SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-116 (Tuxedo Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 908 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/10 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Sounds frustrating, well done for getting it finished.
2/28/10 5:48 PM
Mufffet said...
Looks wearable, so that's a plus! :) As many nice clothes as you make, and really CUTE ones, don't be too concerned! ;)
2/28/10 8:02 PM
AnneM said...
LOL Oh, I can so appreciate the 'my skill will forever remain at intermediate' comment. Really, though, I don't think you are doomed to remain intermediate. Then again, intermediate is a nice place to be. This is certainly wearable, and a nice learning experience for you.
2/28/10 8:16 PM
chacha45 said...
When a pettern is bad usually there isn't much you can do abuot it, so this is a tremendous save! I was looking at your blog and noticed the black jacket you made 2/09, and how flattering that soft style is on you. Your body language is so different in these two cases that I know you felt it, too.
2/28/10 10:34 PM
FreyaStark said...
At least you've got a wearable garment after all that anguish and effort. I love the lining.
3/1/10 3:16 AM
OP Gal said...
Great save. It sounds like a really poorly drafted jacket, but you snatched victory from the jaws of defeat. Thanks for the informative review.
3/1/10 10:05 AM
mylittleelephant said...
It's very interesting to notice now that the jacket on a model do have some spiral effect too on sleeves. Many congrats for finishing and thanks for the review!
3/1/10 10:46 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the encouragement, everyone! Mylittleelephant--you are totally right! I hadn't looked closely at the model photo before but her sleeves have the same bagginess at the inner elbow mine do. I think i can conclude that it's not my fault!
3/2/10 8:35 AM
carole said...
Check to make very sure that the sleeves are not in backwards . This is very much like what happened to me , and they were in backwards . Just a thought .
3/18/10 8:51 AM
Dorothy Klein said...
Nicegirl did the best she could with the sleeve pattern, but in my opinion the sleeve pattern doesn't seem compatible with the streamlined silhouette of the jacket. The sleeve bulk seems out of place. This bodice screams for a long, lean sleeve.
3/18/10 10:56 AM
GoodStitchWitch said...
If you have more stories like this to tell, and have a good sense of comedic timing, you could always be a lunch/dinner speaker at any of the big trade conferences. You'd have the audience in stitches.
3/18/10 5:47 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I recently finished a muslin of this jacket and...That. Sleeve. Must. Go. I've really whacked away on it...including smooshing out that ridiculous dart...and we'll see if my whacking works. Otherwise, I'm looking for a sleeve from another jacket to swap...
3/12/11 1:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

HotPatterns 1121

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8548

photo
by: im2melo4u

Review