SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7876 (Wrap Top w/ Drape Collar)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1121 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/10 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
Nice choice of fabric for you. I'm no seamstress, and I only recently took up sewing because people tell me I'm so good at fitting.. laughs. The sewing part - well, we shall see. (laughs) Anyway, looking at that pattern on you my gut says try a larger size and fit from there. Have you ever made a sloper or tried one of these? It might be hugely informative for you. http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m2718-products-726.php?page_id=528
3/27/12 11:42 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for the review. It sounds like a poorly drafted pattern to me. I love the fabric though.
2/27/10 3:27 AM
masterseamstress said...
No one can assist you with your fitting problems you mention: "I would be very happy to have any ideas on what is going on with the fit here and what changes need to be made to the armscye/sleeve to get a comfortable fit", because you don't offer your body measurements. Perhaps you need to move up to a larger size in the bust area. Your back and shoulder area look much broader than mine, and I cut a 6 only in the bust area. Everywhere else in the upper body I cut a 8. I looked at your review also for V8597, and I'm confused that most of the reviews on here are positive for that pattern; your's seems to be the only one with so much distain. Also, when you say you are making them for pj's do you mean lounge wear.
2/23/10 12:30 PM
becca a said...
The color is stunning on you. Sorry you are disappointed with the fit.
2/10/10 7:34 PM
kerrynw said...
Sorry about the fit but the colour does suit you.
2/10/10 0:49 AM
Mufffet said...
Gorgeous fabric and the picture is really nice! But if it doesn't fit - that's a pain. As a short person myself, and one who was once proportioned rather as you are, these sorts of patterns just don't do it for me either. I do have broad shoulders though, but I find that sometimes a longer upper body is needed or a whole lot of alterations. Is there a Burda in much the same style? I bet that would fit better and be more flattering. Burdas are just so well drafted and you use them so much.
2/9/10 8:38 PM
Berniejh said...
I'm not sure the shape of the garment is right for your body shape. This shaped garment (cross over, low v neck) suits an inverted triangle - broad shoulders and slim hips, it makes your already slim shoulders look non-existant. The fabric is lovely but maybe you need to pass this one up for another style.
2/9/10 6:36 PM
Leu said...
Thanks for the review. Very helpful information. Sorry about the pjs.
2/9/10 5:24 PM
no7262 said...
I am sorry that you such trouble with the fit. I think that it is worth getting the right fit because it looks great on you! I'm going to have to add this to my list......Nora :)
2/9/10 5:21 PM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry it is so disappointing. The fabric is gorgeous.
2/9/10 5:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Patti's Dolls Tail Waggin Dragon

photo
by: LaurieEm

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info