SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design> Summer 3 / 2010 (Groovy Vest)

Viewed 292 times 
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo

 
 
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 2:16 AM
Last Updated:4/21/10 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SilviaS said...
I had the same issues with Ottobre before. The patterns are either huge or way to short ( for tops).....
4/21/10 3:05 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I'm really sorry that this didn't work out for you. I've never tried Ottobre kids patterns myself......
4/21/10 7:15 AM
patternr said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. Looking at the pictures and the technical drawing, I do think this waistcoat is supposed to worn open, or with only the top button closed. The tight waist styling avoids the flowing cape look when worn open. There are sometimes odd style elements on Ottobre patterns, and this just might be one of them.
4/21/10 9:03 AM
Mel.J said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. It's a cute style, I hadn't noticed the button detail. (In case you decide to try another pattern, with Ottobre I go by the chest measurement & then lengthen as necessary. That works for me, I have found their patterns are shorter than I prefer, but otherwise they have fitted pretty well.)
4/21/10 10:07 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Wow..thanks for this review! This pattern sure seems like one to avoid :( I am surprised because Ottobre sizing is usually spot-on! I've been using Ottobre patterns for years..and even bought all the back issues (from 2001 to 2005 when I subscribed). I've made my 2 nieces (now age 9 and 11) countless Ottobre outfits with great results. But wow this pattern does not seem well-drafted at all..not the norm for Ottobre.
4/22/10 8:17 AM
Christas said...
Wow..... thanks so much for this review. I have been sewing with Ottobre for several years and they are among my very favorite patterns. I have always been so impressed with their very consistent sizing. I have never had anything happen like this with their patterns. So, THANKS! I will definitely avoid making this one after reading your review. This review has been very helpful.
4/22/10 6:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 4020

photo
by: LonestarLa...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now