SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1089 (Classix Nouveau 3 Graces tops)

35 more reviews
Viewed 715 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 317 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/10 10:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Padmé said...
Thank you for the review. I love Trudy, but I'm also a small bust and I just kept hoping. I'll enjoy Trudy's mind from afar, and be very thankful for the time you took to sew it and review it.
3/14/10 1:01 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your very helpful review of this pattern. Your review also confirmed my decision not to put this on my list. I'm glad you persisted with this pattern because your outcome is a SUPER CHIC top!
3/13/10 11:46 AM
Margie T said...
I'm sorry that all your hard work was for nothing. I actually think that this is the worst pattern put out by HP. I haven't seen anyone look good in it.
3/13/10 1:09 AM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you wasted that lovely fabric but at least you've written a useful review. Better luck next time!
3/12/10 4:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for the review. Too bad this didn't work out because the pattern is pretty! You seen to do really well with Burda. Have you tried Ottobre? I think there are a lot of styles that would be great on you there!
3/12/10 2:45 PM
Jatman said...
Thank you for doing this public service! I really want to like this top but think that there is too much material in front for it to be flattering on any body type.
3/12/10 2:38 PM
Annieq said...
Thank you for you careful review. It helped. I am one of those 34F women so I hope HP works for as I just got my first pattern from. However I have to say that I agree with squirellypoo; this pattern doesn't look good on anybody. Especially someone with a large chest. So I am scratching my head over this one.
3/12/10 2:19 PM
callmeRuth said...
Oh, I'm sad to read that HP patterns are drafted for bb's (big bosoms). I just ordered a different HP, and I'm built like you. I may rethink sewing the pattern when it arrives.
3/12/10 1:03 PM
starryfish said...
I feel your pain, but you have done a great service for all the less endowed sewists out here. I shall be avoiding HP as well.
3/12/10 12:02 PM
SueV said...
what a shame, all that work and it didn't work for you. I found each version on this pattern to have way too much fabric in the front and agree that it probably works best for a larger busted individual. thanks for the review.
3/12/10 11:33 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Yeah I'm so not the HP body type, so I've pretty much given up on their patterns after a few expensive and disappointing trials. Why go to so much work when Burda, KnipMode, Patrones, and Vogue fit me so well with little or no alterations? I'm sorry this was such a frustrating experience for you, but if it makes you feel any better, I haven't seen any renditions of this shirt that weren't a hot mess IMHO. Bin it and move on to something fun!
3/12/10 11:22 AM
chicagochef said...
Thanks for the tip on HPs. I love their styles but they won't work for me - I am a B cup and slight. Thanks for saving me money, tears and time. Sorry it didn't work for you.
3/12/10 11:15 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Trina, I have this pattern, haven't sewn it yet for myself (34F), but was examining it for my sister who's an A cup and like you, concluded that I simply couldn't figure out how to make it work attractively for her. It's precious little comfort to know that you spent 7 frustrating hours saving others the effort, but wanted to express my gratitude to you just the same. --Lily
3/12/10 10:54 AM
ImListening said...
Thanks. Good to know about HotPatterns. That tomato red looks great on you, though.
3/12/10 10:54 AM
Maura Kelly said...
I, too, am very small and have given up on Hot Patterns. I did not know that HP had drafted its own sloper.
3/12/10 10:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 2281

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

More Info
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
Vogue Patterns V8151

photo
by: Austragirl

Review