Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-114B (Plaid Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 499 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/10 4:46 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Tee! Hee!! I get to be the FIRST to say, "WOW!! What a great project!! This jacket is POW POOF on ya!!"
2/7/10 5:03 PM
Second Avenue said...
Hello Kay, Oh my gosh, that blazer is fantastic! You must be so proud! The matching of plaids, the tailoring, the fitting - all superbly accomplished. Your jacket looks better than the model in Burda. Congratulations! Cheers, Gaylene (Second Avenue) P.S. I'm really hoping to get to the PR weekend in Montreal. G.
2/7/10 5:08 PM
amy in mpls said...
Perfection! amazing! Gorgeous! Thanks for your thorough review, very well done!
2/7/10 5:12 PM
marjenann said...
Another incredible fashion piece. Total artistry!!!
2/7/10 5:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
Amazing job of matching plaid! What a clever idea to draw the plaid lines right on the pattern pieces for the welts. As always, your jacket is impeccably tailored (thanks for those details) and fits you perfectly.
2/7/10 5:17 PM
Birgitte said...
Superb! And- it looks fantastic on you! I bet you'll be wearing it a lot.
2/7/10 5:17 PM
Gecko said...
Beautiful!
2/7/10 5:23 PM
Maree P said...
Kay - your jacket is in a word, fabulous. I have been planning to make this jacket ... your review provides a mine of advice and hints ...thanks so much for taking the trouble to do it... it will really help this inexperienced tailor.
2/7/10 5:24 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Impressive! You are much more patient than me to have done this jacket in plaid. Wear it with pride it is fabulous/
2/7/10 5:26 PM
digs57 said...
It's truly gush-worthy! I'm dazzled! Living proof that good things are worth waiting for. I want to see it in action, btw, sunglasses at the ready.
2/7/10 5:35 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Gasp--your jacket takes my breath away. The color, the fit, the tailoring, the plaid, the overall gorgeousness. Love it!
2/7/10 5:45 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Every little detail is beautiful! Thank you for such a great review and detailed pictures. I enjoyed it very much and humbles me :) !!!
2/7/10 5:51 PM
nellc said...
Fabulous jacket! Your plaid matching is perfect. Thanks for including so many useful details in your review.
2/7/10 5:58 PM
Christas said...
This is an excellent review..... so many goodies to glean and try in my own sewing. I have been following the progress of your jacket on your blog. I love the end result..... so perfect. I also love the ORANGE plaid!
2/7/10 6:09 PM
Linda G said...
I have following your blog on this beautiful jacket. You did a perfect job. It is stunning.
2/7/10 6:11 PM
librarylady said...
Wow! In my next life maybe... It's beautiful. I'm in awe of your skills.
2/7/10 6:13 PM
jent said...
Thank you, thank you for making and reviewing this beautiful jacket! I have dreamed of sewing it - maybe I'll try it now that I have your review for assistance. Gorgeous!
2/7/10 6:15 PM
RLL said...
As digs57 said....gush-worthy. Yea, I'll agree with that! I'm gushing and gushing. Wow is that some fine looking jacket you have.
2/7/10 6:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Absolutely PERFECT, Kay. I so enjoy your reviews, which are just the MOST helpful every single step of the way. Thank you! The jacket is BEAUTIFUL, and what a plaid to have to match, too!
2/7/10 7:16 PM
kathigarn said...
Oh, I just love this. Orange happens to be my favorite color AND I adore plaid. You have managed to find an orange plaid and make a cute jacket. I have never before felt jealous of something another has made because I always figure I could make it also, but I must say I am jealous of this jacket!!
2/7/10 7:32 PM
KarmenG said...
Perfecto! Just gorgeous and you look so pretty in it. The colors really suit you. Thanks for all the tips....this review is an education!
2/7/10 8:06 PM
KarmenG said...
oops duplicate post
2/7/10 8:06 PM
Sandil said...
Fantastic as usual... you did a wonderful job!!! YOu should really consider offering courses... I'd love to take one from you. Sandra
2/7/10 8:08 PM
Nancy K said...
Fantastic! What a great jacket and it looks wonderful on you.
2/7/10 8:14 PM
Twinset said...
Wow, this is just BRILLIANT! I can only imagine how many hours it takes to achieve such precise and perfect results. Truly inspiring. Enjoy your amazing jacket!!!
2/7/10 8:23 PM
Laurasews said...
You are my new idol. Perfect match on the plaid. As always, another great project.
2/7/10 8:53 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous jacket and perfect plaid matching!
2/7/10 9:19 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Terrific review and amazing jacket. Thanks.
2/7/10 11:01 PM
DorothyK said...
Amazing!. What a fantastic jacket. You did a great job.
2/7/10 11:23 PM
MichelleE said...
You did an absolutely fabulous job on this! I just finished working on a plaid vest and I know the difficulty in getting everthing to match up. Wonderful jacket!
2/8/10 0:15 AM
cabinbaby said...
WOW! That jacket is fantastic! I can't believe your plaid matching abilities.
2/8/10 0:15 AM
Liana said...
Unbelievably fabulous! You look great, and very pleased, which you should be. Great job!!
2/8/10 0:26 AM
Barbara V said...
What a fabulous and wonderful jacket and very informative review. You look great in it! Super job!
2/8/10 0:32 AM
sugarduck said...
This jacket is AMAZING in every way!! All the work that went into matching plaid was completely worth it; the result looks so luxurious. As a beginner, this totally inspires me to keep chugging along on my "easy" garments, with the hope of one day completing a project like this!
2/8/10 4:05 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Stunning! I have been following the construction on your blog Kay, and learning so much along the way. Love the cut, the fabric and the superb execution... oh, and your clothing label;) Hope you enjoy wearing it for many years to come.
2/8/10 5:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
WOW! I love this jacket. Fantastic job with the plaids. It looks great on you!
2/8/10 5:33 AM
susiestitcher said...
I love your jacket. My favorite parts are the way the matching plaids really makes the jacket special and the way you handled the diagonal bound buttonholes. Amazing! It looks smashing on you! What great workmanship you have.
2/8/10 7:26 AM
Mary W said...
Fabulous jacket.
2/8/10 8:14 AM
MsMaryO said...
Thanks so much for the brilliant photos. I really appreciate the sleeve cap pics. Your jacket is magnificent. And you are one of those rare women that look fabulous in orange!
2/8/10 8:25 AM
Catbird said...
Kay, this is dazzling. And the review is like a complete sewing course! Your careful tailoring and obviously deep well of patience produced amazing results. I haven't read everything on the blog yet (but I will), but I wonder if you planned to have the wide darker band precisely at your waist, where it slims the silhouette even more (what am I saying, of course you did!) You look very beautiful in your spectacular jacket!
2/8/10 8:51 AM
Woolygal said...
Absolute perfection.
2/8/10 8:55 AM
kerrynw said...
WOW! Fantastic jacket. The pattern match is perfect and such a beautiful fit.
2/8/10 9:08 AM
Janie Viers said...
Awe and wonder! I worship at the press you steam at. WOW is understating how georgous it is.. fabric choice and sewing pressing! Love it.
2/8/10 9:44 AM
persevering said...
BRAVO! What a FABULOUS jacket and what an inspiring and informative review and blog! Thank you for sharing your impressive skills and giving us the pleasure of seeing your work in detail.
2/8/10 9:57 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Kay, I need more info! I have been struggling with this @#$% jacket since NOVEMBER, I have taken it apart and redone every piece of it at least 4 times and am just now finishing the horribly-drafted sleeves...or is it just me? HELP!!!
2/8/10 2:05 PM
Ach said...
OMG that is BEAUTIFUL!!! Standing ovation to you!!!!!
2/8/10 4:18 PM
Beek said...
Perfection!
2/8/10 5:34 PM
yummymummy38 said...
it looks amazing! I believe there is a matching little girl version of this in an 2009 issue...
2/10/10 6:11 AM
Mahler said...
This is the most amazing plaid jacket I have virtually seen (I cannot wait to see it in real) in my life. I read your blog, your review, comment on Facebook and still I am so much amazed. This is out of this world. You are my idol in sewing.
2/10/10 9:56 PM
LindsayT said...
Wow! This is too fabulous. Well done.
2/11/10 4:13 PM
stayfay said...
Very nice, Kay. I saw this jacket in person and the workmanship is excellent. Fay
3/12/10 9:04 AM
poppyq said...
You are so inspiring to me!
10/4/10 5:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6078 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/17/10
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2054
photo
Review by ssmills on 11/6/12
Read Review

New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us