Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2092 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 34 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/10/10 12:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
Your jeans fit you very nicely! And great topstitching too! Aren't Jalie jeans simply the best??
2/10/10 12:39 PM
sewingcybermom said...
your jeans came out just wonderful.. Where did you get your rivets? And, what type of thread did you use for top stitching. I have a Juki TL98Q and have never used heavy thread on it. Do I have to use the same weight bobbin? Lovely job, I can't wait to make mine!
2/10/10 12:44 PM
Deepika said...
littlejazzbird They totally are and your jeans are my favorite. When I looked at your photos it seemed they are much lower. Did you alter for that? sewingcybermom I will edit my review to include details on rivets and topstitching thread.
2/10/10 12:45 PM
Twinset said...
Deepika, no I didn't alter the rise; I just shaved 1/4'' from the waistband, as you did. I think they might appear lower than yours 'cause I'm wearing a wide belt on the pictures. I agree with you that Jalie jeans are more medium rise than really low rise, it's a good thing that you're mentioning it.
2/10/10 12:51 PM
Aixoise said...
Wow! Great fit, impeccable (amazing) topstitching, professional finishing touches. I like the added flare, too. My pattern arrived last week (thanks, PR!) and just moved up in the queue.
2/10/10 12:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. Just wow. If this was your first pair, I don't want to see what you come up with when you keep going! Thanks for all the detail shots. I really need to make these.
2/10/10 1:00 PM
salsera7 said...
Great Job Deepika, and they fit so well!
2/10/10 1:05 PM
no7262 said...
I am so glad that I have this pattern! Great job! Nora :)
2/10/10 1:09 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review with excellent photos!
2/10/10 1:24 PM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice! I just reviewed mine too and I found the same thing with the heavy topstitching thread in the bobbin. Just not as good as with the regular bobbin thread.
2/10/10 1:34 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your jeans look fantastic! I like the added flare. I know you're so proud of your excellent work on these!
2/10/10 2:11 PM
JTink said...
These jeans are great. I've never worked with at Jalie pattern. I just finished my 7th pair off the Connie Crawford pattern. I also like the denim with a little stretch. I'm wondering how on earth you would wear them any lower. They look great to me.
2/10/10 2:31 PM
Heatherrique said...
Those look even nicer than RTW jeans that cost in the hundreds and fit you very nicely! Congratulations on creating a FIERCE pair of jeans!
2/10/10 2:55 PM
RLL said...
Perfection!
2/10/10 3:27 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love reading the rev iews on these, I also bought the pattern but have not attempted yet! Looks GREAT!!!! and authentic!
2/10/10 3:35 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Look at you, you hottie! I know it's rude to say I told you so, but....
2/10/10 3:45 PM
JEF said...
Awesome looking jeans! My denim is on the cutting table right now .... :)
2/10/10 3:55 PM
Deepika said...
redhotpepper off to read your review. JTink I know these look just right don't they? They sort of hit me at a little uncomfortable spot on my belly so when I sit down it seems a little tight and I find myself pulling them down. So just half an inch lower will do the trick.RadarRadiance don't wait, just make them. I don't know why I waited so long. And Leslie my dear, I've said this before but I am appointing you my official pattern picker! Jennifer I can't wait to see yours.
2/10/10 4:01 PM
ButtonFaith said...
wow, those are the most amazing jeans...I canNOT believe you made them! Simply an incredible job and fantastic review!
2/10/10 4:33 PM
carolynw said...
Deepika I am absolutely certain that you could not find a better fit anywhere - even if you paid $$$$.
2/10/10 4:34 PM
SandraB said...
These look great on you Deepika. I can't wait to try making mine. Ready-Made jeans rarely fit me well, so I really enjoy the satisfaction of making my own which fit well.
2/10/10 4:40 PM
donna mel said...
i love them! great inspiration for the rest of us. could brian do a rivet 'how to' video?
2/10/10 5:22 PM
anstee said...
Such a great fit with excellent stitching.
2/10/10 5:47 PM
SewRusty said...
Great looking jeans, but more importantly, THANK YOU for the links to the video and the ebay seller! :-)
2/10/10 5:47 PM
Elona said...
Oh, Deepika, these are just stunning. Lauren and Hilfiger and all those guys should just eat their hearts out with envy!
2/10/10 5:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
They look great - well done. I've never made pants with such a precise fit.
2/10/10 6:21 PM
drsue said...
Very impressive! You look fabulous.
2/10/10 7:15 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Those are such fantastic jeans Deepika - see aren't you glad you made them?!?! :-)
2/10/10 8:14 PM
Deepika said...
Melissa I am soooo glad I made them. I've already bought fabrics for like 4 more pairs. I think I am officially insane.
2/10/10 8:24 PM
Markie1 said...
These jeans are spectacular! Your topstitching is PERFECT! And you look so good in them! I can't say enough good things! !!!!!! ;-)
2/10/10 10:02 PM
TGWGWS said...
Those jeans are so cute! Great job! One thing I don't like is the inside leg seam, I don't like to see the thread color on this seam.
2/10/10 10:49 PM
Karen8320 said...
Deepika, you are so inspirational! These jeans look fantastic and just make me want to get stuck into making some myself. Your review is fabulous and I can't believe how little time it took you to make them. I'm really, really impressed! Great stuff!
2/11/10 0:50 AM
yummymummy38 said...
You look absolutely fantastic in your jeans! I've always said I'd never make jeans, hell I haven't even wore them for 8 years, but if I could look like you I'll just have to order this pattern;)
2/11/10 8:35 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking jeans. Your fit is top notch!
2/11/10 8:41 AM
Catbird said...
Well, look at YOU in your sleek and chic new jeans! These are fantastic and this review is a treasure trove. Go ahead and put your emotions in next time. We can handle it! :-)) Great job!
2/11/10 9:32 AM
gilbertgs said...
Deepika, These are absolutely inspiring. I'm trying to finish up making my first pair from another pattern and working from several sets of instructions from other patterns, none of which are comprehensive or correct. I just got my Jalie in last week and SO wish I'd waited. All the information you gave is very valuable, but I do have one question...you mentioned that you used 10.5 oz stretch from Joanne's. What percent of lycra/stretch do they have? The pattern calls for 4% and the denim I have from Joanne's is the same you have, but it's only 2%. Doing jeans with 4% sounds VERY stretchy. Guidance? Thank you! :)
2/11/10 9:33 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the link for the zipper instruction. Like you, I found the Jalie application left too little coverage and the Sandra B. method left the zipper much too far off center. Maybe this will be the winner.
2/11/10 10:33 AM
Deepika said...
Catbird LOL! you'll be sorry you asked. I can be really wordy when it comes to emotions :) gilbertgs I am pretty sure my denim was 2% so I think it'll work out just fine. 4% seems a little too stretchy to me also, but I bought some fabric from FFC yesterday which is 3-4" so we'll see. Hope this helps.
2/11/10 10:40 AM
Annette Wright said...
They look terrific. I still need to place an order for rivets and buttons, and I tried to find your fabric at Joanns but they only had the 8oz, but I'm excited to try it. These are definitely fun and well fitting jeans.
2/11/10 12:25 PM
gilbertgs said...
Thanks, Deepika. Could you let us know how the stretchier fabric works out? You may get to those before I get to my next pair. :)
2/11/10 3:03 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Impressive! Woo hoo!
2/11/10 9:05 PM
Deepika said...
gilbertgs absolutely. I will update this review to include my other pairs.
2/12/10 9:06 AM
iluv2sew61 said...
I love those jeans! I have this pattern and I'm determined to make them this year.
2/15/10 4:31 PM
Warbler said...
Fanastic work! Very nice fit too! Curious as to what sewing machine you used for those tight denim felled seams? I think I am ordering the pattern just based on this review!
2/19/10 9:17 PM
sewcello said...
I just finished making two pairs of jeans. They can be time consuming. Because I am a size 22, getting the backside to look good is difficult. I ended up putting darts in the yoke before I put the waistband on. I let the back pocket cover up a lot of the dart. I used a sharp awl to punch the hole in the waistband to put the jeans button on from Dritz. It is difficult, but I like how it stays on. The pattern I used was PMBoutique from Wild Ginger. Question. What do you do with the yellow top thread when you want to bring it to the back of the garment? I've been threading it through a needle and then poking it through the back and tieing if off. But this can't be how rtw does it. They don't have the time. Thanks for listening. PLUS, your jeans look great. Especially nice fit through your backside. Susan, Buffalo, New York
2/23/10 8:43 AM
Pyrose said...
Wow, you look amazing in these! And the sewing is truly incredible. I'm still too intimidated to try sewing jeans, but if I do get up the nerve I may just have to try a Jalie pattern.
4/21/10 11:25 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, those are awesome jeans! I am going to try this pattern! I love the finished result!
6/3/11 10:58 AM
ceejayem said...
Wow. I haven't cranked up the courage to do any jeans yet, but you achieved and excellent fit - very persuasive. Thanks for an excellent review with many useful links for those who follow.
6/21/12 11:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Wild Ginger PMB3 Bib Overalls
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 5/19/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Annika
photo
Review by Char in KS on 2/20/12
Read Review

Burda 7557 Pattern
Burda 7557 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3961 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3961 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us