Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1097 (MISSES' COAT) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 820 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/10 8:31 PM
Last Updated:2/10/10 8:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Excellent review. The coat looks great.
2/10/10 8:51 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh...gorgeous! So glad to see this finally after hearing about it. It is truly wonderful in color, surface texture and style and my favorite part is the ruched collar/hood. Super job! - your kitty is cute.
2/10/10 10:53 PM
DorothyK said...
Spectacular. Although the fabric does detract from the lines of the pattern, it still works. I like the placket that goes the entire length of the coat. Looks great on you, too.
2/10/10 11:36 PM
ssssdeb said...
Actually I think the seam lines look really cool in your fabric. If you did match everything up you would not see the seam details at all - I think it worked out really well! Love it.
2/10/10 11:39 PM
lamstu said...
Great coat and love the fabric! I'm with ssssdeb that not matching the fabric motif works for this garment. My recent blouse has the same problem at CF (and it's got plenty of ease), so I was just reading about this in Roberta Carr's book (thanks Santa). She recommends swinging the CF line out from the straight grain - the longer/heavier the fabric, the more correction necessary. I'm pondering this idea...
2/11/10 0:22 AM
moushka said...
Gorgeous coat, Ann. Great pattern and you've done an outstanding job on it. The ruched hood is wonderful, very Ballets Russes 1910 exotic. Also very flattering.
2/11/10 0:50 AM
FreyaStark said...
Another fabulous and completely individual garment!
2/11/10 2:56 AM
marjenann said...
Another dazzler! I have this pattern, but unfortunately, not the fabulous fabric that you chose!!!
2/11/10 7:44 AM
jannw said...
Love your coat! and thank you for the fabric layout info..I;ve put off this coat because the fabric I intended to use was a half yard short..will try it now..
2/11/10 7:56 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous coat. Thanks so much for this review. I've been debating this pattern but I love seeing it in real life with better detail pics. Wonderful colors on you as well.
2/11/10 9:03 AM
Tere Sews said...
I sewed this pattern two times...in wool and in raincoat fabric. Thanks for the tip about tacking down the sleeve band. Now why didn't I think of that! My recommendation for others is to use a shorter zipper than recommended to give you sitting ease if you have a long commute. But if you walk any distance, the longer zipper provides protection against the wind. I didn't have any problem with the front band but have experienced this problem before when my interfacing shrunk during the application.
2/11/10 12:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
Tere Sews, perhaps the interfacing is the culprit. Thanks for that idea. As to the zipper, mine is 2 inches longer than called for but is a double opening one. That way I can open it from the bottom if necessary but have the longer coverage to keep closed.
2/11/10 4:51 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful coat and review. I always look forward to seeing your work.
2/11/10 10:24 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Great coat, great fabric.
2/12/10 7:39 PM
sfshaza said...
Really striking coat, Ann. Thanks so much for that thorough review -- I plan to make this coat at some point and it helps to be forewarned about some of those issues. It's beautiful on you!
2/13/10 3:07 AM
psikelly said...
Great review, insights & photos!
3/21/10 5:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 6113
photo
Review by Dawnabbey on 4/20/13
Read Review

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1100
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 5/19/12
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7069 Pattern
Burda 7069 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us