Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2010-09 (Katherine Striped Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 477 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/10 11:08 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tishie said...
Super cute top. BTW I like the neckline, great job.
4/12/10 11:13 PM
Izzie said...
Those sleeves are soooo cute! Great job on your top, you look adorable in it.
4/12/10 11:19 PM
thirteenstitches said...
This top is very pretty. I love the color ( it looks great on you ) and the sleeve too. A very nice job : )
4/12/10 11:28 PM
Rhoda K said...
Your top is just too cute!! I think the sleeves really make it and, if you like, we can get you some castanets ;-)
4/12/10 11:32 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That top is really cute. I love the ruffely sleeves and the fit is perfect!
4/12/10 11:34 PM
Natasha B said...
This top is fabulous! The sleeves are such a great detail and perfectly done too.
4/12/10 11:43 PM
Nan Kay said...
The sleeve is really great! Nicely finished too!
4/12/10 11:44 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Love those ruffled sleeves! I really like the neckline, as well. Great color and excellent finishing details.
4/12/10 11:44 PM
katlew03 said...
Your top is so cute. Love the ruffles. It's funny, I looked at this website earlier today and did not see anything I liked. Then you review this and I completely changed my mind. I looked at the pictures and saw several possibilities. The color looks great on you and the fit is perfect. I agree about the binding. It is more of a distraction that a design feature and would look better w/o the little ruffled effect.
4/12/10 11:52 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh, I thought that pattern was cute, and now you've proved it! I love it!
4/13/10 0:20 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute little top!
4/13/10 1:21 AM
artkat said...
It looks great. I have made this top too (not quite finished yet) and changed the neckline. As my fabric was black I just put a black rib neck on it. I tried the ruffle around the neck and agree- it isn't ruffled enough to look right. It just looks as though it was stretched out of shape when it was being sewn on.
4/13/10 2:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
A cute and distinctive top, and a polished effort. Well done.
4/13/10 4:57 AM
CarolynGM said...
Love that innovative sleeve treatment.
4/13/10 6:03 AM
Rebecca D said...
This top is just wonderful. Love the sleeves.
4/13/10 6:32 AM
Annette1 said...
The sleeves just MAKE this top, but even aside from the sleeves, the FIT is superb! You don't think your dad likes to give you a hard time, do you? Heh-heh-heh. Great job, AS USUAL!
4/13/10 8:54 AM
Catbird said...
What a cute top! I love those ruffles and think they give just the right amount of jazz and pizazz. Your father's comment is very funny. What does super-stylist Meggie have to say?? :-)) I actually like how the neckline finish came out, although I know what you mean about wanting it to be a little more obvious that it was meant to be that way. Your sewing and the fit on this is superb! That necklace is perfect, too.
4/13/10 9:36 AM
Opals Passions said...
Such a cute top.. I love the sleeves..
4/13/10 9:54 AM
Peggy L said...
Super cute and that nice shade of green looks great on you:)
4/13/10 10:02 AM
carolynw said...
Really cute top - the slleves are so different - sets it apart from your everyday tee.
4/13/10 10:06 AM
Amanda S. said...
How cute! Love it! Love the sleeves as well. This must have been really over the top in a stripe - good call using a solid color.
4/13/10 10:14 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Lovely!! Enjoy those pretty sleeves -- you look fabulous in this top. :) As for the neck -- I see what you mean, but maybe another thing to try some time would be to make the binding a tiny bit more ruffled?
4/13/10 10:48 AM
Renren said...
The sleeves are just too-too perfect and adorable!
4/13/10 11:00 AM
Ann V said...
I'm almost finished sewing this top, and I did a lettuce edge on my serger on the neckband. It gave it a nice ruffled look - I'll try to post a review soon.
4/13/10 12:20 PM
annie11 said...
This looks so fun! Love, Love, Love the sleeves!
4/13/10 12:38 PM
Leu said...
Wow! love the sleeves. This is exactly the kind of top I hope to make once I'm a little more practiced!
4/13/10 12:53 PM
Avril said...
Nice. I love the sleeves and neckline.
4/13/10 2:50 PM
janet said...
What a beautiful lady you are. Gorgeous top--impeccably made.
4/13/10 5:33 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, This top is just the cutest one ever! I find the sleeves just beautiful and are such an asset for the right person (you!) The color, fit, and style are all perfect. Now, back to the neckline, I MUCH prefer the neckline detail you made to either a bound neckline or a ruffled one. I think it is a trendy look (check out Marty Tilton site) w/o being a ruffle. My preferance is how you made the neckline. Great looking top with a RTW Boutique look.
4/13/10 6:05 PM
Deepika said...
so pretty! I love the sleeves.
4/13/10 6:32 PM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful top, the sleeves are wonderful. I love the expression "too-too!" but in this case "too-too!" is definitely good!
4/14/10 5:37 AM
AmyG said...
This is great! Now I really must get around to making it... will definitely think of changing the neckline. Thanks for the info.
4/14/10 9:47 AM
Barbara V said...
How very sweet and special that your Dad takes an interest in your sewing and what you are wearing! His comment was cute. Your top, with all the sleeve detail is fabulous and looks wonderful on you. Lovely work as usual!
4/14/10 10:21 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is soooo cute Christa - I love it!
4/14/10 8:48 PM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! What a cute top and so pretty!
4/15/10 6:27 PM
mlsews said...
that is super cute!
7/24/10 9:31 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thank you for your great review - I am just getting ready to cut this out. I love your version!
2/9/11 9:20 PM
FloraNature said...
Very pretty top. Love the ruffled sleeves!
2/21/11 4:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 3197 Shirt
photo
Review by chesneykat on 4/18/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 93540-1000
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 7/18/12
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us