Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Neue Mode: 23072 (Misses' tops) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2730 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/04 8:51 PM
Last Updated:10/22/04 10:52 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Very, very nice. It's great to have a pattern like this which you can count on.
3/19/04 9:23 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Darling results! The alterations were worth it.
3/19/04 9:29 PM
SewTabby said...
That looks great on you! Love it!
3/19/04 9:41 PM
Liana said...
Very cute! It is so nice to have a reliable pattern for a basic garment.
3/19/04 10:00 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty top which is very becoming on you, Deepika. I've never tried Neue Mode simply out of laziness; don't want to add the seam allowances. Your review, however, makes me want to try them.
3/19/04 10:04 PM
Karla Kizer said...
That shirt is great, Deepika - the fit, the style, and of course, the exquisitely tasteful fabric ;-) My share of it is still "maturing" in the stash, but I can see a shirt like yours in DD's future. I love it!
3/19/04 10:38 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very pretty! I really like the split sleeves. This fits you beautifully!
3/19/04 11:02 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So pretty on you, Deepika! I love the sleeves and hate to hear you're cutting them shorter. The fabric sounds intriguing. Would you post of close up photo of it?
3/19/04 11:54 PM
sewywabbit said...
This looks great on you! I have seen a similar fabric in a fabric store here that looks like it has pieces of denim randomly attached to a background of navy floral. it is very intriguing. The fabric is soft, like a buttermilk knit. Maybe I will pick some up if they ever mark it down. This is a great top for year round.
3/20/04 1:00 AM
Tini said...
coool, you're really an inspiration
3/20/04 3:14 AM
Annette H said...
Terrific top! I really must try sewing knits - this is much better than RTW.
3/20/04 6:46 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Deepika, your top is beautiful! I really love that fabric. When I lettuced my sleeves I lettuced them first and then turned back the vent facing. That made it easier to get a neat finish there.
3/20/04 7:00 AM
Ann C said...
Pretty shirt - love the pattern, glad it fits you so well.
3/20/04 7:23 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great shirt. As always, you have made a lovely piece of clothing. I really like the long sleeves.
3/20/04 8:06 AM
Deepika said...
jlg I used to think like that too. But it's really no extra work at all. Plus the fact that they fit me so well makes me do it. I think you should try these patterns. Leslie I was actually thinking of posting a close up photo yesterday. I'll do it today. Annette I highly encourage you to try knits, but the bad thing with that is, you may never go back to wovens :) They are so easy and quick. Gigi thanks for the tip on lettucing the sleeves. Everyone, thanks a lot for such nice comments. I am making the skirt today :) And since so many of you like the long sleeves, I've decided not to cut them off. Thank you!
3/20/04 8:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love it! Looks really nice on you and love the fabric. Love the sleeves. Don't cut them off!!!! Everyone has 3/4 sleeves not these, they look great! I am adding this pattern to my wish list. I have yet to made a NM pattern but your review convinces me to give it a try.
3/20/04 2:32 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
The fit looks PERFECT! I'll have to pull this one out of my stash and try it soon.
3/20/04 8:37 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Deepika this black and white looks fabulous on you! Great job!
3/21/04 8:02 PM
hnjmom said...
Deepika, I saw the t-shirt on your skirt review. Too cute! And yes, it fits perfectly. It has a lovely shape. What a great idea!
3/29/04 8:09 PM
SouthernStitch said...
The newly constructed t shirt really shows your curves! Now instead of a boxy t shirt you have a shapely one! Very nice.
3/29/04 8:12 PM
drsue said...
How clever of you! It never occured to me to remake souvenier tee's. It came out really nicely.
3/29/04 11:22 PM
AuntieShel said...
Deepika, I've often thought of buying ready-to-wear for the fabric. They seem to have access to better fabric than you can find in fabric stores, especially knits. Though, since being a member of PR, I've been learning about lots of great fabric web sites with beautiful fabric.
3/30/04 12:41 PM
msbillie said...
Looks super on you! Thanks for the review.
4/10/04 2:12 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Deepika, I love the top, the sleeves are fluttery and feminine! A question, do NM patterns have petite adjustments?
10/22/04 11:05 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Oh I'm so glad you posted this again! I have a pile of large square shapeless T-shirts & remembered how you redid your Las Vegas T. You've inspired me to use a well-fitting T-shirt pattern to salvage these Ts!
10/22/04 11:16 AM
PegL said...
Very pretty shirt! Love the idea of remaking souvenier t-shirts too!
10/22/04 11:32 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Very nice.
10/22/04 1:24 PM
JoleneF said...
Looks great!
10/23/04 7:29 AM
Hilary said...
What a pretty top! The lowered neckline is a definate improvement, and very flattering. I love the sleeves! Not very practical for a SAHM but maybe in a shorter length I could get away with it :o) Thanks for the review!
10/23/04 8:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8495
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 3/24/11
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's m5583
photo
Review by Ms Dish on 3/13/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1715 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8935 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8935 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us