SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1182 (Misses' Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1077 times 
Reviewed by:Victoria B
photo

 
 
About Victoria Bstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/10 6:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
That is a gorgeous dress on you. I really like the collar. nice work.
4/4/10 7:04 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I was amazed to see this pattern made up already! I just saw it last week on Vogue's website! You did a wonderful job on fitting and I'm impressed that you took the time to make a muslin...but it paid off! I LOVE you fabric as well!
4/4/10 9:10 PM
lamstu said...
I love this pattern and I *love* your dress more! I really want it, but straight, fitted skirts don't have any place in my lifestyle - do you think the skirt would look okay with some flare or fullness in the back? (Primary transportation is by bicycle and if I can't ride it in an outfit, it won't be worn.)
4/4/10 9:38 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty! Your muslin was worth it 'cause this fits perfectly. Great job!
4/4/10 10:25 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! I may have to try your idea of reading instructions out loud for clarity the next time I make a confusing pattern. Thanks so much for your very helpful review!
4/4/10 11:07 PM
susiestitcher said...
What a perfect dress. You achieved a beautiful fit. Sewing the muslin was worth the time because the collar change makes such a difference. Lovely fabric, too. And cool shoes!
4/5/10 6:53 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! Wow you're quick--this pattern just came out.
4/5/10 7:54 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you look fabulous in this beautiful dress. Great fit, well worth your time to make those subtle but significant changes.
4/5/10 8:47 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
A really lovely Easter dress. I liked seeing what you did with the collar--a good modification, I think.
4/5/10 10:42 AM
Karine said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful fit. Thanks for the detailed review. It was very helpful, especially with the photos on your blog.
4/5/10 11:06 AM
CinLou said...
What a beautiful dress. I loved this pattern the first time I saw it. Now, by seeing it made up in a print, I love it even more. It will definitely be added to my stash. Thanks for the wonderful, helpful review. Your dress is gorgeous.
4/5/10 11:13 AM
JanaL said...
This dress looks very nice on you....and you've done such a nice job of fitting and sewing it up. You should be very pleased with the result.
4/5/10 2:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fantastic looking dress! You are definitely set for spring and summer!
4/8/10 10:25 PM
Yippy4Skippy said...
Love your dress! I too, am very short-waisted in the back and it would be wonderful if you could post a tip on how you did your alteration. I am still fairly new to altering and would appreciate it if you ever have a chance.
4/20/10 9:04 AM
Leora said...
I love your dress! Nicely done.
5/7/10 6:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
I was just admiring this pattern in the Vogue catalog today. Great dress and great review. You should definitely make another one.
5/7/10 9:43 PM
JanE said...
Just beautiful ... I'll be picking up this pattern soon, so your collar advice will help me a lot. BTW, Nordstrom's is selling this same style dress in a solid for $300! Aren't you glad you can sew?
5/27/10 2:11 PM
Matilda M said...
Smokin' hot and elegant! Thanks for all your good comments and photos. It's very helpful to see this made up in a print since the pattern photo is in solid. Lovely all around!
6/22/10 11:46 PM
Sewnforever said...
Always SO interesting to see the muslin - the collar is huge and I think your alteration is spot on. You look fab and the fabric is divine.
7/2/10 5:53 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Beautiful dress - thank you so much for sharing. It's nice to see it in a pretty print like yours. I love this pattern, but alas, have no place to wear a fancy silk dress. Now I know I can make a gorgeous dress from that pattern that is suitable for work. Yours is lovely!
7/5/10 5:05 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful dress and so nice to see it in a fabric that isn't just for special occasions. Thanks for the detailed review about your pattern alterations. Too bad I did not read your review until I struggled with this pattern myself. I can't wait to see your next version.
7/16/10 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Burda 5362

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now