SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> OOP2827 (1950s Shirtdress)

Viewed 695 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/10 10:13 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
swirlgurl said...
absolutely adorable ! The fabric is perfect! The dress is perfect!
4/19/10 10:29 AM
dingyadi said...
FABULOUS! That dress is so, so cute and looks terrific on you.
4/19/10 10:41 AM
Gelbean said...
Wow! Beautiful dress!
4/19/10 10:44 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I really love everything about this one!
4/19/10 11:01 AM
MagpieJen said...
I know I mentioned this already on the messageboard, but it bears saying again: I love the crispness of the fabric, the liveliness of the print, and the charm of the silhouette! I know most '50s skirts will be hemmed higher by modern wearers, but I'm so glad you kept the back bow! :-) I think you got the dating right. In Blueprints of Fashion it shows the Simplicity pattern envelope started to have those 2 red bars under the size information in 1957, and the pattern number ranges for 1959 include 2827 - right on!
4/19/10 11:14 AM
Riordan said...
This is wonderful--absolutely darling!!! I love it. This dress shows your pretty little figure so nicely--wear it often!!!! (And sew another one, too, please.)
4/19/10 11:55 AM
wreninrome said...
love this dress! great work
4/19/10 12:08 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
You looks just gorgeous in this dress . . . it's so fresh and pretty!!!
4/19/10 12:41 PM
MaryDB said...
Well how cute is that! Love the bow, too, nice work.
4/19/10 12:44 PM
Terri K said...
You certainly look lovely wearing this dress. Your dress is a beautiful tribute to your creativity and sense of style!
4/19/10 1:01 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look fresh and ready for any spring garden party! Beautiful dress. Timeless pattern.
4/19/10 1:16 PM
Mufffet said...
Love the dress - the fabric is perfect.
4/19/10 2:16 PM
busymomof3 said...
Adorable!! Fabric is a perfect match for this dress! Looks so good on you!!
4/19/10 2:36 PM
RLL said...
I love how it looks like two different dresses. I love the faux Hong Kong finish. And I love the fabric (bought it myself!). A real winner!
4/19/10 3:32 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's just lovely. The underlining is a nice touch, and wonderfully neat and thorough.
4/19/10 5:45 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really pretty, crisp, feminine, cute!! ;) !!
4/19/10 5:55 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Have to say it is sooo cute on you! Love it! Like the Hong Kong finished seams and you do look great wearing it. WOW...what a flash of the past hehe...
4/19/10 6:46 PM
Christas said...
I love your dress...... so cute!
4/19/10 7:11 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Love it. Great job, Trena!
4/19/10 8:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fresh, fun, and fabulous! Thanks for a wonderful review!
4/19/10 8:40 PM
Terri A said...
Verrrrry verrrry cute!
4/20/10 1:10 AM
heapha said...
as always amazing
4/20/10 2:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this dress!
4/20/10 5:25 AM
Nancy K said...
The fabric gives it a modern feel. It's a great look for you. Love the shoes in the second picture too.
4/20/10 7:34 AM
Lili123 said...
very nice dress, i love the colors on you.
4/20/10 7:36 AM
annie11 said...
Wonderful dress! Your seam finish is great- I can't wait to try it!
4/20/10 8:57 AM
SaraDK said...
I love the dress styled both ways. It looks great on you. Thanks for the combination underlining/faux Hong Kong finishing tip. I will definitely use it soon.
4/20/10 12:45 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love this.
4/20/10 3:11 PM
1SewSweet said...
Absolutely adorable...both you and the dress! Thanks so much for the tip on combination underlining, I'll have to try it!
4/20/10 6:31 PM
TanyaMT said...
That is just the most adorable dress, and you wear it well. :)
4/21/10 11:41 AM
JanE said...
Very cute! Love the bow and thanks for pointing out that underlining tip. I'll have to try that on the georgette and chiffon Burda dress I'm planning to make for this spring.
4/21/10 1:18 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Get outta town, those are just too cute! Love the bright fabric and contrast belt. nicely sewn
4/22/10 10:59 AM
dilucentelj said...
CUTE!
4/26/10 12:24 PM
Margaret said...
Super cute! I love how you show it worn two different ways!
5/3/10 0:43 AM
fourkid said...
Love the fabric - the bow - the buttons - the belt - the styling variations - gee, I think I really like this cute dress!
5/3/10 8:18 AM
oldpatterns said...
Excellent job on the dress. Loved the photography and details on the process!
5/3/10 12:12 PM
kusine said...
Absolutely charming!
5/4/10 5:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now