Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2804 (Empire crossover top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 694 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/29/10 11:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Your top turned out splendidly and looks very flattering with a nice fit. What are you saying? "the horrors"??? I think you need to change your mirror.....you look great in it! Lovely color too.
3/30/10 0:39 AM
DorothyK said...
The top looks great on you. You addressed the issues well. If I decide to make this pattern, your review will be very helpful.
3/30/10 1:04 AM
susiestitcher said...
You look beautiful in your top. I totally understand your idea about ruching in the back. But I do not see any horror back there, you silly girl! Thanks for the tip on the modesty panel. If I make this top, I am sure I would want one, too, so your information is very helpful. Great color and nice fit, too!
3/30/10 6:41 AM
becca a said...
Your shirt is very flattering! Given the pulls that RTW tee shirts have, I wouldn't have been bothered by the pulls from the modesty panel because I expect them in a tee. I haven't yet made this shirt, but that may be why others haven't complained. I like your idea of ruching all the way around, but your back picture looks great--no horrors there. Fantastic color for you.
3/30/10 7:51 AM
Oziroo said...
Your top looks great and you have overcome those issues successfully. Yes, I also was disappointed by the "pull" at the sleeve seam when I made this: also, I found the V neck rather narrow on me. As yet I haven't fixed it. It's on the UFO pile!
3/30/10 8:06 AM
marjenann said...
Woiw, I think you look amazing in your newest creation! Thanks for the informative review!!!
3/30/10 8:08 AM
starryfish said...
A lovely top, in a beautiful flattering colour!
3/30/10 8:52 AM
Annette1 said...
:o)) I'm sitting here laughing at "the horror of the fluff," of which I see NONE on you, but I would definitely need ruching FRONT AND BACK. I LOVE this top on you. :o)
3/30/10 8:56 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Ann, I love your work and you are pretty as ever!
3/30/10 9:40 AM
marec said...
I had to smile at your review because I previewed all the pics before reading and didn't notice any fluffy bits. You look great in that color (it's one I love and cannot wear) and the tee is so flaatering.
3/30/10 12:53 PM
jso4fun said...
Body fluff! I love it! (Not the fluff, but the new term for those surprising bunches and bundles of skin and flab that show up out of nowhere, when I'm least expecting them!) What a hoot you are! Anyway, as usual, a great top, and really helpful review. And it's so great to have a review from you again. It seems like it's been a little while, and I've missed your reviews. I have never met you, but I follow your reviews; you are one of my main inspirations on PR! You sew great clothes, from a lot of the patterns I am thinking of using, and your reviews help me see what they will look like, and help me decide whether to sew them or not. So thanks for another great review.
3/31/10 11:17 PM
jso4fun said...
P.S. And you always look really really good in what you sew. (Forgot to add that in my prior fan letter.)
4/1/10 11:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Great top!
4/6/10 7:01 PM
Diane E said...
Your top is beautiful! And exactly what "horrors" are you talking about? I'm planning to make this top today and I'm hoping mine looks as pretty as yours. And great color, by the way.
4/24/10 1:15 PM
Oh That Paula said...
Your review is informative and funny! You look lovely in your top!
7/12/10 8:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5472
photo
Review by jannw on 4/21/10
Read Review

McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9499
photo
Review by AnneM on 6/21/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us