SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8255 (Men's shirt)

Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/10 11:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
sweet!
2/9/10 11:43 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I posted on your blog. I love your shirt. This sheet thing is so much fun. I was always hesitant spending a lot to sew up pjs or a lounging around caftan but don't mind sacrificing an oddball sheet for the cause. Now those nice 70's printed sheets that show up in thrifts when grandmas linen closet gets donated are looking stylish once again.
2/9/10 12:54 PM
Twinset said...
Grrrrooooovy, baby! Love it with the white pants!
2/9/10 12:56 PM
puddypaws said...
Great review as usual but I wanna see you in those groovy pants next. LOL
2/9/10 1:33 PM
BettyMike said...
Peter, I love your shirt. I have been looking for a pattern very much like this for my husband. Thanks for you wonderful reviews!
2/9/10 1:38 PM
Aixoise said...
This shirt looks great on you. You're built for this style (to the envy of many) and the flower pattern is so 70's - love it. Great review - enjoyed shooting the sheet with you.
2/9/10 2:26 PM
busymomof3 said...
You sheet shirt is a perfect fit!
2/9/10 2:48 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice outfit..
2/9/10 2:57 PM
RLL said...
Well, my first thought at seeing the photo in the gallery was.....guess he is getting ready for spring, now if it would just get here. This is another fine looking shirt and yes, you are ready for spring, or at least a tropical vacation.
2/9/10 3:24 PM
colorkitten said...
Stellar! And just in time for the blizzard, too! I really do love the (ahem) side front sections. I hope you make this up in more version!
2/9/10 3:54 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely. Well done.
2/9/10 5:24 PM
moonchild61 said...
Great sheet...er...shirt!
2/9/10 7:13 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Those are PRINCE seams ....
2/9/10 8:59 PM
Kay Romo said...
I love all your puns!
2/9/10 9:04 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Kay, at first I read that as you love my buns! That would have been my preference but glad you enjoy the puns, too. Prince seams...I like that. Thanks for all the kind comments everybody!
2/9/10 9:52 PM
TracyB said...
Looks so good on you! Peter, the best sewing adventure writer there is, publishes another hit.
2/9/10 10:39 PM
Kayseri said...
Very fun shirt. The close fitting 70's style looks great on you. Maybe you should try the hip huggers too :)
2/10/10 4:15 AM
Woolygal said...
Peter, no doubt about it, you are fun to have on board.
2/10/10 7:48 AM
Sewliz said...
Total groovieness, love your shirt! I'm getting a flashback of a time of western wear influence and wonder if that's what inspired the prince seams in this pattern? Look at the pants in the pattern illustration, those "western pockets" I think they were called. And try the one piece collar and stand thing sometime, you might be pleasantly surprised if the draft is good.
2/10/10 8:46 AM
colorkitten said...
Ooh, I think sewliz has got it -- I was trying to image that as a two-tone shirt and I kept thinking it looked western for some reason! I wonder how PRINCE seams would look on a dress shirt?
2/10/10 10:39 AM
Nancy K said...
Cool shirt. Very groovy
2/10/10 11:23 AM
petro said...
Great choice of sheet!
2/10/10 1:41 PM
OP Gal said...
A groovy 70's shirt from a thrown away sheet. Who knew? Great job.
2/10/10 11:19 PM
nitty the kitty said...
I love the fabric. Being from Texas, I think you could put pearl snaps on it. I LOVE your blog too! I look forward to it everyday.
2/11/10 1:16 AM
LizzM26 said...
Definetely. you need to wear this at San Juan if you want to wear it now. You get me sonspired to start sewing my spring and summer wardrobe. You are amazing!
2/20/10 9:04 AM
coda said...
Looks fabulous! Love the idea of upcycling the sheet. Wish I had someone to sew it for.
3/22/10 1:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Simplicity 3673

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now