Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: MSB153(57/158) (Shirt with Interesting Collar) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 221 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:poplin
photo
About poplinstar
WA USA
Member since: 5/28/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/10 0:44 AM
Last Updated:2/6/10 1:00 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry it was such a disappointing pattern; it certainly looks interesting.
2/6/10 1:03 AM
katharin said...
It looks great on you in the photo, and I was wondering indeed whether it would be comfortable to wear with such a wide collar opening. Thank you for your helpful description of how the blouse behaves when one moves. Great review.
2/6/10 1:10 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
The pattern looks very interesting, I can certainly see why you tried it!
2/6/10 1:45 PM
Kay Y said...
It is interesting, to be sure. Could you retrofit it by sewing shoulder straps inside the collar? Then the collar could flop all it wants but it would stay on!
2/6/10 4:29 PM
poplin said...
Yes, Kay. I am in the process of figuring out how I can make this shirt work. Your suggestion has been on my list! Please PM me if you have further suggestions on how I can pull this off.
2/6/10 4:42 PM
digs57 said...
It's a unique look, worth pursuing to improve. Thank you for showing the collar draft. The back of the "collar" seems to also serve as a yoke? If so, then sewing a double-yoke shirt and inserting the collar into the back and front yoke seams might work to stabilize the shoulders. Hope you try another version of it!
2/7/10 7:55 AM
ZuleikaD said...
This is a great, detailed review. Comparing your photo and the magazine photo, it also looks like the magazine version is much narrower through the shoulders -- the sleeve seam sits on top of the shoulder, rather than dropped down an inch or two as yours is. I wonder if this would solve the problem of left-right shift? You might make yours more wearable by attaching loops for your bra straps on the inside which would prevent the shift.
2/21/10 3:23 PM
poplin said...
I appreciate your comment, ZuleikaD, as the width of the collar has been much on my mind all weekend. I wore this shirt to my BurdayStyle sewing club meeting the other day for show-n-tell, and during the whole day, I thought about how to fix this shirt to be more wearable.

What I did not show you was an image of the pattern guide for copyright reasons. I followed that pattern guide to a T. My guess is that whoever fitted the model made a few alterations to the pattern. For one, darts were not added though it was specified on the pattern guide. Because of this, I'm tempted to think that alterations were made to suit the model. Either that, or the pattern guide has errors.

Did you notice also how the back of the collar (on the pattern photo) was pushed forward, so that it made shoulder seams? The front of the collar would then jut further out, looking like a crumb catcher? :)

I noticed this detail just now! I've been wearing this shirt with the back and front sides of the collar sticking upwards. I'll try it on again with the back of the collar pushed forward, although this style will definitely make wearing jackets a little inconvenient. Imagine, I have to adjust my shirt to sit right every time I take my jacket off.

As for bra loops, that was my first attempt at stabilizing this shirt on my body. No success.
2/22/10 2:00 PM
Mufffet said...
Very cool looking, but if it isn't comfy, that's it then. Were you able to make it work for you eventually?
5/31/11 0:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1313
photo
Review by Kay Y on 6/5/07
Read Review

Vogue 8633 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8633 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9462 Pattern
Burda 9462 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Children's Corner 48
photo
Review by 3girlsmama on 2/24/10
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us