Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 1214 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 41 people   
Reviewed by:Kathi R
photo
Friend of PR
About Kathi Rstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/28/05
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/4/10 7:14 PM
Last Updated:6/12/10 3:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gecko said...
Wow! I'm impressed. Your jeans look great! Thanks for all the info. I have this on my "to do" list and I'm trying to psych myself up for it.
3/4/10 7:22 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful job and perfect fit - I would love to find the fabric for myself... where/who is FIDM?
3/4/10 7:36 PM
RadarRadiance said...
You did great and a very helpful review, too. I also like the idea of setting up both machines. I always have a couple set up but never thought to use them....DUH! especially with the top stitch thread because it is a pain switching. They look very nice on you, back looks perfect! Have the pattern so enjoy the info..... I will not over engineer HA HA....
3/4/10 7:36 PM
puddypaws said...
You did a great job!
3/4/10 7:38 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous jeans and the fit looks great. I think we all suffer from over thinking at times. :) Glad it didn't stop you sewing though.
3/4/10 7:47 PM
Patti B said...
Congrats on some great jeans! Funny how we can outsmart ourselves sometimes with too much analysis.
3/4/10 8:29 PM
Elona said...
Nice jeans! And I mean that!
3/4/10 9:05 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Nice jeans-you probably did lots of us a favor by all that thinking and measuring. I think in the future I will do more flat measuring of patterns and comparing with an item I can wear like you did here. How wonderful that you have a jeans pattern all fitted up now.
3/4/10 9:26 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Better than this? These look pretty darn good to me!! Great job. :-)
3/4/10 9:51 PM
VtMartha said...
I'm very impressed!
3/4/10 10:08 PM
mastdenman said...
Congrats! Great looking jeans.
3/4/10 10:31 PM
JEF said...
They look great!
3/4/10 10:33 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice! I think they turned out great! I just finished my first pair too and it is exciting. You did a really fantatic job!
3/5/10 0:09 AM
sew2little said...
Kathi--These look great. I admire your willingness to take on jeans--any pants scare the pants off of me, and jeans are even scarier! I look forward to seeing the perfected version in Montreal!
3/5/10 0:32 AM
JillyBe said...
Fabulous fit and very helpful review - thanks! Now then, how many rave reviews for this pattern do I need to read before I but it & make them for myself? ;D
3/5/10 2:22 AM
Vonnevo said...
Terrific !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kathi, your jeans look great and the fit is brilliant.
3/5/10 4:05 AM
Rebecca D said...
These jeans look fantastic. And a great review to boot. Thanks.
3/5/10 6:58 AM
becca a said...
Your jeans are a great fit--very flattering! I love this pattern.
3/5/10 7:32 AM
carolynw said...
This is an A1+++ fit!! Not sure what you need to tweek to make these better but will be watching for your next pair!! Terrific review
3/5/10 8:35 AM
Nancy K said...
These really look good on you! I am impressed with all your work and it's a great review. I agree with Debbie, hard to do better than these.
3/5/10 9:13 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Spectacular jeans Kathi! I'm very impressed with how well this pattern fits ladies of all shapes and sizes. ITA that the SA's need to be a touch wider (especially in the crotch) so it reinforces when you topstitch - I had some pulling in the rear of mine I noticed where the topstitching only goes through one layer. Also, I have the same bagging problem of mine. Granted I didn't use 4% stretch denim, only 2% because I personally like the feel better and my RTW jeans are only 1%, so I think they just need to be shaved down a tad next go round. Great job Kathi!!!!
3/5/10 11:16 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful jeans! You should be proud. I am in the middle of mine -- so I hope I get a great fit like you did. Thanks for all the good tips also.
3/5/10 12:45 PM
no7262 said...
They look great! Looks like you got a great fit! You give me hope for mine! Nora :)
3/5/10 1:02 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Kathi, you've really done a full analysis of the pattern and been a pathfinder for so many of us who want jeans that fit as magnificently as yours. Your jeans look wonderful on you and all of your work has paid great benefits. Lovely, Lily
3/5/10 2:18 PM
SueV said...
the jeans look great (and I've seen them in person). great review!
3/5/10 4:39 PM
quathy said...
Great review, and Great Jeans! Thanks for including your very helpful fitting tips!
3/5/10 7:16 PM
mary in FL said...
Thanks for the great review!
3/5/10 10:12 PM
Deepika said...
Kathi, your jeans are awesome and review so helpful. I like your suggestion of increasing the SA in the crotch area. I had some problems there too. This pattern is a winner!
3/8/10 8:21 AM
missusprim said...
I like the way they look on you, and am sure the stretch plays a big role with the comfort level. Is it possible to use two strands of thread in the needle thread or did i misinterpret this? I also bought a Jalie pattern for jeans but have yet to try it. I'll surely take some of your hints to the sewing machine!
3/11/10 10:26 PM
Kathi R said...
Missusprim -- yes, I used 2 strands of thread through the needle for top stitching....it works best with a relatively large needle (90 or 100)
3/12/10 4:02 PM
sewme47 said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!!!!!!!! I was afraid to try this pattern because I had only seen it reviewed by ladies of smaller sizes. You have given me the courage to go ahead and try to tackle the challenge of making real jeans--not just denim trousers. BTW, this is the most helpful review I have ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/14/10 10:54 AM
o3b said...
These look so good on you. I had written off this pattern b/c everyone who reviewed it is so tiny. I was sure it wouldn't work for me on the larger end.
3/15/10 3:35 AM
Scheryka said...
Nice jeans. And when you get your Jalie's done in non stretch let us know how it goes. I mistakenly done mine in nonstretch and needless to say...There was no way I was posting with a pair of pants that onlt fit 3/4 the ways up my hips! haha. I bought some stretch but the color I bought in the nonstretch is not available in stretch. My first intention was to put the stretch demin in the back and use a size larger to accomodate the non stretch front. Anyhow, let us know.
3/15/10 9:39 AM
brissie71 said...
These look amazing. Thanks for doing a plus-sized review...I've been wondering about these for me, too.
6/3/10 0:23 AM
ibdeb said...
Kathi, Thank you for a great review of this pattern. I've read other reviews but uncertain as to this pattern working for me since I am a plus size. I've ordered my pattern and anxiously awaiting it's arrival. I also have a healthy stash of various denim, and until now, did not have confidence in myself or a pattern that would work well for me. I will follow your lead and work through the first pair in muslin. Your fit looks superb!
6/11/10 12:31 PM
Skye said...
fantastic jeans - they look really great :)
6/12/10 5:35 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh, those are SUPER jeans! Awesome fit too.
6/12/10 6:18 PM
Renee' S said...
Kathi, your jeans look great. I have this pattern but I've got to work up the courage to attempt jeans. I love your terminology "butt sprung" that's a perfect description :) :)
6/12/10 6:21 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your review is great! I love the term "butt sprung" LOL! You did an awesome job on your jeans!
6/12/10 6:25 PM
Karen8320 said...
Great work Kathi! These look really, really good on you. I love the way that you kept tweaking each version to 'get it right' for you. Thanks for sharing your ideas.
6/12/10 8:46 PM
Deepika said...
Kathi great review and helpful tips on sewing with non stretch denim. I still haven't had the courage to try my next pair but love my first one. See you soon in Montreal!
6/13/10 9:26 AM
Vibekeinyork said...
These look so good - and hooray for the stack in your closet. No morning wardrobe hassles! I'm inspired. I have 1 pair of goodish-fitting jeans and I guard them more or less with my life!
6/13/10 11:29 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Nothing feels better than a TNT pattern, and Kathi this one is perfect. You can have new jeans anytime you want now. Lucky you as my TNT jeans pattern doesn't fit me anymore.
6/13/10 12:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 5030
photo
Review by j Renee De... on 5/7/13
Read Review

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)
Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6683
photo
Review by wendlesue on 5/12/09
Read Review

Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us