Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7513 (DRESS) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 626 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 10:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Well, I really like this dress and how it looks on you - as a comfortable, casual summer dress. While I don't know how it looked before, I do like your change to elastic at the dropped waist and the color is fantastic on you.
4/22/10 0:13 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Who does you hair?;), Love the blonde! Shoes are fab. dress is fab and you are fab.
4/22/10 1:27 AM
beth5646 said...
Ooo---I think that dress is super cute. I too like the changes you made. thanks for the review.
4/22/10 6:48 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks lovely on you. It's also interesting to see this pattern made up because I've been thinking about it myself.
4/22/10 7:30 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ann -- Love the fabric, love your hair, too, and, of course, your smile. The dress? Have to agree with you --and disagree, unfortunately, with others -- that you usually look much, much better in what you make (or otherwise, probably). Eliminating the back zipper was a good idea, if it isn't needed. I hate dresses with back zippers. I really appreciate your reviewing something that you don't consider to be a big success -- It helps as much as a positive review.
4/22/10 8:00 AM
DorothyK said...
I think the changes you made were good. You have a smart way of analyzing what's wrong and how to fix it. The dress is probably a little less "cool" than you usually make but, nevertheless, a great one for your hot summer. I think you will actually get lots of use out of it.
4/22/10 11:39 AM
MagpieJen said...
I know you feel this one is less successful than you wanted - but you really know how to style and wear it :-). Thak you for a really informative and helpful review!
4/22/10 12:03 PM
Aixoise said...
I don't think it's frumpy at all. With the great shoes and your sunny smile it looks like a slouchy, comfy summer dress - just the thing for warm weather.
4/22/10 12:18 PM
Christas said...
You definitely don't look frumpy! I love the way you have used your accessories (shoes and earrings) - compliments the style so much, and makes a very pretty and unique outfit.
4/22/10 5:02 PM
Noile said...
Ann, you could wear a sack and look wonderful with that irresistible million dollar smile of yours! I do agree that the dropped waist doesn't quite work, though, even with the elastic. How does would it look if you belted it, or brought the waist up to your natural waist? I love the buttons you added, which really enhance the style, and overall, I think it looks great on you. Nice choice of color, too!
4/22/10 8:05 PM
Sar sews said...
I thought I had commented somewhere else...new at this!! I think it looks great, but how did they ever think it would look 'decent' without the front buttons?!! Would press studs work as well as buttons, or even sewing the front panels to each other? I am going to trial this pattern in a piece of linen picked up at Spotlight.
12/13/10 10:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8742 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 2/14/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4703
photo
Review by maryfrana on 1/3/09
Read Review

Burda 7134 Pattern
Burda 7134 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us