SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7416 (Flared Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 221 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/10 0:22 AM
Last Updated:3/18/10 0:30 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Stunning! I haven't sewn with wool yet and I'm a bit nervous about that, but this fabric looks so supple and rich and it just really showcases all those delightful curving seamlines. Very, very nice! Did you machine stitch the hem and match the same width as the topstitched lines? Did you use a special foot to keep everything so perfectly even on the widths (hem and topstitching)?
3/18/10 0:31 AM
KarmenG said...
RenRen - Thanks for your lovely comments. To answer your questions....I did not topstitch my seams, and the hem was stitched at 3/8" from the fold. For topstitching I like to use an edgestitch foot (Bernina #10) or the edge of my 1/4" foot.
3/18/10 1:03 AM
sugarduck said...
So pretty! I love swishy skirts, too. ;-)
3/18/10 3:34 AM
Patti B said...
Another beautiful creation! Oh, I love a skirt that swings when I walk. This looks like one of those very versatile skirts that can be dressed up or down. Alas, this is not in my stash. Renren, do not be afraid of sewing wool -- it is a dream to sew and tailors beautifully.
3/18/10 11:05 AM
JudiBee2 said...
That's beautiful, good for work and an evening out. Great job.
3/18/10 2:06 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely! I adore the drapiness which makes it very feminine. Great job!
3/18/10 8:49 PM
apple annie said...
Lois, great looking skirt, so feminine and flippy! And you are so right about so many of us having it in our stash. Once I saw the pattern, I realized that I too have made it twice! First in a light weight black wool crepe, lined with a black silk crepe de chine. The second one I lengthened considerably and made it from a rayon print. You will love it and wear it for years to come.
3/18/10 11:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love these draping and flippy skirts Lois and yours looks fabulous. They are my favourite style for our hot summers and I think I may have this pattern sleeping somewhere too. Thanks for another of your VH reviews :)
3/19/10 0:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 9393

photo
by: apoxia

Review
Vogue Patterns 1266

photo
by: shermarama

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now