SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1182 (Misses' Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1081 times 
Reviewed by:Victoria B
photo

 
 
About Victoria Bstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/10 6:57 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful dress and so nice to see it in a fabric that isn't just for special occasions. Thanks for the detailed review about your pattern alterations. Too bad I did not read your review until I struggled with this pattern myself. I can't wait to see your next version.
7/16/10 6:04 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Beautiful dress - thank you so much for sharing. It's nice to see it in a pretty print like yours. I love this pattern, but alas, have no place to wear a fancy silk dress. Now I know I can make a gorgeous dress from that pattern that is suitable for work. Yours is lovely!
7/5/10 5:05 PM
Sewnforever said...
Always SO interesting to see the muslin - the collar is huge and I think your alteration is spot on. You look fab and the fabric is divine.
7/2/10 5:53 PM
Matilda M said...
Smokin' hot and elegant! Thanks for all your good comments and photos. It's very helpful to see this made up in a print since the pattern photo is in solid. Lovely all around!
6/22/10 11:46 PM
JanE said...
Just beautiful ... I'll be picking up this pattern soon, so your collar advice will help me a lot. BTW, Nordstrom's is selling this same style dress in a solid for $300! Aren't you glad you can sew?
5/27/10 2:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
I was just admiring this pattern in the Vogue catalog today. Great dress and great review. You should definitely make another one.
5/7/10 9:43 PM
Leora said...
I love your dress! Nicely done.
5/7/10 6:47 PM
Yippy4Skippy said...
Love your dress! I too, am very short-waisted in the back and it would be wonderful if you could post a tip on how you did your alteration. I am still fairly new to altering and would appreciate it if you ever have a chance.
4/20/10 9:04 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fantastic looking dress! You are definitely set for spring and summer!
4/8/10 10:25 PM
JanaL said...
This dress looks very nice on you....and you've done such a nice job of fitting and sewing it up. You should be very pleased with the result.
4/5/10 2:05 PM
CinLou said...
What a beautiful dress. I loved this pattern the first time I saw it. Now, by seeing it made up in a print, I love it even more. It will definitely be added to my stash. Thanks for the wonderful, helpful review. Your dress is gorgeous.
4/5/10 11:13 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful fit. Thanks for the detailed review. It was very helpful, especially with the photos on your blog.
4/5/10 11:06 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
A really lovely Easter dress. I liked seeing what you did with the collar--a good modification, I think.
4/5/10 10:42 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you look fabulous in this beautiful dress. Great fit, well worth your time to make those subtle but significant changes.
4/5/10 8:47 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! Wow you're quick--this pattern just came out.
4/5/10 7:54 AM
susiestitcher said...
What a perfect dress. You achieved a beautiful fit. Sewing the muslin was worth the time because the collar change makes such a difference. Lovely fabric, too. And cool shoes!
4/5/10 6:53 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! I may have to try your idea of reading instructions out loud for clarity the next time I make a confusing pattern. Thanks so much for your very helpful review!
4/4/10 11:07 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty! Your muslin was worth it 'cause this fits perfectly. Great job!
4/4/10 10:25 PM
lamstu said...
I love this pattern and I *love* your dress more! I really want it, but straight, fitted skirts don't have any place in my lifestyle - do you think the skirt would look okay with some flare or fullness in the back? (Primary transportation is by bicycle and if I can't ride it in an outfit, it won't be worn.)
4/4/10 9:38 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I was amazed to see this pattern made up already! I just saw it last week on Vogue's website! You did a wonderful job on fitting and I'm impressed that you took the time to make a muslin...but it paid off! I LOVE you fabric as well!
4/4/10 9:10 PM
marec said...
That is a gorgeous dress on you. I really like the collar. nice work.
4/4/10 7:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3385

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

More Info
Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review