Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-116 (Tuxedo Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 908 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/10 4:49 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Sounds frustrating, well done for getting it finished.
2/28/10 5:48 PM
Mufffet said...
Looks wearable, so that's a plus! :) As many nice clothes as you make, and really CUTE ones, don't be too concerned! ;)
2/28/10 8:02 PM
AnneM said...
LOL Oh, I can so appreciate the 'my skill will forever remain at intermediate' comment. Really, though, I don't think you are doomed to remain intermediate. Then again, intermediate is a nice place to be. This is certainly wearable, and a nice learning experience for you.
2/28/10 8:16 PM
chacha45 said...
When a pettern is bad usually there isn't much you can do abuot it, so this is a tremendous save! I was looking at your blog and noticed the black jacket you made 2/09, and how flattering that soft style is on you. Your body language is so different in these two cases that I know you felt it, too.
2/28/10 10:34 PM
FreyaStark said...
At least you've got a wearable garment after all that anguish and effort. I love the lining.
3/1/10 3:16 AM
OP Gal said...
Great save. It sounds like a really poorly drafted jacket, but you snatched victory from the jaws of defeat. Thanks for the informative review.
3/1/10 10:05 AM
mylittleelephant said...
It's very interesting to notice now that the jacket on a model do have some spiral effect too on sleeves. Many congrats for finishing and thanks for the review!
3/1/10 10:46 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the encouragement, everyone! Mylittleelephant--you are totally right! I hadn't looked closely at the model photo before but her sleeves have the same bagginess at the inner elbow mine do. I think i can conclude that it's not my fault!
3/2/10 8:35 AM
carole said...
Check to make very sure that the sleeves are not in backwards . This is very much like what happened to me , and they were in backwards . Just a thought .
3/18/10 8:51 AM
Dorothy Klein said...
Nicegirl did the best she could with the sleeve pattern, but in my opinion the sleeve pattern doesn't seem compatible with the streamlined silhouette of the jacket. The sleeve bulk seems out of place. This bodice screams for a long, lean sleeve.
3/18/10 10:56 AM
GoodStitchWitch said...
If you have more stories like this to tell, and have a good sense of comedic timing, you could always be a lunch/dinner speaker at any of the big trade conferences. You'd have the audience in stitches.
3/18/10 5:47 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I recently finished a muslin of this jacket and...That. Sleeve. Must. Go. I've really whacked away on it...including smooshing out that ridiculous dart...and we'll see if my whacking works. Otherwise, I'm looking for a sleeve from another jacket to swap...
3/12/11 1:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-108
photo
Review by Claire in ... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5429
photo
Review by ClaireEmil... on 2/20/09
Read Review

Burda 6982 Pattern
Burda 6982 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1458 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1458 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us