Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cynthia Guffey Patterns: 2010 (princess seamed top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 711 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 32 people   
Reviewed by:Lee Ann Hawkins
photo
Friend of PR
About Lee Ann Hawkinsstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/11/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/10 9:11 PM
Last Updated:2/15/10 3:25 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patma said...
A perfect fit!
2/14/10 9:26 PM
Kathy in NM said...
A very nice fit and the colors look great on you! I like the professional look of these tops. I might take a look at this pattern. Thanks for a great review! Love your husbands photo too, how cute!
2/14/10 9:33 PM
sew2006 said...
Thank you for a wonderfully detailed review. All your tops look and fit great.
2/14/10 9:44 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Beautifully fit blouse!
2/14/10 10:31 PM
LaurieEm said...
Thank you for this new review. It is encouraging and inspiring me to pull out one of Cynthia's patterns and get to work. Cynthia's presentations are just about life-changing. Lee Ann, you have earned a promotion to Advanced.
2/14/10 11:18 PM
jilly cooper said...
these look beautiful with the lining, so professional.
2/15/10 6:39 AM
JEF said...
Very beautiful and very helpful reviews. I'm curious - have you ever tried doing one of these in a down-and-dirty way without all the handwork? I'm wondering just how much the handwork adds to the finished look (which is wonderful).
2/15/10 8:00 AM
portercs said...
Very beautiful job! I appreciate all the couture work involved and hope that my own sewing skills will advance to that some day.
2/15/10 8:12 AM
Rebecca D said...
This is exactly the sort of sewing that I aspire to - I am so impressed. Your tops are perfect jewels. I wish Cynthia had her 2010 schedule up on her site. I so want to study with her.
2/15/10 8:39 AM
Red Curtain said...
Your writeup really shows a great appreciation for Cynthia's patterns, methods and your own philosophy in slow delightful sewing too. Great writeup and wonderful blouses.
2/15/10 9:37 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Lee Ann, these tops are beautiful and elegant! Thanks so much for sharing them like this!
2/15/10 9:54 AM
Woolygal said...
Im so excited. I plan on taking a few fitting classes with Cynthia at the Worchester Ma. expo in April. Thanks for the review.
2/15/10 9:56 AM
Patti B said...
What lovely blouses and your work is just as lovely.
2/15/10 10:31 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thanks everyone! In reply to JEF--yes, I have thought about that--just 'down and dirty'. The problem I encounter is threefold: you will have princess seams that would need to have all the raw edges finished somehow or the inside would be a mess 2) you would have to use facings, or use a bias binding on the neckline and armscye (without the piping)-- which would likely take me just as long 3) the center back seam is shaped--kind of an "S" curve. It is actually faster for me to insert a hand-picked zipper than fight with machine inserting a regular or invisible zipper on a long curved back seam. I have wondered about trying this with a heavy stable knit--wouldn't have to finish the seams inside, and could likely bind the neck and armhole without too much trouble. You could use contrast binding. May try this, JEF!
2/15/10 11:28 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Great review and you look wonderful in the top! You may have convinced me to buy the pattern.
2/15/10 11:46 AM
lorenakitty said...
Fabulous tops and fabulous sewing skills too, your fitting is fantastic. Thank you for introducing this line to me through a great review, I've already bookmarked 2 patterns and am really looking forward to learning some new techniques. Bravo!
2/15/10 12:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wonderful job on these lovely blouses. Excellent review. Love the pic of your hubby!
2/15/10 2:29 PM
marthamyers said...
Your work is great! I'll bet even CG would agree. I have this pattern and simply must use it now. Thanks for the review.
2/15/10 4:24 PM
threadbearer said...
DH is a wonderful addition to the whole wonderful presentation. Keep him!
2/15/10 5:27 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have the earlier version of this top. I enjoyed viewing all of your versions and really like the shoulder princess style.
2/15/10 7:53 PM
Jane S said...
Beautiful tops and wonderful review. I agree about Cynthia. Years ago I was intimidated by what I saw as her perfectionism but as my sewing and fitting skills improved I saw the wisdom of her approach. You are making custom clothing, after all. The colors are wonderful on you and the linings make me smile
2/15/10 9:05 PM
sideseams said...
This was a wonderful review. I have really gotten a lot of tips from it. Your tops are just perfect in every way.
2/16/10 1:02 PM
catwoman7 said...
Ooh! I love the colors you chose. The teal outfit also looks smashing, even without accessories. Wonderfully inspiring!
3/13/10 12:13 PM
danalou said...
i just attended a full day class with cynthia yesterday and am overjoyed with new knowledge. your review was incredibly helpful to me. I just bought the pattern and am anxious to make a muslin.
7/24/11 6:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by RachelEsq on 2/16/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pink Chalk Studio No.104 Mail Sack
photo
Review by Annelisa on 7/9/08
Read Review

Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top
Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us