SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2009-115 (Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 473 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/10 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
That coat is fantastic, so unique and the intense color just makes it more so.
2/12/10 7:45 PM
Baltosew said...
Wonderful job and the green is really fabulous! Take those compliments seriously. Thanks for the informative review.
2/6/10 12:38 PM
OP Gal said...
When you think you can't stand wearing that color, just lay down until the feeling goes away. That green is amazing, and you look fabulous in your coat. The lining is super cool, the scarf is stylish and the seam detailing is marvelous, making the whole coat fabulous.
2/5/10 9:26 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, Ann, I did the "close your eyes" test--when I opened up, I first saw YOU and then the "green coat"!! FUN!! STUNNING!! L-O-V-E the lining!! ;)
2/5/10 12:50 PM
lbrundage said...
Oh, Ann, it's just fabulous on you! Such a perfect color for a coat!
2/5/10 11:52 AM
digs57 said...
Looks great! I love cheerful colours in winter outerwear. I got the same bathrobe comment from my son, so I had a good laugh at that. Your lining is TDF.
2/5/10 10:44 AM
becca a said...
I love your coat! I think the scarf detail is fun and flattering. I can see not wanting to wear this color every day with everything, but I hope you do wear it because the color is cheerful and looks great on you. Thanks for the great review with reminders of important steps glossed over by Burda.
2/5/10 7:46 AM
Rebecca D said...
It's a great statement coat, fits your style very well and I hope you will feel like wearing it after it 'marinates' a little.
2/5/10 6:26 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous and it looks good on you, so I hope you come around to the colour.
2/5/10 1:17 AM
DorothyK said...
The coat is really quite spectacular - color and all. I love the seams and lining. The coat looks really good on you. I think Sewing for Fun's suggestion about a pin is a good one about adding a pin of some sort. It would take some attention away from the green, if that's what bothers you.
2/4/10 11:39 PM
sewing for fun said...
Well, I LOVE that green! Yes, it is intense, but very pretty and definitely striking. I might put an accent pin of a different coordinating color (maybe a fabric flower) on the shoulder or scarf area.
2/4/10 11:25 PM
VtMartha said...
I think it's spectacular and I love the color!
2/4/10 8:27 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
It's a showstopper! I love all elements of your coat. Lovely as can be!
2/4/10 8:13 PM
Nancy K said...
Great coat even if you aren't sure about the color. Good tip about narrowing the collar. Silk charmeuse that looks like an animal print? It's fabulous.
2/4/10 7:40 PM
marjenann said...
I love everything about this coat! The fabric, color and design. You sewing is impeccable too. Just a really super looking coat.
2/4/10 6:09 PM
ssssdeb said...
Very attractive coat! I hope the color grows on you because you look smashing!
2/4/10 6:07 PM
Enid E said...
I love the lines of your coat. The length and collar reduction was a good choice, as was the lining fabric....and the color looks wonderful on you! Nice work, as usual...
2/4/10 6:06 PM
petro said...
I love the colour on you, and the scarf collar.
2/4/10 5:51 PM
Barbara V said...
I love it! Great accent color and very Jackie O lines. Ideal lining too. Perfect for brightening up these winter days. The decision on reduction of collar width was good as the proportions look right.
2/4/10 5:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Marfy 2568

photo
by: merteuil

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

More Info
Japanese Pattern Books Stylish Dress Book 1

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review