Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1089 (Classix Nouveau 3 Graces tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 710 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/10 10:23 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maura Kelly said...
I, too, am very small and have given up on Hot Patterns. I did not know that HP had drafted its own sloper.
3/12/10 10:44 AM
ImListening said...
Thanks. Good to know about HotPatterns. That tomato red looks great on you, though.
3/12/10 10:54 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Trina, I have this pattern, haven't sewn it yet for myself (34F), but was examining it for my sister who's an A cup and like you, concluded that I simply couldn't figure out how to make it work attractively for her. It's precious little comfort to know that you spent 7 frustrating hours saving others the effort, but wanted to express my gratitude to you just the same. --Lily
3/12/10 10:54 AM
chicagochef said...
Thanks for the tip on HPs. I love their styles but they won't work for me - I am a B cup and slight. Thanks for saving me money, tears and time. Sorry it didn't work for you.
3/12/10 11:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Yeah I'm so not the HP body type, so I've pretty much given up on their patterns after a few expensive and disappointing trials. Why go to so much work when Burda, KnipMode, Patrones, and Vogue fit me so well with little or no alterations? I'm sorry this was such a frustrating experience for you, but if it makes you feel any better, I haven't seen any renditions of this shirt that weren't a hot mess IMHO. Bin it and move on to something fun!
3/12/10 11:22 AM
SueV said...
what a shame, all that work and it didn't work for you. I found each version on this pattern to have way too much fabric in the front and agree that it probably works best for a larger busted individual. thanks for the review.
3/12/10 11:33 AM
starryfish said...
I feel your pain, but you have done a great service for all the less endowed sewists out here. I shall be avoiding HP as well.
3/12/10 12:02 PM
callmeRuth said...
Oh, I'm sad to read that HP patterns are drafted for bb's (big bosoms). I just ordered a different HP, and I'm built like you. I may rethink sewing the pattern when it arrives.
3/12/10 1:03 PM
Annieq said...
Thank you for you careful review. It helped. I am one of those 34F women so I hope HP works for as I just got my first pattern from. However I have to say that I agree with squirellypoo; this pattern doesn't look good on anybody. Especially someone with a large chest. So I am scratching my head over this one.
3/12/10 2:19 PM
Jatman said...
Thank you for doing this public service! I really want to like this top but think that there is too much material in front for it to be flattering on any body type.
3/12/10 2:38 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for the review. Too bad this didn't work out because the pattern is pretty! You seen to do really well with Burda. Have you tried Ottobre? I think there are a lot of styles that would be great on you there!
3/12/10 2:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you wasted that lovely fabric but at least you've written a useful review. Better luck next time!
3/12/10 4:17 PM
Margie T said...
I'm sorry that all your hard work was for nothing. I actually think that this is the worst pattern put out by HP. I haven't seen anyone look good in it.
3/13/10 1:09 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your very helpful review of this pattern. Your review also confirmed my decision not to put this on my list. I'm glad you persisted with this pattern because your outcome is a SUPER CHIC top!
3/13/10 11:46 AM
Padmé said...
Thank you for the review. I love Trudy, but I'm also a small bust and I just kept hoping. I'll enjoy Trudy's mind from afar, and be very thankful for the time you took to sew it and review it.
3/14/10 1:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6160
photo
Review by Latricia on 10/22/03
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6844
photo
Review by Sheila457 on 2/9/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2801 Pattern
Jalie 2801 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us