but I will never wear it - I've put it on eBay (I can't clutter up my house with unworn clothes)
2/13/10 1:21 AM
Diane E said...
Very pretty fabric -- so sorry the dress didn't work out for you. It looks great in the photo, but if it doesn't feel good, it just isn't right.
2/18/10 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-118

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review