SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Urban T-Shirt & Pants (Urban T-Shirt & Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 576 times 
Reviewed by:magoe6217
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About magoe6217star
MD USA
Member since: 1/25/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/10 3:45 PM
Last Updated:2/16/10 11:29 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
magoe6217 said...
HI Susan, So nice to hear from you. I cut all the pieces out on straight of grain including the pocket piece following the straight of grain line marked on the pattern. This brings the top of the pocket out on the cross grain which I think is more interesting than just matching the stripes all the way across. If you try the shortened neckband method let me know if you like it. When you finish your top I hope you will post it. Would love to see it. I'm sure it will be terrific. Mary
3/24/10 8:47 AM
DorothyK said...
I don't know how I missed this review. I love your experiments with color blocking. All versions are terrific, including the striped ones. You will enjoy this pattern many times over.
3/23/10 5:43 PM
mmemagpie said...
Mary, Great to hear from you! It's a coincidence I'm sure, but I have just bought this pattern and cut out the top in a black and natural striped knit. I hope it looks half as good as your black-and-brown version--the scale of the stripes is about the same. Did you simply cut everything out on straight grain or did you vary the grain on the pocket? I like Connie's suggestion of cutting the neckband short. Thanks again. Susan Bliss
3/21/10 10:01 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I prefer the blue stripe on the sleeve. Love the brown and black stripe but they are all great.
2/26/10 5:43 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Mary: all three tops are great, and I do like the color blocking on the sleeve better than the plain blue sleeve (which, I'm sure you'll remember was my initial suggestion). This pattern is definitely on my list for a spring top: hope mine comes out half as good as yours!
2/14/10 7:24 PM
Karendee said...
These tops are quite an inspiration and I NOW will certainly purchase this pattern.
2/14/10 4:12 PM
Fran G said...
Your tees are very cool! Creative and sophisticated!
2/14/10 7:28 AM
Mushywear said...
I really like your blue and white version. I just bought this pattern and feel more confident trying it out now.
2/14/10 0:49 AM
marthamyers said...
Great result - especially the one with the artsy stripe on the sleeve. Very creative. I think that the collar on this pattern is intended to stand away from the neck. Other SW patterns have kind-of funky necklines too. I believe it is part of her signature style. But I like the way you finished it too. Very clever.
2/13/10 9:26 PM
Patti B said...
Love them all. Thanks for sharing your lovely tops. The neckband puzzles me a bit as it seems it would be a bit floppy.
2/13/10 9:09 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Love all three of your shirts and the color blocked one is exceptional!
2/13/10 8:46 PM
marciae said...
Excellent review - good suggestions about the neckline - thanks. Your T's look great.
2/13/10 7:00 PM
Terri K said...
Wow, you have been productive in the snowstorm! Thank you so much for this great review and sharing three fabulous interpretations of this top that is so flattering on you. I've been fretting about the neckline so I appreciate the tips on the neckline and the one for adding the snap!
2/13/10 4:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1087

photo
by: Kim12469

Review
Vogue Patterns 2064

photo
by: Ellenatlga

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

More Info
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

More Info