Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2010-122 (Striped Knit Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 549 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:m1khaela
photo
Friend of PR
About m1khaelastarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/19/05
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/10 5:58 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
portercs said...
Great job!
2/22/10 6:38 PM
no7262 said...
Looks great! Nora :)
2/22/10 6:41 PM
Emi1yKate said...
You look lovely!
2/22/10 7:44 PM
Wino said...
Look how cute you look! Fantastic job.
2/22/10 7:49 PM
clgangi said...
Nice shirt! You look FANTASTIC! Congrats! :)
2/22/10 8:10 PM
Ericaeli said...
This looks fabulous on you; the fit is perfect! I wish I looked so good when I was pregnant. I loved reading your review especially how you were able to get the pattern to fit so well.
2/22/10 9:33 PM
kidmd said...
Beautiful and fabulous work!
2/22/10 9:35 PM
colorkitten said...
came out great! you solved that neckline beautifully.
2/22/10 9:38 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for another great & detailed review. I found an easier way to do the twin needle. I fuse Design plus double sided ultra soft fusible web to the underside where I want to stitch, then remove backing and turn over hem and fuse. It stabilizes knits enough for double needle hem and bastes in a quick step. I love sewing knits and I use this on every knit hem. I found it at: http://webstore.quiltropolis.net/stores_app/Browse_Item_Details.asp?Shopper_id=62452222152426245&Store_id=584&page_id=23&Item_ID=1038 Keep up the great reviews! I really enjoy them a learn a lot.
2/22/10 9:57 PM
Mermie said...
Excellent review and your top is so cute and looks great on you.
2/22/10 11:00 PM
chicaem29 said...
Your top turned out great - congrats! I'm also a huge fan of that picture behind you of you and (I assume) your husband!
2/22/10 11:36 PM
kerrynw said...
Great achievement, lovely top, well done!
2/23/10 6:19 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I LOVE this top! Great info in your review. The twin stitching looks great, too.
2/23/10 7:32 AM
m1khaela said...
Thanks everyone! Yes, that painting is of me and my husband, it was a wedding gift from a cartoonist friend (we are both cartoonists as well).
2/23/10 7:36 AM
Paris75008 said...
Thanks for the helpful review, and especially your neckline woes and how you solved them. Great tip. Your top came out gorgeous.
2/23/10 1:20 PM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful top! great style and perfect fit. way to go!
2/24/10 1:42 PM
michalklimer said...
I love this top! It looks great on you!
2/25/10 9:25 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Cuuuute! You know, I traced this pattern too, but I was also worried about the wide neckline and exposed bra straps. Maybe it'll be a good style for nursing, too? (easy to pull the neckline down?)
3/2/10 0:05 AM
m1khaela said...
It MIGHT be a good style for nursing in the original--I don't know how easy the neckline on my altered version would pull down!
3/2/10 7:39 AM
Claire Dolman said...
I had the same problem with the enormous gaping neckline. I tried to fix it by running narrow round elastic through the binding, which fixed the neck whilst allowing for off-the-shoulder-sauciness if I was in the mood for it, but now the front of the top pulls upwards and makes little drapes at the centre-front. I'm on the verge of throwing it on the floor in a temper, but my jersey is printed with cute little apples which is stopping me. I was pretty disappointed with this pattern, which is a rare thing with Burda.
3/17/10 6:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/26/12
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by Cosmotis on 10/14/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us