SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Cool, Calm & Cowl-necked (Cool, Calm & Cowl-necked Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:twinkle72
photo

 
 
About twinkle72star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:3/17/10 3:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewSho said...
Thx, great top v helpful! I've had this pattern for ages but cannot find any ribbing at all where I live! Do u think u could get away with using doubled jersey for the band?
3/17/10 10:05 PM
twinkle72 said...
Yes, I think you could probably get away with using the same fabric in the band, maybe with some knitted interfacing to line it. Just be sure to add 2-4 inches down the centre of the front pattern piece, otherwise the top will not drape like the picture. I blogged this and received some helpful tips from more accomplished sewers. You can read them at http://makingtheseam.blogspot.com/
3/18/10 7:18 AM
SewSho said...
Great, Thx v much! :)
3/18/10 9:40 AM
Kellie R. said...
Great top! And thanks for the helpful info - you look fabulous!
3/18/10 8:55 PM
LauraJ said...
I love this top, it's so comfy. And one of few I didn't have to alter. I made mine in a lightweight knit and used a similar lycra knit for the ribbing section. You just need to have the proper amount of stretch in the fabric. If i'd have used ribbing, the bottom would have been too heavy. Definitely think I'll try adding down the center front to see if it cowls more. Mine tends to slip off my shoulder rather than cowl.
6/9/10 6:08 PM
esseesee said...
Regrettably, the link provided - to what looks like a normal blog address - by twinkle72, where she says there are 'helpful tips from more accomplished sewers' redirects to some weird commercial psychic nonsense site. Not impressed by people who use PR for this sort of misleading purpose.
1/29/14 6:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Kwik Sew 3089

photo
by: vchan38

Review
Colette Patterns Licorice

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now