SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 1002 (Medical Cat Turtleneck)

Viewed 273 times 
Reviewed by:m1khaela
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About m1khaelastarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/19/05
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/10 12:45 PM
Last Updated:2/22/10 12:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
halleyscomet said...
Oh my...I can't imagine trying to get that on a cat! What a hoot!
2/22/10 12:52 PM
jannw said...
such a sweet kitty...a good idea for the medical reasons..
2/22/10 1:06 PM
JillyBe said...
wwwwww...... Glad he's better - may he stay that way! What a good catmom you are :)
2/22/10 1:52 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
:(
2/22/10 2:46 PM
Rhoda K said...
A great idea, but so glad kitty is better! I imagine he is, too.
2/22/10 4:07 PM
stretch queen said...
Wonderful use of sewing skills. Glad to hear kitty is on the mend!!
2/22/10 6:58 PM
lynne1nor said...
That is so amazing! Your poor kitty! But what a great thing it is to be able to sew up a "medical T-shirt" for your cat when such a thing is needed. Nice job!
2/22/10 7:05 PM
Emi1yKate said...
Oh, he does look so very cute in his tee, even though I am with you, I don't think cats belong in clothes for fashion reasons! Glad kitty is better now :o)
2/22/10 7:52 PM
sew2006 said...
Your poor kitty! About 4 years ago I took my mostly outdoor cat to the vet to get fixed. They didn't tell me beforehand that I would need to keep the cat indoors for 10 days so it wouldn't rip open the stitches. They put one of those plastic collars on her and she screemed by the back door for a couple hours and then pulled it off anyway. I took an old worksock, cut off the closed part, cut our 4 small holes for paws and dressed up the cat. She went through 3 sock sweaters but it kept her safe.
2/22/10 9:09 PM
pammieh said...
MY dog had the same condition and the vet diagnosed him with a staff infection - you are so clever:)
2/22/10 11:15 PM
chicaem29 said...
Oh my gosh, too funny! Seeing a kitty in a turtleneck of course, not that he was sick and needed it! I'm glad he's better. My cat is all orange (and a LOT bigger - 17 pounds!) but their faces are really really similar. I can only imagine how he'd look at me if I put a turtleneck on him.
2/22/10 11:49 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Good for you improvising and making this for your kitty. My daughter is fixing to graduate from vet school and I am going to show her this for reference sake. It's great that your kitty is on the mend.
2/23/10 7:22 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I'll have to keep this invention in mind...I have four cats. I know what you mean about clothes for a cat ;-) Good job! Glad Riley is better.
2/23/10 7:37 AM
voet said...
My female cat, Bertie, had a wound on her back a number of years ago and I had to do the same thing. I used a white sock with a red band around the top. I cut of the foot part and cut two holes for her front legs. It did the trick until she was healed. She did not like it much either, but after a couple of days she got used to it. She weighs about 6.5 pounds so the sock worked well. A sock might be too tight for a bigger cat though.
2/24/10 12:54 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
"...Riley looked ready to play jazz flute..." Wah! Hilarious! Ingenious and stylish solution you've worked up there.
2/24/10 9:54 PM
skrinkels said...
You just saved my life..I have been looking all over the internet for something like this..like your cat mine has scraped his neck up too it wasnt bad at first but now its awful and I must do something to keep him from scratching..im about to make it now thanks so much for posting this♥
4/14/14 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2263

photo
by: mollymolly

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-101

photo
by: Kemish

Review
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now