SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

161 more reviews
Viewed 459 times 
Reviewed by:novicesewist
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About novicesewiststar
CA USA
Member since: 2/11/08
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/27/10 11:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew2006 said...
I love the lining fabric!
2/28/10 8:43 AM
no7262 said...
It looks like you did a great job! You got an awesome fit in the back! Pockets look great! I just cut this out yesterday. I'm a little nervous.... Nora :)
2/28/10 8:59 AM
AuntieShel said...
You did a wonderful job and I admire your patience for finishing them. I don't make pants, but it seems to me I've read that you should start with your hip size and then add or subtract to the waist.
2/28/10 9:31 AM
Annette Wright said...
Yes, definitely size off your hips and blend up for a larger waist size. I have to do that, and the fit is easier that way. I think the crotch length is too long for you, they need to sit a bit lower, but the back view looks good over the butt, not too wrinkly. And place the pockets a bit closer to the back seam. Wide set pockets make the butt look wider. I have mine set about 1/2" higher than the pattern marking also, and a bit closer, though I don't remember how much. I really think you are close to some well fitting jeans. The pattern is a good one, now just continue to work with it.
2/28/10 10:27 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Your back fit looks perfect. Thanks for all your hard work and explanations. I also plan to try this pattern!
2/28/10 11:17 AM
Deepika said...
From the photos it looks like they fit very well. I also loved the fabric you chose.
2/28/10 1:42 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I really like the design on your back pockets, and the lining made me smile!
3/1/10 8:37 AM
Lynn67 said...
Looks like you did an awesome job (perseverence pays off) and love the fabric/lining!
3/1/10 10:13 AM
yorkshire lass said...
These fit really nicely and I really admire you for sticking with this project and making it work. I am particularly impressed that you tackled jeans as a beginner. Well done, you deserve to pat yourself on the back, and next time it will be easier. The chain stitch tacking is a great plan.
3/2/10 7:35 AM
LynnG said...
Love your lining! I admire your persistance in working for the good fit. Way to go.
3/2/10 2:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 5581

photo
by: sewsewboy

Review
McCall's 6435

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now