Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6681 (Mens jumpsuit (adapted)) - Type:Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 226 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/10 6:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
colorkitten said...
When I saw the thumbnail I thought you'd made her a jumpsuit! It makes a fantastic jacket, I wouldn't have thought of that conversion. great job!
2/18/10 7:00 PM
no7262 said...
She is cute! I am sure that she loves it! Nora :)
2/18/10 7:07 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your mom should be very proud of you. The jacket looks great!
2/18/10 7:12 PM
newmama said...
Your mother is adorable! And that's such a great idea, to make a coat from that pattern :)
2/18/10 7:48 PM
jilly cooper said...
very creative!!!
2/18/10 8:39 PM
Christas said...
How creative! I can't believe how much you changed this pattern. Your mom looks so cute in her jacket!
2/18/10 8:46 PM
Sigrid. said...
Very creative use of the pattern, well done. I'm sure your mum does appreciate your work, though she might not say it loud.
2/19/10 3:20 AM
donna mel said...
those moms...hard to please, huh. your jacket, on her, is great. its a perfect fit, not to mention cozy and warm.
2/19/10 8:37 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
I bet she went home and told her friends all about it and gushed to THEM. My 72 yr old Mother-in-Law is the same way. She won't gush to your face but she'll tell everyone ELSE how much she loves it! The jacket turned out great, btw!
2/19/10 9:18 AM
OP Gal said...
Your adaptation of this pattern for your mother is amazing. Kudos for your creativity.
2/19/10 9:46 AM
Kay Y said...
Your observations about the low neckline and how flattering it is are right on. Good on you to see the potential for a conservative woman's jacket in this pattern.
2/19/10 10:11 AM
Nurse Jane said...
Peter- I always look for your reviews first because they always bring an early morning smile to my face if not outright laughter--- you set me up for the day! But today I have to ask, is your mother related to mine? Li'l miss muffett is right on, that's exactly what they do. My best to you. Jane
2/19/10 11:00 AM
RLL said...
Nice adaption of the pattern. Looks great on Mom. As someone who does not gush myself....she does really appreciate it and will brag about it behind your back.
2/19/10 2:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's ingenious to have seen such possibilities in a pattern with very origins but you've done a great job of adapting it. It looks great on her, and I think she'll wear it a lot.
2/19/10 5:38 PM
bananaoil said...
That you could look at that pattern envelope___ and stop laughing long enough to sew____ I am impressed.
2/19/10 9:42 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the comments, everyone, and the support!
2/20/10 1:46 AM
Kemish said...
Great review. I always loved sewing for my Mom (who didn't know to sew). She wore everything I made for her (not all at the same time) and she did 'gush' to all her friends that I had made it. After she passed away, I found in her closet every single piece of clothing I ever made for her. Nothing makes sewing so wonderful as when you can share it with family and friends and who better than Mom. Keep up the great sewing and your blog, too. Always looking forward to reading about your next project.
2/20/10 6:07 PM
TracyB said...
How creative you are, carrying adaptations to the most wondrous lengths. Also, now we can see where you got your big smile!
2/26/10 11:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2977
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/21/10
Read Review

Burda 9438 Pattern
Burda 9438 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Contest MY Pattern 2008
photo
Review by Luckylibbe... on 8/1/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us