SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1182 (Misses' Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1073 times 
Reviewed by:Victoria B
photo

 
 
About Victoria Bstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/10 6:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
That is a gorgeous dress on you. I really like the collar. nice work.
4/4/10 7:04 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I was amazed to see this pattern made up already! I just saw it last week on Vogue's website! You did a wonderful job on fitting and I'm impressed that you took the time to make a muslin...but it paid off! I LOVE you fabric as well!
4/4/10 9:10 PM
lamstu said...
I love this pattern and I *love* your dress more! I really want it, but straight, fitted skirts don't have any place in my lifestyle - do you think the skirt would look okay with some flare or fullness in the back? (Primary transportation is by bicycle and if I can't ride it in an outfit, it won't be worn.)
4/4/10 9:38 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty! Your muslin was worth it 'cause this fits perfectly. Great job!
4/4/10 10:25 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! I may have to try your idea of reading instructions out loud for clarity the next time I make a confusing pattern. Thanks so much for your very helpful review!
4/4/10 11:07 PM
susiestitcher said...
What a perfect dress. You achieved a beautiful fit. Sewing the muslin was worth the time because the collar change makes such a difference. Lovely fabric, too. And cool shoes!
4/5/10 6:53 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! Wow you're quick--this pattern just came out.
4/5/10 7:54 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you look fabulous in this beautiful dress. Great fit, well worth your time to make those subtle but significant changes.
4/5/10 8:47 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
A really lovely Easter dress. I liked seeing what you did with the collar--a good modification, I think.
4/5/10 10:42 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful fit. Thanks for the detailed review. It was very helpful, especially with the photos on your blog.
4/5/10 11:06 AM
CinLou said...
What a beautiful dress. I loved this pattern the first time I saw it. Now, by seeing it made up in a print, I love it even more. It will definitely be added to my stash. Thanks for the wonderful, helpful review. Your dress is gorgeous.
4/5/10 11:13 AM
JanaL said...
This dress looks very nice on you....and you've done such a nice job of fitting and sewing it up. You should be very pleased with the result.
4/5/10 2:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fantastic looking dress! You are definitely set for spring and summer!
4/8/10 10:25 PM
Yippy4Skippy said...
Love your dress! I too, am very short-waisted in the back and it would be wonderful if you could post a tip on how you did your alteration. I am still fairly new to altering and would appreciate it if you ever have a chance.
4/20/10 9:04 AM
Leora said...
I love your dress! Nicely done.
5/7/10 6:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
I was just admiring this pattern in the Vogue catalog today. Great dress and great review. You should definitely make another one.
5/7/10 9:43 PM
JanE said...
Just beautiful ... I'll be picking up this pattern soon, so your collar advice will help me a lot. BTW, Nordstrom's is selling this same style dress in a solid for $300! Aren't you glad you can sew?
5/27/10 2:11 PM
Matilda M said...
Smokin' hot and elegant! Thanks for all your good comments and photos. It's very helpful to see this made up in a print since the pattern photo is in solid. Lovely all around!
6/22/10 11:46 PM
Sewnforever said...
Always SO interesting to see the muslin - the collar is huge and I think your alteration is spot on. You look fab and the fabric is divine.
7/2/10 5:53 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Beautiful dress - thank you so much for sharing. It's nice to see it in a pretty print like yours. I love this pattern, but alas, have no place to wear a fancy silk dress. Now I know I can make a gorgeous dress from that pattern that is suitable for work. Yours is lovely!
7/5/10 5:05 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful dress and so nice to see it in a fabric that isn't just for special occasions. Thanks for the detailed review about your pattern alterations. Too bad I did not read your review until I struggled with this pattern myself. I can't wait to see your next version.
7/16/10 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-18

photo
by: myraminx

Review
brerrabbit.com 70\'s Panel Dress

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now