Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2010-07 (St. Tropez Bermuda Shorts) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 398 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/10 9:34 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Natasha B said...
Very cute shorts! Probably also a help to try welts in perfectly behaved AB cotton like that too.
4/19/10 10:03 PM
GlobalMom said...
Thanks for your review! I've been eyeing these shorts and just got appropriate fabric so I'll be making these soon...
4/19/10 10:04 PM
GlobalMom said...

4/19/10 10:05 PM
homejewel said...
Your shorts are so cute. I love all the great pictures and details you provided in this review. You do great work! I like the print and think it looks especially good with the green top.
4/19/10 10:13 PM
HeyJane said...
Cute! You had a very successful project all the way around!
4/19/10 10:21 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Real cute shorts.
4/19/10 10:26 PM
Peggy L said...
Wild and crazy but what fun! Enjoy them this summer:) Congratulations on those welt pockets.
4/19/10 10:31 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh what a great looking pair of shorts - welt pocket and all! The print and color are refreshing which makes them perfect for spring and summer and they look super on you!
4/19/10 10:35 PM
sewing for fun said...
LOVE the shorts!!! I say you earned the right to wear fun clothes and they look great on you!
4/19/10 10:52 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Love your print shorts. You've tailored them perfectly. Using Amy's gorgeous, high-quality fabric is an inspiration! Congrats on mastering the welt pocket! Excellently written review!
4/19/10 10:55 PM
marec said...
Love the fabric choice! Thanks for the quote/hint from the DC book.
4/19/10 10:58 PM
Annette1 said...
These are absolutely THE CUTEST shorts I've seen in a LONG time. :o) I would have NEVER thought to make shorts from this material, but now you've got me wondering what's in that stash of mine that I might use in a different way than previously contemplated. :o) After all, Stacy and Clinton don't know EVERYTHING, and these shorts prove it. :o) They REALLY like nice from the back, too. LOVE THOSE WELT POCKETS, and don't you love the way they FEEL when you put your hand in them? Much more natural than side-seam pockets, I think.
4/19/10 11:28 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute shorts and congratulations on the welt pockets!! Please come over and show me how!
4/19/10 11:32 PM
FreyaStark said...
Great fun, and very summery.
4/19/10 11:40 PM
Riordan said...
Wonderful shorts!! (Great welt pockets, too.) The fabric is delightful.
4/19/10 11:53 PM
Danvillegirl said...
The shorts are cute and you are one of the youngest looking 45 years old woman. So wear them proudly as they look great on you!
4/20/10 7:01 AM
susiestitcher said...
I am not a shorts person, but you are rapidly changing my mind. Very cute shorts and even cuter on you! Congratulations on your welt pockets. Your sewing skill is terrific!
4/20/10 7:37 AM
Catbird said...
Your first paragraph really made me laugh. Yes, Stacy and Clinton might be a little skeptical at first, but they'd surely be won over by the lively fun of these shorts and your beaming smile. If a style makes you feel good then it's good style! You've done an impeccable job on these and I love the little detail of the contrasting fly. What a great project this turned out to be, to come out of your comfort zone with fabric choice AND to make your first welt pockets! You look great, as always.
4/20/10 8:09 AM
annie11 said...
I love your shorts! I too have always been afraid of doing welt pockets, so I am going to take a look at this pattern and see if I can give them a try! The print is adorable.
4/20/10 8:44 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
How fun! ..and beautifully sewn, as always :)
4/20/10 8:49 AM
Red Curtain said...
Your welt pockets turned out very professional. Your shorts are very eye catching and will draw a lot of attention. They are not like anything out there today. They look outstanding on you. Much more fun than bottom weight beige!
4/20/10 9:17 AM
pterion said...
So cute! And the fit looks terrific too.
4/20/10 9:53 AM
AmyG said...
Absolutely love them! These have to go in the queue.
4/20/10 9:57 AM
eugenia123 said...
Firstly, 45 years old - are you sure? I think you can definitely take at least 10 year off that! I absolutely love these shorts - I always think that shorts in a print are so nice and these ones are particularly lovely. That fabric was a wonderful gift. As always your workmanship is suberb. I was extremely interested to read that this was your first time making welt pockets - I have never made them either but, now that I have bumped myself up to an intermediate :), I have been thinking that I should be attempting them some time soon. Your beautifully executed, first time, welt pockets have certainly given me some encouragement and confidence.
4/20/10 10:41 AM
callmeRuth said...
Congrats on the welt pockets. :) Your shorts are so fun--I love them. And you look great wearing them.
4/20/10 10:48 AM
Karendee said...
Oh, Christa! What a magnificent pair of shorts you've made. I not only love the fabric but the style. This type of slacks/shorts is my very favorite style. This Amy Butler fabric was a wonderful selection and you just look wonderful. BTW, these welt pockets are so well done; congratulations for a new skill perfected!!
4/20/10 11:21 AM
Rustybobn said...
Those are great! I've been eyeing that pattern, unable to make up my mind. Your shorts are wonderful. Thanks for the review.
4/20/10 11:30 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Cute! And great review, as usual! :)
4/20/10 11:49 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute shorts and a perfect fit.
4/20/10 2:55 PM
janet said...
You look absolutely adorable! You must make yourself more pairs of these shorts!! They fit you to a T and on you they look very classy.
4/20/10 5:05 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a fun pair of shorts - great fit too! :-)
4/20/10 11:42 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Very cute shorts! Mother of 9? How do you find the time to sew? And with wonderful results too!
4/22/10 7:19 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Congrats on your courage to be creative with your fabric choice and to conquer the welt pocket. Your shorts look great on you!
4/25/10 5:54 PM
Ceidhle said...
First of all, I refuse to believe that you are 45 years old and the mother of nine. How do you possibly look so good, have time to sew and time to post on PR? The shorts are so cute! I have David Coffin's book, he has lots of good ideas. I have never used Octobre sp? patterns but after your endorsement I will have to take a look at them.
5/5/10 10:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other 0000
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5398
photo
Review by JDpenelope on 12/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us