SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2010-09 (Katherine Striped Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 110 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/10 11:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FloraNature said...
Very pretty top. Love the ruffled sleeves!
2/21/11 4:33 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thank you for your great review - I am just getting ready to cut this out. I love your version!
2/9/11 9:20 PM
mlsews said...
that is super cute!
7/24/10 9:31 PM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! What a cute top and so pretty!
4/15/10 6:27 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is soooo cute Christa - I love it!
4/14/10 8:48 PM
Barbara V said...
How very sweet and special that your Dad takes an interest in your sewing and what you are wearing! His comment was cute. Your top, with all the sleeve detail is fabulous and looks wonderful on you. Lovely work as usual!
4/14/10 10:21 AM
AmyG said...
This is great! Now I really must get around to making it... will definitely think of changing the neckline. Thanks for the info.
4/14/10 9:47 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful top, the sleeves are wonderful. I love the expression "too-too!" but in this case "too-too!" is definitely good!
4/14/10 5:37 AM
Deepika said...
so pretty! I love the sleeves.
4/13/10 6:32 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, This top is just the cutest one ever! I find the sleeves just beautiful and are such an asset for the right person (you!) The color, fit, and style are all perfect. Now, back to the neckline, I MUCH prefer the neckline detail you made to either a bound neckline or a ruffled one. I think it is a trendy look (check out Marty Tilton site) w/o being a ruffle. My preferance is how you made the neckline. Great looking top with a RTW Boutique look.
4/13/10 6:05 PM
janet said...
What a beautiful lady you are. Gorgeous top--impeccably made.
4/13/10 5:33 PM
Avril said...
Nice. I love the sleeves and neckline.
4/13/10 2:50 PM
Leu said...
Wow! love the sleeves. This is exactly the kind of top I hope to make once I'm a little more practiced!
4/13/10 12:53 PM
annie11 said...
This looks so fun! Love, Love, Love the sleeves!
4/13/10 12:38 PM
Ann V said...
I'm almost finished sewing this top, and I did a lettuce edge on my serger on the neckband. It gave it a nice ruffled look - I'll try to post a review soon.
4/13/10 12:20 PM
Renren said...
The sleeves are just too-too perfect and adorable!
4/13/10 11:00 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Lovely!! Enjoy those pretty sleeves -- you look fabulous in this top. :) As for the neck -- I see what you mean, but maybe another thing to try some time would be to make the binding a tiny bit more ruffled?
4/13/10 10:48 AM
Amanda S. said...
How cute! Love it! Love the sleeves as well. This must have been really over the top in a stripe - good call using a solid color.
4/13/10 10:14 AM
carolynw said...
Really cute top - the slleves are so different - sets it apart from your everyday tee.
4/13/10 10:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Super cute and that nice shade of green looks great on you:)
4/13/10 10:02 AM
Opals Passions said...
Such a cute top.. I love the sleeves..
4/13/10 9:54 AM
Catbird said...
What a cute top! I love those ruffles and think they give just the right amount of jazz and pizazz. Your father's comment is very funny. What does super-stylist Meggie have to say?? :-)) I actually like how the neckline finish came out, although I know what you mean about wanting it to be a little more obvious that it was meant to be that way. Your sewing and the fit on this is superb! That necklace is perfect, too.
4/13/10 9:36 AM
Annette1 said...
The sleeves just MAKE this top, but even aside from the sleeves, the FIT is superb! You don't think your dad likes to give you a hard time, do you? Heh-heh-heh. Great job, AS USUAL!
4/13/10 8:54 AM
Rebecca D said...
This top is just wonderful. Love the sleeves.
4/13/10 6:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Love that innovative sleeve treatment.
4/13/10 6:03 AM
FreyaStark said...
A cute and distinctive top, and a polished effort. Well done.
4/13/10 4:57 AM
artkat said...
It looks great. I have made this top too (not quite finished yet) and changed the neckline. As my fabric was black I just put a black rib neck on it. I tried the ruffle around the neck and agree- it isn't ruffled enough to look right. It just looks as though it was stretched out of shape when it was being sewn on.
4/13/10 2:02 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute little top!
4/13/10 1:21 AM
jnamcd said...
Oh, I thought that pattern was cute, and now you've proved it! I love it!
4/13/10 0:20 AM
katlew03 said...
Your top is so cute. Love the ruffles. It's funny, I looked at this website earlier today and did not see anything I liked. Then you review this and I completely changed my mind. I looked at the pictures and saw several possibilities. The color looks great on you and the fit is perfect. I agree about the binding. It is more of a distraction that a design feature and would look better w/o the little ruffled effect.
4/12/10 11:52 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Love those ruffled sleeves! I really like the neckline, as well. Great color and excellent finishing details.
4/12/10 11:44 PM
Nan Kay said...
The sleeve is really great! Nicely finished too!
4/12/10 11:44 PM
Natasha B said...
This top is fabulous! The sleeves are such a great detail and perfectly done too.
4/12/10 11:43 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That top is really cute. I love the ruffely sleeves and the fit is perfect!
4/12/10 11:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
Your top is just too cute!! I think the sleeves really make it and, if you like, we can get you some castanets ;-)
4/12/10 11:32 PM
thirteenstitches said...
This top is very pretty. I love the color ( it looks great on you ) and the sleeve too. A very nice job : )
4/12/10 11:28 PM
Izzie said...
Those sleeves are soooo cute! Great job on your top, you look adorable in it.
4/12/10 11:19 PM
Tishie said...
Super cute top. BTW I like the neckline, great job.
4/12/10 11:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 5094

photo
by: Jasst282

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now