SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1016 (Guy Laroche Designer Gown)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1004 times 
Reviewed by:noodlesew
photo

 
 
About noodlesewstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/18/10
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/10 5:59 AM
Last Updated:5/1/10 6:05 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Wow, sounds like you have a lot of work into this (not to mention fabric) and it didn't work out. I am sorry about the neckline, I would have that problem too. Maybe someone here might have suggestions so all that doesn't go to waste.
4/4/10 10:12 AM
whirrclunk said...
I'm sorry that this dress didn't work out, looks so promising... Maybe you'll get some ideas with time on how to fix it. Thank you for the really clear review.
4/4/10 4:13 PM
Lynn67 said...
Thanks for the really helpful review. Any chance we could get a pic? I wondered what a "peanut look" was, and whether this would work on my figure or not (flat bony chest with large hips). Sorry you put all that work into it!
4/5/10 8:10 AM
Lynn67 said...
Oops - found the pics - sorry. It looks like it would be very elegant, but not for my figure either!
4/5/10 8:13 AM
petro said...
Sorry you're having problems - its a lovely dress. Have you thought about making an underbodice with channelled boning and a back fastening so you're not dependent on the bra fit?
4/5/10 9:49 AM
noodlesew said...
I'm not sure of the best approach to make the upper bodice work for me. So much drama for my Easter weekend project! Not only are the bust points too close to the neckline, at 23 cm apart, they are too wide as well. Maybe I should do something with ruffle like the pink dress in Vogue V8288 or a chiffon cover like Butterick B5182. I'll investigate the underbodice idea as well. I don't look like a model, but with good sewing skills and selecting the right pattern, we can feel like the model on the envelope :)
4/6/10 4:12 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Could you meld the skirt portion on to a better suited bodice pattern of your liking? the drape of the back is pretty nifty! Thank for the informative review... neat design, fun to see a real person tackle such an involved project and so sad it is not working for you at this moment... Maybe someone here on PR will post the perfect solution... I have my fingers crossed for you.
5/1/10 8:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8604

photo
by: konniekapo...

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now