SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (vintage mens shirt pattern)

7 more reviews
Viewed 320 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/10 5:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele19 said...
The shirt looks great on both of you and I can't wait to see the shorts.
3/3/10 6:39 AM
voet said...
Another fine effort. You have the perfect body for vintage patterns. Actually, your serger would help tame the curly edge of your sleeve. You might have to play with the variable feed to get it right. Also, you could use some interfacing if it is really uncooperative. I once used some organza ribbon on a stretchy knight. I found it in a narrow width (I think it was 1/4 inch.) I first sewed the ribbon on with a straight stitch and then serged it.
3/3/10 6:59 AM
voet said...
Another fine effort. You have the perfect body for vintage patterns. Actually, your serger would help tame the curly edge of your sleeve. You might have to play with the variable feed to get it right. Also, you could use some interfacing if it is really uncooperative. I once used some organza ribbon on a stretchy knight. I found it in a narrow width (I think it was 1/4 inch.) I first sewed the ribbon on with a straight stitch and then serged it.
3/3/10 6:59 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I wouldn't have thought a nice collar and placket was possible in that thick terry, but you pulled it off! Very interesting that the Spartan trumped the ZZ machine.
3/3/10 7:38 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a nice shirt and I love the colors in it and the tablecloth fabric - should make a neat spring set. Since you didn't have as much trouble with the hem in the future I would add enough length to the sleeve for a topstitched hem like the body of the shirt and use a tiny zigzag or a double needle for the stitching. You might try some tissue paper underneath to stabilize as you stitch. It comes in colored packs also if the little fragments left behind from tearing away bother you. You can also buy stabilizer made for machine embroidery that you might like that dissolves in water. You can cut strips to put on places where the stitching is a problem.
3/3/10 8:02 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great looking shirt with a great fit. I was hesitant at first when you said you were making it from terry cloth, but it looks terrific!
3/3/10 8:05 AM
mollyshark said...
Wow..I inherited a huge patch of Vera tablecloth fabric from an aunt who used to do a lot of home dec sewing (and at 92 has finally decided to give it up). Shorts might be perfect for it. The classic Vera large tulip design. Oh, and nice shirt, btw! LOL.
3/3/10 8:45 AM
neufy said...
Love your reviews Peter. I watch for them
3/3/10 10:02 AM
RLL said...
Beautiful job with the tough fabric. Gorgeous color.
3/3/10 10:27 AM
ryan's mom said...
It's a great shirt! I'll have to look for this style in the pattern books because it's perfect for our school's dress code for my boys. Different fabrics can really change the look with a pattern like this. Thanks for the review!
3/3/10 1:30 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Nice shirt. I love the color. You could cut a bias strip of fabric 2 or 3 inches wide the length of the sleeve, stitch it into a tube/band and then fold it wrong sides together and add it to the bottom of your sleeve. You could then topstitch the seam to make it lay flat. I think that might be a nice finish for it. In any case nicely done.
3/3/10 1:36 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everybody. Thirteen Stitches, that's a great idea!
3/3/10 2:17 PM
Rhoda K said...
Well done - the shirt looks very nice on you and Michael.
3/3/10 3:03 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. It's a good basic pattern that should become a favourite.
3/3/10 3:53 PM
TracyB said...
Really nice shirt, Peter.
3/3/10 9:34 PM
paulakiss said...
Peter, that hirt rocks! I never would've thought you could make terry cloth cool! I think the sleeves look good as is. The fabric looks soft and cuddly; I know cuddly isn't what you were going for. lol. Great job!
3/4/10 1:44 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice for your first polo out of such thick fabric. You can use fusible interfacing on knit hems to stabilize them and it usually will stop the rolling. The other suggestion is to cut a deeper hem which is a little easier to control.
3/4/10 8:05 AM
eugenia123 said...
Wow Peter - great job. You are looking super cool and casual in this fab terry cloth number. Bring on that warm weather!
3/4/10 11:12 AM
Hilary said...
Oooh, I just bought this pattern at my favorite local thrift store for a quarter, uncut :D and was hoping to see a review-and lo and behold I found TWO, yah! Your shirt looks great and suits you well. Great review!
8/14/12 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Lila Tueller Designs Funked Out Peasant Blouse

photo
by: BettyMike

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now