SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2010-101 (Jacket)

Viewed 705 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/10 9:28 PM
Last Updated:4/1/10 10:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
oh that is so beautiful and I love the fabric. I've been thinking of making it but gosh, I wish I had a long graceful neck, I'm afraid my short neck would get lost in the collar.
6/20/10 0:55 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, look at you, all glammed up in your new jacket and skirt. You look amazing Eve!! Love the jacket and I'm quite happy for you to gush as much as you like. :) It's hard not to when the planets are aligned and everything comes together.
4/12/10 1:04 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow! Wow! Wow! I love this jacket. The fabric is soooo decadent and classy. You look like a million bucks in your fabulously made jacket!
4/2/10 9:04 PM
carolynw said...
Echoing all that has been said already - this is outstanding and gorgeous. Looks so high end RTW!!
4/2/10 9:35 AM
Rhoda K said...
Wow - what else can I say? It's beautiful and ditto all above!
4/1/10 6:28 PM
annie11 said...
Congratulations on making a STUNNING jacket! I so wish that I had bought this fabric now. You are back with a winner!
4/1/10 4:20 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Eve, smashing jacket! Seductive fabric, very flattering fit and so perfectly YOU. I wanted more photos (even bad ones) since I haven't seen you much since the birth of the twins, but I'll content myself with this one that looks so very glamorous. Lovely, Lily
4/1/10 3:54 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
Definitely gorgeous, especially on you!
4/1/10 1:05 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! Gorgeous jacket! Love the fabric you chose. Excellent job--your jacket looks great on you.
4/1/10 11:58 AM
EveS said...
Wow, thank you all for your kind thoughts!!! :) I wore this outfit out for my birthday and felt so pretty in it! It was a complete joy to sew start to finish and equally fun to wear. That, to me, is the Holy Grail of sewing!!! :)
4/1/10 10:10 AM
Loves-to-Sew said...
The jacket is wonderful and looks great on you. I so appreciated the clarity of your writing; it felt like I was sitting down having a chat with you. Thanks.
3/31/10 11:25 PM
JoanneM said...
STUNNING! I am going to cut it out tomorrow. I need a spring jacket with some oomph and this is it. It looks darling on you. Nw to find some fabric.....
3/31/10 11:01 PM
JoanneM said...
STUNNING! I am going to cut it out tomorrow. I need a spring jacket with some oomph and this is it. It looks darling on you. Nw to find some fabric.....
3/31/10 10:59 PM
JoanneM said...
STUNNING! I am going to cut it out tomorrow. I need a spring jacket with some oomph and this is it. It looks darling on you. Nw to find some fabric.....
3/31/10 10:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
You brought back what the Hollywood starlets should have: STYLE! You look so stunning in this custom/couture chic jacket!
3/31/10 9:27 PM
hongkongshopper said...
It looks fabulous on you. I better go back and have another look at this pattern.
3/31/10 5:47 PM
Kennis said...
I have the exact same fabric in my stash, now I am considering macking this jacket. Great review. Thank you. The jacket looks lovely on you.
3/30/10 3:28 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looks high end designer, well done!
3/30/10 8:41 AM
Susieq777 said...
tHANK YOU for all of your comments. I have never tried a BWOF but I have that issue and just may give it a whirl.
3/29/10 9:24 PM
nellc said...
Your jacket is absolutely lovely!
3/29/10 6:18 PM
Amanda S. said...
Awesome jacket! I love this style and am happy to see you had such luck with it. Great job!
3/29/10 3:57 PM
babsi1111 said...
Your jacket is marvelous. It looks luxurious and trendy at the same time. I have it on my to-sew-list, too and I am really happy to see such a terrific review of it.
3/29/10 3:34 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous jacket! I can't say enough great things about how amazing this turned out and how stunning it is on you!
3/29/10 1:43 PM
Karen6790 said...
This really didn't grab me in the magazine, but obviously it was a case of their photo being unexciting, because this is a fabulous little jacket. Your fabric choice was perfect for it and I have to say, you definitely don't look like you're carrying baby weight in this. Bravo.
3/29/10 1:08 PM
ALY said...
What a terrific jacket. Great combo of pattern style and fabric
3/29/10 12:52 PM
Gelbean said...
Great looking jacket!
3/29/10 10:04 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous, flattering jacket. I must get this issue now that I know about those great undercollar darts. Burda has a way of making such a great fitting jacket and this one looks terrific on you.
3/29/10 8:17 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Well I am going to quit whining about how Burda magazine has lost it's edge now! Your jacket looks fantastic and the fabric is just right for it.
3/29/10 6:31 AM
sugarduck said...
Ooh...amazing jacket!! I love your fabric choice and the finished garment looks so luxurious. It's so nice to read a happy review like this one!
3/29/10 3:37 AM
Sigrid. said...
Outstanding jacket, you chose the right fabric for this one. Great work and great review.
3/29/10 3:08 AM
MaryDB said...
The jacket's terrific, you look fabulous, and your review is great - you hit the trifecta! Wah, I put this fabric in my cart and took it out. You were smarter. Thanks for the review.
3/29/10 0:03 AM
Heidi Ho said...
WOW,WOW,WOW...That jacket is absolutely stunniing!! I love it. I saw it in the mag and thought it was super cute but way beyond my ability. Since I have been working on a linen jacket and fighting with it all day...seeing such a brilliant success story is putting a big smile on my face. Oh and I must add that style really suits you and the fit is great!!
3/28/10 11:55 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Very nice looking jacket, looks lovely on you. Glad you found a patten that fits you and your personality so well! Thanks for letting your wonderful sense of humor shine through your review!
3/28/10 10:45 PM
Kay Y said...
Lovely jacket!
3/28/10 10:25 PM
Christas said...
It's THE jacket! I have been waiting for your review of it! It looks absolutely gorgeous on you - of course it would! Thanks for another terrific review. You totally deserve copious amounts of gushing!
3/28/10 10:14 PM
tanny76 said...
What a beautiful jacket! You're right, it does look expensive and trendy! I am far from being able to sew anything like this, the word "lining" is scary to me at this point in my sewing life, but something like this really motivates me to keep learning. Nicely done!
3/28/10 10:10 PM
Seaspur said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
3/28/10 10:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

More Info
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info
McCall's 5248

photo
by: MaggiS

Review