SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6681 (Mens jumpsuit (adapted))

1 more reviews
Viewed 228 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/10 6:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
colorkitten said...
When I saw the thumbnail I thought you'd made her a jumpsuit! It makes a fantastic jacket, I wouldn't have thought of that conversion. great job!
2/18/10 7:00 PM
no7262 said...
She is cute! I am sure that she loves it! Nora :)
2/18/10 7:07 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your mom should be very proud of you. The jacket looks great!
2/18/10 7:12 PM
newmama said...
Your mother is adorable! And that's such a great idea, to make a coat from that pattern :)
2/18/10 7:48 PM
jilly cooper said...
very creative!!!
2/18/10 8:39 PM
Christas said...
How creative! I can't believe how much you changed this pattern. Your mom looks so cute in her jacket!
2/18/10 8:46 PM
Sigrid. said...
Very creative use of the pattern, well done. I'm sure your mum does appreciate your work, though she might not say it loud.
2/19/10 3:20 AM
donna mel said...
those moms...hard to please, huh. your jacket, on her, is great. its a perfect fit, not to mention cozy and warm.
2/19/10 8:37 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
I bet she went home and told her friends all about it and gushed to THEM. My 72 yr old Mother-in-Law is the same way. She won't gush to your face but she'll tell everyone ELSE how much she loves it! The jacket turned out great, btw!
2/19/10 9:18 AM
OP Gal said...
Your adaptation of this pattern for your mother is amazing. Kudos for your creativity.
2/19/10 9:46 AM
Kay Y said...
Your observations about the low neckline and how flattering it is are right on. Good on you to see the potential for a conservative woman's jacket in this pattern.
2/19/10 10:11 AM
Nurse Jane said...
Peter- I always look for your reviews first because they always bring an early morning smile to my face if not outright laughter--- you set me up for the day! But today I have to ask, is your mother related to mine? Li'l miss muffett is right on, that's exactly what they do. My best to you. Jane
2/19/10 11:00 AM
RLL said...
Nice adaption of the pattern. Looks great on Mom. As someone who does not gush myself....she does really appreciate it and will brag about it behind your back.
2/19/10 2:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's ingenious to have seen such possibilities in a pattern with very origins but you've done a great job of adapting it. It looks great on her, and I think she'll wear it a lot.
2/19/10 5:38 PM
bananaoil said...
That you could look at that pattern envelope___ and stop laughing long enough to sew____ I am impressed.
2/19/10 9:42 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the comments, everyone, and the support!
2/20/10 1:46 AM
Kemish said...
Great review. I always loved sewing for my Mom (who didn't know to sew). She wore everything I made for her (not all at the same time) and she did 'gush' to all her friends that I had made it. After she passed away, I found in her closet every single piece of clothing I ever made for her. Nothing makes sewing so wonderful as when you can share it with family and friends and who better than Mom. Keep up the great sewing and your blog, too. Always looking forward to reading about your next project.
2/20/10 6:07 PM
TracyB said...
How creative you are, carrying adaptations to the most wondrous lengths. Also, now we can see where you got your big smile!
2/26/10 11:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-122

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: SewWil

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now