Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Cool, Calm & Cowl-necked (Cool, Calm & Cowl-necked Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 465 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:twinkle72
photo
About twinkle72star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:3/17/10 3:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewSho said...
Thx, great top v helpful! I've had this pattern for ages but cannot find any ribbing at all where I live! Do u think u could get away with using doubled jersey for the band?
3/17/10 10:05 PM
twinkle72 said...
Yes, I think you could probably get away with using the same fabric in the band, maybe with some knitted interfacing to line it. Just be sure to add 2-4 inches down the centre of the front pattern piece, otherwise the top will not drape like the picture. I blogged this and received some helpful tips from more accomplished sewers. You can read them at http://makingtheseam.blogspot.com/
3/18/10 7:18 AM
SewSho said...
Great, Thx v much! :)
3/18/10 9:40 AM
Kellie R. said...
Great top! And thanks for the helpful info - you look fabulous!
3/18/10 8:55 PM
LauraJ said...
I love this top, it's so comfy. And one of few I didn't have to alter. I made mine in a lightweight knit and used a similar lycra knit for the ribbing section. You just need to have the proper amount of stretch in the fabric. If i'd have used ribbing, the bottom would have been too heavy. Definitely think I'll try adding down the center front to see if it cowls more. Mine tends to slip off my shoulder rather than cowl.
6/9/10 6:08 PM
esseesee said...
Regrettably, the link provided - to what looks like a normal blog address - by twinkle72, where she says there are 'helpful tips from more accomplished sewers' redirects to some weird commercial psychic nonsense site. Not impressed by people who use PR for this sort of misleading purpose.
1/29/14 6:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Burda 7384 SKIRT
photo
Review by Sandi S on 5/1/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-124C 60s dress
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 7/4/07
Read Review

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us