SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Cool, Calm & Cowl-necked (Cool, Calm & Cowl-necked Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 482 times 
Reviewed by:twinkle72
photo

 
 
About twinkle72star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:3/17/10 3:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
esseesee said...
Regrettably, the link provided - to what looks like a normal blog address - by twinkle72, where she says there are 'helpful tips from more accomplished sewers' redirects to some weird commercial psychic nonsense site. Not impressed by people who use PR for this sort of misleading purpose.
1/29/14 6:33 AM
LauraJ said...
I love this top, it's so comfy. And one of few I didn't have to alter. I made mine in a lightweight knit and used a similar lycra knit for the ribbing section. You just need to have the proper amount of stretch in the fabric. If i'd have used ribbing, the bottom would have been too heavy. Definitely think I'll try adding down the center front to see if it cowls more. Mine tends to slip off my shoulder rather than cowl.
6/9/10 6:08 PM
Kellie R. said...
Great top! And thanks for the helpful info - you look fabulous!
3/18/10 8:55 PM
SewSho said...
Great, Thx v much! :)
3/18/10 9:40 AM
twinkle72 said...
Yes, I think you could probably get away with using the same fabric in the band, maybe with some knitted interfacing to line it. Just be sure to add 2-4 inches down the centre of the front pattern piece, otherwise the top will not drape like the picture. I blogged this and received some helpful tips from more accomplished sewers. You can read them at http://makingtheseam.blogspot.com/
3/18/10 7:18 AM
SewSho said...
Thx, great top v helpful! I've had this pattern for ages but cannot find any ribbing at all where I live! Do u think u could get away with using doubled jersey for the band?
3/17/10 10:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 15769-1000

photo
by: BeckyW

Review
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

More Info