SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8637 (Marcy Tilton Skirt And Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1242 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/10 0:16 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
A terrific basic black pants and top outfit; but absolutely nothing basic about the two fabulous patterns creating your unique and wonderful style. Nice work and I really like your wavy raw edges on the top. I want to make this top too.
3/30/10 0:57 AM
DorothyK said...
I love these pants and the top with them. Very similar to another MT pattern, but different enough to make it worth while.
3/30/10 1:09 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
As usual, the garments are gorgeous, but it's the way that you wear them that really makes them special! Love the wavy edge--I must try that.
3/30/10 6:35 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a cool pair of pants. Perfect for your funky vibe.
3/30/10 6:54 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Would love to see your review of the skirt . . . I just cut it out and started sewing it last night! Love the pants!
3/30/10 8:10 AM
marec said...
What a wonderful style!! I am so happy to see these reviewed by you as I have this pattern set aside for a summer pant. The pants, and the MT top, look wonderful on you. May I ask how you cut a size 8 crotch and a differnet size elsewhere? Do you just blend the tracing line from crotch to leg? Again, nice pants.
3/30/10 12:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
Marec, the smaller size crotch line is higher on the pattern. I just cut along the size 8 crotch line out to the inner leg seam. The side seams are cut to the large size.
3/30/10 2:32 PM
marec said...
Thanks Ann, I'll make a muslin and try your method. I like a loose pant but some of my attempts have been *quite* loose :-)
3/30/10 3:23 PM
Winifred said...
A lovely trio of garments Ann and beautifully crafted as usual. You have been very busy since getting home from ~Expo ! It was so great to meet you. I have to say the unusual designs are what I go for too altho' I never seem to get round to reviewing them ! A long while ago when in my 20's I bought all the Vogue Originals I could lay hands on - I wish I'd kept them now . Have quite fallen in love with Sewing Workshop and Marcy Tilton however !
3/30/10 5:31 PM
marjenann said...
As always, Ann, a truly fashion forward look. Thanks for always inspiring us with you great taste and fashion sense!
3/30/10 6:07 PM
rachel5000 said...
Thanks for your review. I was planning on making these but after seeing yours I've decided against it. While your sewing is fine, I don't like how it makes you look shorter and dumpy. I'm short as well and I think I need a pant that's not so full.
3/31/10 2:54 AM
TJSEWS said...
I am short and believe the pants are too big for me to pull off but I am glad that you are happy with them! However, I do have the top pattern and I love what you did with the edges. How clever! And stylish and edgy! The pictures on the top's pattern envelope does not look like the edges are raw. I realized the edges were raw when I read the instructions. I was going to put this pattern aside but you have changed my mind.
3/31/10 8:55 PM
taylormade said...
Hi Ann, I made the other pants from this pattern using Marcy's "perfect" fabric in black and I love them also for the funkiness, etc. You look great in these pants, and I am now tempted to try this view. You always look fabulous in your clothes!
4/8/10 8:53 AM
Karendee said...
What I see in these pics and review is a smartly dressed woman in very lovely, trendy-looking pants. I for one appreciate how elegant and "boutique looking" you always come across, with varying styles to suit all body types. You, and this pair of pants, are both winners, IMO.
5/31/10 1:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Farbenmix WILLEMIENTJE

photo
by: Ghainskom

Review
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now