SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 8108 (One Hour Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 295 times 
Reviewed by:novicesewist
photo

 
 
About novicesewiststar
CA USA
Member since: 2/11/08
Reviews: 20 (patterns: 20)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/10 8:10 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Swim Style Patterns


Swimwear Gymwear Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
judysilman said... (3/15/16 1:22 AM) Reply
Polyester is slippery and hard to sew for a novice, not to mention hot in the summer and cold in the winter. You might have had better luck with cotton. I will have to change the neckline for modesty then add different longer sleeves or draw the line out from the short sleeve given in the pattern.
judysilman said... (3/15/16 1:21 AM) Reply
Polyester is slippery and hard to sew for a novice, not to mention hot in the summer and cold in the winter. You might have had better luck with cotton. I will have to change the neckline for modesty then add different longer sleeves or draw the line out from the short sleeve given in the pattern.
jannw said... (2/25/10 7:40 AM) Reply
looks nice and summery..congrats on the finishing
TalyQ said... (2/25/10 1:51 AM) Reply
Too bad it fits bad, but these kinds of dresses only fit on very stick-like figures in my opinion. Still, you will make someone happy.
Nancywin said... (2/24/10 10:24 PM) Reply
Pretty fabric. I made this dress about a hundred years ago! Well, at least it seems that long ago. The first time I made it it looked horrible. I used a cotton fabric. The next time I used a silk crepe with a lot of drape and it looked much better. I think this dress really only works with very drapey fabric. I think it would look good with a knit - forget the facings and just turn under the edges. I don't think the facings do this dress any favors. Glad you finished it!
tutti frutti said... (2/24/10 9:24 PM) Reply
I think it looks pretty!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Eagle's View PM/54

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details