Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: OOP2827 (1950s Shirtdress) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 695 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/10 10:13 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
swirlgurl said...
absolutely adorable ! The fabric is perfect! The dress is perfect!
4/19/10 10:29 AM
dingyadi said...
FABULOUS! That dress is so, so cute and looks terrific on you.
4/19/10 10:41 AM
Gelbean said...
Wow! Beautiful dress!
4/19/10 10:44 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I really love everything about this one!
4/19/10 11:01 AM
MagpieJen said...
I know I mentioned this already on the messageboard, but it bears saying again: I love the crispness of the fabric, the liveliness of the print, and the charm of the silhouette! I know most '50s skirts will be hemmed higher by modern wearers, but I'm so glad you kept the back bow! :-) I think you got the dating right. In Blueprints of Fashion it shows the Simplicity pattern envelope started to have those 2 red bars under the size information in 1957, and the pattern number ranges for 1959 include 2827 - right on!
4/19/10 11:14 AM
Riordan said...
This is wonderful--absolutely darling!!! I love it. This dress shows your pretty little figure so nicely--wear it often!!!! (And sew another one, too, please.)
4/19/10 11:55 AM
wreninrome said...
love this dress! great work
4/19/10 12:08 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
You looks just gorgeous in this dress . . . it's so fresh and pretty!!!
4/19/10 12:41 PM
MaryDB said...
Well how cute is that! Love the bow, too, nice work.
4/19/10 12:44 PM
Terri K said...
You certainly look lovely wearing this dress. Your dress is a beautiful tribute to your creativity and sense of style!
4/19/10 1:01 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look fresh and ready for any spring garden party! Beautiful dress. Timeless pattern.
4/19/10 1:16 PM
Mufffet said...
Love the dress - the fabric is perfect.
4/19/10 2:16 PM
busymomof3 said...
Adorable!! Fabric is a perfect match for this dress! Looks so good on you!!
4/19/10 2:36 PM
RLL said...
I love how it looks like two different dresses. I love the faux Hong Kong finish. And I love the fabric (bought it myself!). A real winner!
4/19/10 3:32 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's just lovely. The underlining is a nice touch, and wonderfully neat and thorough.
4/19/10 5:45 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really pretty, crisp, feminine, cute!! ;) !!
4/19/10 5:55 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Have to say it is sooo cute on you! Love it! Like the Hong Kong finished seams and you do look great wearing it. WOW...what a flash of the past hehe...
4/19/10 6:46 PM
Christas said...
I love your dress...... so cute!
4/19/10 7:11 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Love it. Great job, Trena!
4/19/10 8:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fresh, fun, and fabulous! Thanks for a wonderful review!
4/19/10 8:40 PM
Terri A said...
Verrrrry verrrry cute!
4/20/10 1:10 AM
heapha said...
as always amazing
4/20/10 2:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this dress!
4/20/10 5:25 AM
Nancy K said...
The fabric gives it a modern feel. It's a great look for you. Love the shoes in the second picture too.
4/20/10 7:34 AM
Lili123 said...
very nice dress, i love the colors on you.
4/20/10 7:36 AM
annie11 said...
Wonderful dress! Your seam finish is great- I can't wait to try it!
4/20/10 8:57 AM
SaraDK said...
I love the dress styled both ways. It looks great on you. Thanks for the combination underlining/faux Hong Kong finishing tip. I will definitely use it soon.
4/20/10 12:45 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love this.
4/20/10 3:11 PM
1SewSweet said...
Absolutely adorable...both you and the dress! Thanks so much for the tip on combination underlining, I'll have to try it!
4/20/10 6:31 PM
TanyaMT said...
That is just the most adorable dress, and you wear it well. :)
4/21/10 11:41 AM
JanE said...
Very cute! Love the bow and thanks for pointing out that underlining tip. I'll have to try that on the georgette and chiffon Burda dress I'm planning to make for this spring.
4/21/10 1:18 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Get outta town, those are just too cute! Love the bright fabric and contrast belt. nicely sewn
4/22/10 10:59 AM
dilucentelj said...
CUTE!
4/26/10 12:24 PM
Margaret said...
Super cute! I love how you show it worn two different ways!
5/3/10 0:43 AM
fourkid said...
Love the fabric - the bow - the buttons - the belt - the styling variations - gee, I think I really like this cute dress!
5/3/10 8:18 AM
oldpatterns said...
Excellent job on the dress. Loved the photography and details on the process!
5/3/10 12:12 PM
kusine said...
Absolutely charming!
5/4/10 5:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 6503
photo
Review by Cowtown Ka... on 5/27/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8190
photo
Review by kimi05 on 8/8/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6665 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6665 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us