SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2929 (Bellville Sassoon Gown)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1525 times 
Reviewed by:noodlesew
photo

 
 
About noodlesewstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/18/10
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/29/10 3:17 AM
Last Updated:3/29/10 6:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Evilmissf said...
after reading this review i now know im not going mad, there's a few places where the dots are misplaced especially on the skirt lining, I've spent hours on this dress only to find the skirt lining doesn't line up properly, after reading this review, now I know why. If anyone else asks me to do a vogue pattern I think I'm gonna have to refuse next time lol x thanks for putting me right x Your dress looks absolutely fabulous, hope mine looks as good as yours x
6/20/12 6:34 PM
AlaskaJean said...
Wow! and thanks for all the specific comments! I am currently struggling with my muslins. I just thought htis morning that there was no reason for the lining to be exactly like the dress and you confirmed that. Thanks,
12/2/11 5:02 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Wow, that's normally the colors I would pass by in the fabric store, but the combination is outstanding in this dress! Beautiful!
10/19/11 11:26 AM
Duchessdesigns said...
Making this dress for my daughter's senior prom, Thanks for all the tips
4/3/11 6:17 PM
slmstyle said...
Just beautiful! Thanks so much for the detailed review. I am thinking about making this dress for my wedding dress, but I am not an advanced sewer and all the bias cutting, bodice construction and seaming make me a little nervous. However, thanks to all of your details and great photos and fantastic results, maybe I'll just go for it and make it, at least in muslin first. I am going to take SusiM's great idea to print out your review and attach it to the pattern envelope. Thanks so much!
10/13/10 7:41 PM
SoVintage said...
Breathtaking!
5/31/10 10:59 PM
sfgb said...
Stunning. Incredible color.
5/8/10 8:54 PM
noodlesew said...
Thanks for the thumbs up on the dress and the tip on pressing at the dry cleaners. When pressing, I used a damp hanky, and wished I had underline to prevent the seams showing. Just couldn't press much more in case the Spandex loses the stretch. There's plenty of room for improvement, such as a more comfortable bustier, something I'm not used to wearing. It's worth the effort for a designer dress like this, which I made over 4 weekends. It costs a fortune to buy an equivalent, poorly fitted garment. I still have a long way to go to get the beautiful fit that I see in projects reviewed by the talented sewers in this website. Once I got over the fear of botching up an "Advanced" pattern, the sewing was really straightforward. Most time was spent putting together the tracing vilene toile, without which I would not have sorted out the placement of seams and the width adjustments. The occasion I have in mind is a formal evening on board a cruise.
4/2/10 11:54 PM
Rickella said...
Wow! Gorgeous! Nicely done.
4/1/10 2:07 PM
CynthiaSue said...
color and workmanship are just superb. you are a very talented seamstress.
3/31/10 2:24 AM
Sheila457 said...
Absolutely STUNNING!
3/30/10 9:53 PM
Lynn67 said...
Yes, can we get a pic of you in the dress? It's stunning!
3/30/10 5:54 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
Speechless. Please post a pic of you in it. That would be lovely!
3/30/10 10:39 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress! Fantastic review with lots of detail, thank you.
3/30/10 9:13 AM
Woolygal said...
Absolutely exquisite.
3/30/10 8:16 AM
SusiM said...
Bravo!! I'm printing out your review and stapling it to the pattern envelope. It will sure help when I make this for my daughter. Thank you, thank you for your very helpful review! Your dress is beautiful!
3/30/10 0:20 AM
dingyadi said...
Utterly beautiful!
3/30/10 0:19 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Standing ovation!!!
3/29/10 11:02 PM
pammieh said...
Wow! The design details on that blouse are fantastic - I can't imagine being able to construct something that beautiful.
3/29/10 10:47 PM
Annette1 said...
What a joy it is to look at all these pictures and get to see UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL the construction of this FABULOUS dress. You did a WONDERFUL job! :o)
3/29/10 9:39 PM
fourkid said...
This is all way beyond me - I just see the end results and they are fantastic. Very beautiful.
3/29/10 9:19 PM
Elona said...
What a gorgeous, gorgeous dress! You should be hugely proud of your exquisite work. And thanks so much for all the photos of the work in progress. This should embolden all who wish to make a couturier gown.
3/29/10 8:13 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Breath-taking!!!
3/29/10 5:27 PM
rozzybabe said...
Thanks for great pictures & such detail in areas of construction, especially where Vogue made some errors. The dress looks fantastic. I've a friend who has the right figure for this style, & after reading your review I will make it for her sometime this year. You certainly can move your sewing level up to advanced now!! Thanks again for all the information.
3/29/10 2:39 PM
ggf2005 said...
great job. the thing i love about vogue patterns is the level of detail provided in the instructions which is so much better than not enough detail
3/29/10 1:49 PM
cindyann said...
Oh man, that's looking just wonderful!
3/29/10 1:20 PM
senaSews said...
Stunning dress. Wow! And great workmanship, too!
3/29/10 1:12 PM
cdi9c said...
Just fabulous! And can I tell you how blown away I am by the utter invisibility of your invisible zipper? WOW!
3/29/10 12:07 PM
Opals Passions said...
Beautiful dress... You did a fabulous job...
3/29/10 11:41 AM
squirrellypoo said...
HOLY COW! This dress is a total knockout! Please tell us the occasion! And I love that this pattern includes the internal bustier support - I think that's worth the cost alone, as you could use that again and again for any strapless gown.
3/29/10 11:18 AM
RadarRadiance said...
It is beautiful! ...need I say more! Great review.
3/29/10 11:01 AM
carolynw said...
This is gorgeous - really, really gorgeous!!
3/29/10 10:32 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
Love it. I used to work in a fabric store and some of the local ladies who stay home and sew wedding gowns, coats, etc, told me that they take hard to iron items to a dry cleaners. If you're still concerned about the final look.....
3/29/10 9:34 AM
sunny74 said...
Amazing! It looks so expensive. I can't believe you made this with $2/metre fabric.
3/29/10 9:13 AM
Sic said...
Stunning! Beautiful work!
3/29/10 8:05 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Amazing! Great review of making this gown.
3/29/10 6:52 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Stunning!
3/29/10 4:55 AM
janella said...
Thanks for such a great review - the pictures look great too.
3/22/10 12:35 PM
waltzqueen said...
Gorgeous fabric, gorgeous dress!! I can't wait to see it on you!!
3/3/10 11:17 AM
E.J.W. said...
That colour is beautiful and it all looks to be coming together wonderfully, It will look stunning!
3/2/10 7:37 AM
lamstu said...
LOVE the dress. Using the reverse sides of the fabric was inspired! (I wish it wasn't strapless - those days are way behind me.)
2/26/10 10:04 PM
camaro1952 said...
WOW!!!
2/26/10 12:33 PM
Elona said...
Your dress is going to be stunning (heck, it already is!), and I bet you are going to want to make it up in a drop-dead silk the next time!
2/26/10 11:36 AM
LynnG said...
Beautiful dress. You are doing a great job.
2/26/10 10:14 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Oh...this looks absolutely beautiful!!! I am anxious to see it done and being modeled! Some of these Vogue patterns are so much work but what a learning curve in the process. Yours looks exceptional.
2/26/10 9:54 AM
Bonnie123 said...
This dress is simply fabulous. I especially love the color. I think it served you well to read and reread the instructions prior to sewing. Great job!
2/26/10 9:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Simplicity 2812

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now