Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7550 (PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 651 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/10 6:00 AM


See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
addicted2fabric said...
Isnt it so disappointing when a pattern just doesnt meet expectations?! While they might not have turned out as you had hoped, they do look fantastic and you did a great job making them. I especially like the zip pockets and the off-white topstitching. I have never made any adults Burda patterns (that I can remember anyway) but I have made a lot of kids ones, and Burda do seem to use generous sizing.
4/23/10 6:22 AM
Rhoda K said...
Sorry you were disappointed with the fit, I too hate when that happens. The pants do look good on you and your topstitching is beautiful.
4/23/10 8:09 AM
EveS said...
It's this type of thing that's STILL making me shy of pants...so much work to be disappointed! Too bad they didn't work as they look fabulous! Can you feel my envy of your impeccable topstitching? You should! :)
4/23/10 8:10 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I agree that description of fit vs. pattern fit/ease often don't match what's inside. The solution ? Before you even layout your intended fabric compare some flat pattern measurements to an article of clothing you already like - or is close to what you hope to achieve. If it is not even close - stop right there and evaluate. Check circumference at key points for the style garment you are making. Regroup and go to plan B if things are not on track. Your pants are really cute, the topstitching looks precise and perfect. Too bad the fashion photo and reality did not jibe. Yours is a most helpful review and I do like your capris a lot.
4/23/10 8:29 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks Nancy. I usually do measure or compare to a TNT pattern or RTW item, except this time I had lost weight, going down a size, and had absolutely nothing to compare against. I was flying blind. One of the joys of losing weight. :) You get to start from scratch.
4/23/10 8:59 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a bummer. All that work and you don't really like them. Thanks for all the helpful info!
4/23/10 10:30 AM
MichelleE said...
Sorry they didn't work out for you but I am glad you posted. This is the type of pattern I've been looking for. I think the baggy fit will be perfect for a pair of mountain biking capris!
4/23/10 11:10 AM
Christas said...
You always do such perfect sewing. I hate that these were too big. You can tell that they are so nicely sewn.
4/23/10 5:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks for the review. I wondered about this pattern but now think I will pass on it. Must be why the model is in such a goofy pose to hide the bad fit!
4/23/10 9:55 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I'm sorry you don't like the fit, but I think they are fanastic. Those pockets and your topstitching really make them special.
4/25/10 6:04 PM
callmeRuth said...
Nice work, impeccable. Sorry they aren't right for you.
4/26/10 1:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Oliver + S Red Riding Hood
photo
Review by justinsbri... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 1203
photo
Review by JEF on 8/11/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8947 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8947 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6477 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6477 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us