SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7416 (Flared Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 223 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/10 0:22 AM
Last Updated:3/18/10 0:30 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Love these draping and flippy skirts Lois and yours looks fabulous. They are my favourite style for our hot summers and I think I may have this pattern sleeping somewhere too. Thanks for another of your VH reviews :)
3/19/10 0:23 AM
apple annie said...
Lois, great looking skirt, so feminine and flippy! And you are so right about so many of us having it in our stash. Once I saw the pattern, I realized that I too have made it twice! First in a light weight black wool crepe, lined with a black silk crepe de chine. The second one I lengthened considerably and made it from a rayon print. You will love it and wear it for years to come.
3/18/10 11:12 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely! I adore the drapiness which makes it very feminine. Great job!
3/18/10 8:49 PM
JudiBee2 said...
That's beautiful, good for work and an evening out. Great job.
3/18/10 2:06 PM
Patti B said...
Another beautiful creation! Oh, I love a skirt that swings when I walk. This looks like one of those very versatile skirts that can be dressed up or down. Alas, this is not in my stash. Renren, do not be afraid of sewing wool -- it is a dream to sew and tailors beautifully.
3/18/10 11:05 AM
sugarduck said...
So pretty! I love swishy skirts, too. ;-)
3/18/10 3:34 AM
KarmenG said...
RenRen - Thanks for your lovely comments. To answer your questions....I did not topstitch my seams, and the hem was stitched at 3/8" from the fold. For topstitching I like to use an edgestitch foot (Bernina #10) or the edge of my 1/4" foot.
3/18/10 1:03 AM
Renren said...
Stunning! I haven't sewn with wool yet and I'm a bit nervous about that, but this fabric looks so supple and rich and it just really showcases all those delightful curving seamlines. Very, very nice! Did you machine stitch the hem and match the same width as the topstitched lines? Did you use a special foot to keep everything so perfectly even on the widths (hem and topstitching)?
3/18/10 0:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

More Info
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

More Info
New Look 6010

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review