SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3594 (Bra)

7 more reviews
Viewed 959 times 
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo

 
 
About HatBuddystar
United States
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews: 30 (patterns: 27)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/10 11:17 PM
Last Updated:2/12/10 12:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmamma2 said... (5/21/10 6:26 PM) Reply
-I would love to give one a try, I am allergic to latex so finding a bra is tough. Thanks for all the good advice, I am encouraged to try one...
HatBuddy said... (2/17/10 10:16 PM) Reply
Karin and Loti Thanks so much for your encouragement. Gives me courage to tackle the Bra delima yet one more time!
loti said... (2/17/10 10:11 PM) Reply
I'm learning about bras as well, don't give up yet. I agree with Karen, powernet, and keep at it until you perfect the fit. They don't take a lot of fabric, and when you have one that fits it's great!
Karin Mantefors said... (2/13/10 12:43 PM) Reply
Powernet! powernet! powernet! IŽve found out that nothing supports like powernet, by layering the outer fabric with powernet youŽll get a better support and donŽt forget the band too, The band provides more support than you think! Keep going! once youŽll get the correct fit you can just start clooning them using different fabrics.
HatBuddy said... (2/11/10 9:00 PM) Reply

HatBuddy said... (2/11/10 8:59 PM) Reply
Oh..yeah and I will also take off the straps on this one and replace with wider elastic after I find what I need to order. :)
HatBuddy said... (2/11/10 8:58 PM) Reply
jannw and Ica Thanks so much for your help. I will make another using your advice!
lca said... (2/11/10 4:12 PM) Reply
Does the fabric have any stretch or give to it? If so, I cut my bottom cup in two layers, one with the stretch (give) going one way, and one going the other way. I have also put in a power bar in the lower cup which is basically powernet that is sewn to the bottom cup only and is shaped like a cresent moon. It is about 1 - 2 " wide under the breast and tapers to nothing at the middle seam that crosses the breast. Also, is your back band parallel to the floor? If the back band is correct, it will provide more support. I agree that it needs a wider strap too. Don't give up! It sounds like you have found a pattern that fits you. That is the hard part.
jannw said... (2/11/10 8:09 AM) Reply
It looks good. pretty fabric and nice contrast ...would a wider strap help with the support?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8191

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 60432-1027

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Towne Purse Paper Pattern

Towne Purse Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Pattern Details