Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Urban T-Shirt & Pants (Urban T-Shirt & Pants) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 567 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:magoe6217
photo
Friend of PR
About magoe6217star
MD USA
Member since: 1/25/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/10 3:45 PM
Last Updated:2/16/10 11:29 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri K said...
Wow, you have been productive in the snowstorm! Thank you so much for this great review and sharing three fabulous interpretations of this top that is so flattering on you. I've been fretting about the neckline so I appreciate the tips on the neckline and the one for adding the snap!
2/13/10 4:49 PM
marciae said...
Excellent review - good suggestions about the neckline - thanks. Your T's look great.
2/13/10 7:00 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Love all three of your shirts and the color blocked one is exceptional!
2/13/10 8:46 PM
Patti B said...
Love them all. Thanks for sharing your lovely tops. The neckband puzzles me a bit as it seems it would be a bit floppy.
2/13/10 9:09 PM
marthamyers said...
Great result - especially the one with the artsy stripe on the sleeve. Very creative. I think that the collar on this pattern is intended to stand away from the neck. Other SW patterns have kind-of funky necklines too. I believe it is part of her signature style. But I like the way you finished it too. Very clever.
2/13/10 9:26 PM
Mushywear said...
I really like your blue and white version. I just bought this pattern and feel more confident trying it out now.
2/14/10 0:49 AM
Fran G said...
Your tees are very cool! Creative and sophisticated!
2/14/10 7:28 AM
Karendee said...
These tops are quite an inspiration and I NOW will certainly purchase this pattern.
2/14/10 4:12 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Mary: all three tops are great, and I do like the color blocking on the sleeve better than the plain blue sleeve (which, I'm sure you'll remember was my initial suggestion). This pattern is definitely on my list for a spring top: hope mine comes out half as good as yours!
2/14/10 7:24 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I prefer the blue stripe on the sleeve. Love the brown and black stripe but they are all great.
2/26/10 5:43 PM
mmemagpie said...
Mary, Great to hear from you! It's a coincidence I'm sure, but I have just bought this pattern and cut out the top in a black and natural striped knit. I hope it looks half as good as your black-and-brown version--the scale of the stripes is about the same. Did you simply cut everything out on straight grain or did you vary the grain on the pocket? I like Connie's suggestion of cutting the neckband short. Thanks again. Susan Bliss
3/21/10 10:01 PM
DorothyK said...
I don't know how I missed this review. I love your experiments with color blocking. All versions are terrific, including the striped ones. You will enjoy this pattern many times over.
3/23/10 5:43 PM
magoe6217 said...
HI Susan, So nice to hear from you. I cut all the pieces out on straight of grain including the pocket piece following the straight of grain line marked on the pattern. This brings the top of the pocket out on the cross grain which I think is more interesting than just matching the stripes all the way across. If you try the shortened neckband method let me know if you like it. When you finish your top I hope you will post it. Would love to see it. I'm sure it will be terrific. Mary
3/24/10 8:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 4565 Vintage Dress
photo
Review by Sickofitci... on 11/2/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7969
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 1/24/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us